We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sharon Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka(Kandy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
231
148
84
54
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
148
84
54
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetsri lankaeggplantguest housetuk tukcurriesevening buffetrooftop restaurantflights of stairstop floorhis wifesteep hillgreat place to staykandy lakefamily roomstayed for nightsbotanical gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 561 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The room was clean, overpriced and dated. There were four locks on the door and the windows were locked closed when we arrived. We wondered why? We made sure everything was locked when we went out for the day. Someone opened our windows and monkeys?? reached through the open window and grabbed things from my bag- tea, medication, clothes, presents and scattered them outside on the verandah, garden and next doors roof. Faiez kindly offered to replace my medication and wash my clothes, but one of my dresses was not returned until I insisted. Some things could not be replaced. It was very upsetting. I would not stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Sharon Inn was the cleanest and best run guest house we stayed in. Faiesz, the owner, entertained us with his guitar and American songs. A western breakfast with fresh fruit is included in the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DbbNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were so lucky to stay at this hotel because we had no booking and arrived at about 20.30. My son was feeling terrible with a very upset tummy, and we were all exhausted after the (10 hour) train ride from Ella.

We threw ourselves on the mercy of Sue and her husband (apologies I cannot remember his name), who are a fantastically generous and friendly pair. They gave us two nice big clean rooms with en suite bathrooms.

Sue whisked my son off to his bedroom and immediately sent out for drugs to help his stomach, she then included the rest of us in their buffet dinner (which should have been booked well in advance). She specially sent out for some dry crackers for my son as he couldn't eat any proper food.

Sue organised our trip to see the elephants and the driver she provided was incredibly helpful, just like her.

There is a recommended tuk tuk driver who waits for custom outside the gate and he too is lovely and took us to the Temple of the Tooth and waited for us, and took us home again.

Dinner is eaten out on the lawn that you can see in the picture. It is not included in the price but it was perfect for us as we didn't want to trail off looking for food. Food is delicious, mainly vegetarian but with a chicken dish. Lots to choose from and copious quantities. Breakfast is served in the dining room and is included in the price. Nicely cooked eggs. Service from the staff is good- everyone is calm and kind.

Very good place to stay

Room Tip: we were at the front on the first and second floor, looking towards the lake. We had a big balcony
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahk8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After browsing through couple of other guesthouses on the same street, we decided to look at Sharon Inn. We were offered two room options - one with ni private bathroom for 5000 and one with private bathroom for 5500. We were not sure if we'd want to pay that much (compared to other guesthouses - 2000 to 4500 for double room) so the girl who was showing the room offered us the latter one for 5000.

When we got downstairs the (male) owner rudely insisted that the price is 5500 and his "uneducated staff" cannot promise anything else. He was extremely rude and disrespectful so we just decided to leave. After reading the other reviews, glad we did!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank JohannaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Didn't want to review the Inn as owners smarting from some negative reviews, some of which have some justification. Spent 4 nights there in January. Room was spotless, but old and tired. The private balcony was, in fact, shared and there is no view from first floor, but internet works best on this floor. Buffet is superb and, although you can get cheaper rice and curry, the variety and quality justify the price. We stupidly did not ask price of drinks and laundry - they are not displayed anywhere; beer turned out to be 450 rupees a can - more than a top hotel in Galle and tea 300 rupees a two cup pot: a huge pot at Devon cafe was 180 rupees. Laundry was pricey too. The atmosphere is tense - a bit like the Fawlties! There is no real public space so it's bedroom if it rains. Owners possibly had enough which is understandable after so long.

Room Tip: Go high for a view
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews