We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staying at Palm Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Garden's Guest House
Ranked #178 of 429 Kandy B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely staying at Palm Garden”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What I like about this place:
1, The manager and staff is very nice and friendly. They've been running this place for quite long and they know the ins and outs about Kandy. Just talk to them and get all the info you needed to visit Kandy. The manager also pick me up from the translation with his own car.
2, The food on the rooftop restaurant is quite good, a little expensive for budget backpackers though.
3, My room is very lovely. The best hot water shower I had in my entire trip. Slept very well during my stay.

What I don't like about this place:
1, The location, it's not exactly close to the center and there's nothing much around. If you finish visiting the town then you may spend extra 200 or something to get a tuk tuk back, and some tuk tuk driver is not so familiar with this GH.
2, The little steam outside of my window is a little smelly...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
13
27
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Palm Gardens was not our first choice but we soon settled in and enjoyed our stay.Staff were generally friendly and helpful .The guesthouse is not near to town centre and it is not a pleasant walk into town so Tuk Tuk is necessary.
Our room was comfortable but in need of a coat of paint especially in the bathroom as ceiling was damp.Bedroom too showed evidence of damp. .Good mosquito net but coils are needed in the roof top restaurant.Food choice is limited but of good quality..
We stayed longer than we intended so this indicates we were well satisfied.Their driver Nilantha deserves special mention as he contributed enormously to our stay.

Room Tip: Not on river side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineMSmith60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Palm Garden guesthouse with my partner for 4 nights in August of this (2012). From the moment we arrived to our departure we were made so very welcome by the staff who made our stay so enjoyable. Our room was large, extremely clean and very comfortable and a welcome change to some of the other places we also encountered during our 3 week stay. The food was extremely good, particularly the delicious breakfast which made a welcome filling start to our busy days, days made so much easier to schedule with the help of Mr Malik the very hands on manager who's knowledgable experience of local tour guides and transport meant that we certainly got great value for our money (we were on a tight budget) and yet gained a wealth of remarkable
information from our excursions. Fond memories of a fabulous holiday - would definitely recommend to others to stay at Palm Garden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is not located in the centre of the town, but the nice Drives will pick you up at the bus- or trainstation! The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food at the Restaurant (placed at the top of the guesthouse; great atmosphere) was delicious!!!! Free WiFi. Very nice, friendly and welcoming staff! You get there many informations! I you need a driver, they deal it for you in good conditions!

Nice place to stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BossekM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at Palm Garden again. At this family run friendly guesthouse you will find a comfortable room, attached bathroom, spotless clean, good breakfast, quiet, and free wifi 24/7.
Just call them and they will send their own tuktuk (free of charge) to pick you up from the bus or railwaystation. The guesthouse is situated a little out of town but it is only a short Rs 150 ride to get to or from town. But there is also news cause the owner of palm garden will start a brandnew place close to the lake, Mango garden. Mango will open its doors in December, located close to the lake, it will only take a very short walk to town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamara_arjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

As a rule I would normally stay in a good star hotel while touring so when some young friends of mine asked me to join them at this guest house I was somewhat unsure as I had read some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor. I was apprehensive about the prospect of staying two nights at this establishment as, in the past, I have stayed at some questionable guest houses in Sri Lanka. I was pleasantly surprised! My room was big albeit with limited storage space, however, there were drawers and hangers - which was all that was needed for my short stay. The bed was clean and comfortable with freshly laundered bed sheets. The shower room was clean and with hot water. These basics are very important for me!
The food served was excellent and the breakfasts were delicious. The cook is an absolute gem. In fact, all the staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming.

The guest house is well positioned to visit all the tourist sites and less than one euro for a ten minute tuk tuk ride to the centre of town. While there I booked a short tour and the price compared favourably to other local tour operators. Both the driver and vehicle were first class.
A muddy stream runs at the back of the guest house and a few reviewers have mentioned the smell. I did not experience any smells from the river or otherwise, whilst I was there.
If I had taken notice of some of the reviews on TA regarding the Palm Garden guest house I would have missed out on a delightful experience in Kandy. I would certainly recommend this establishment to any tourist travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dogwalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I booked this due to its description as being near the train station, as i had an early train the next day. It's no nearer than any of the guesthouses in the centre of Kandy, although it is only. 100-150R tuk tuk ride. I read a few reviews and have to say that I experienced no road noise and no funky smell. I was very impressed with my room. Big, clean, smart, free wifi. Great. The only criticism of the room was the tears in the mozzie net. On the downside, the extras aren't value for money - get breakfast elsewhere, and buy water before you get there. They weren't doing dinner the night I was there so I can't comment. A service charge is also added to the final bill, but I am finding more and more places in Sri Lanka are doing this, so its not a specific criticism of Palm Garden

Room Tip: I was on the side away from the road and wasn't aware of any noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KPski5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#32 of 429 in Kandy
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kandy
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#41 of 55 in Kandy
539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden's Guest House

Property: Palm Garden's Guest House
Address: 18 Bogodawatte Road | Suduhumpola, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 429 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Garden's Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Palm Garden's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden`s Guest House Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing