We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was one of my favorite places to stay in Sri Lanka, the people were so friendly, the place was clean and the food was delicious!!! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    127
    78
    52
    43
See reviews for
66
254
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We travelled around Sri Lanka from 26 June to 15 July 2013 as backpackers (though with suitcases, as we are over 29). We've seen a lot and I feel in a right place to say that Sharon Inn was a nightmare. Our bible "The lonely planet" was not true this time. We shifted to Trip Advisor from Lonely Planet after Sharon Inn. We thought of staying only for 1 night, for the price for the room is doubled up compared to Lonely planet's guideline and that is "not" included air-condition. Additional 1,000 Rupees for aircondition, we were told. In the room, there was a flat screen tv, but only Sri Lankan channels. What will tourist with that tv? But we were prevented to move the next day, because one of us was not feeling very well and we stayed for 2 nights. Unfortunately, Lonely Planet made a typing mistake in room rates according to Sharon Inn. But The Lonely Planet made also a typing error in dinner price of 900 Rupees. We were charged for 1,100 rupees. The dinner price of 1,100 Rupees was a "rip off". You can get far better food for that price in Kandy. Faiesz called it "buffet", 1 piece of chicken, rice & vegetables. I have to mention, that we got the same food for our second night dinner. Chicken, rice & vegetables, But, that was not the reason why it was a nightmare for us. We hanged around the Queen's Hotel, which is the most exclusive hotel in the Kandy, for some meals in the daytime. From Kandy, we wanted to move up to Jaffna and we asked Queen's hotel for their taxi to Jaffna. We got a negotiable offer of 24.000 Rupees. Okay, we went back to our friend Faiesz, the owner of Sharon Inn and asked for the price of his taxi to Jaffna. It was 30.000 Rupees. My husband got furious for Faiesz' greediness and so was Faiesz because he argued that his taxi use petrol.
Faiesz, be good to tourists. It is a good investment. You must be aware that the reason why we were there is because we are professional travellers.
P.S. stop scolding your personnel all the time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsperanzaN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Having read the rough guide review we de iced on the Sharon Inn. We were greeted by a really polite and kind gentlemen and this was representative of all of the staff we encountered. The facilities however, did not match the prices and we felt let down by the price we paid (6000 rps) The room was fan only which seemed slightly odd considering an a/c unit was present. The given the distance from Kandy we enjoyed a few drinks in the evening and headed back to the TV which although not essential only had 1 working channel. Wifi was not present at all during the trip and ants populated the bathroom. Such points aren't usually an issue but given the price I felt let down by the hotel. The evening buffet it has to be said was fantastic but I'm not sure i would make the trip to the hotel solely for this.

Overall slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

It has a lot of potential this place. The cleaning lady and the waiter are very nice. The rooms are nice and clean with a good view. But i have never felt so unwelcome. No warm welcome when you arrive... And if you want to ask something to the Sri lankan owner you might have to wait half an hour or longer, since he is on the phone or just eating a sandwich. Really too bad, because it spoils the atmosphere. I hope this will change soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aflora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

First, I have to say the hotel is very nicely located and the rooms are basic and clean, however a little bit overpriced.
Second, I was really disappointed by the female owner on how she managed an incident of stolen money at her hotel. The night we arrived she pointed out, that it is recommended to get a safe for your valuables (I also recommend that you do it) We chose not to do so and regretted it soon. After our walk from the city we discovered that there were about 100USD missing from our wallet that we hid in the suitcase. We instantly told the owner because we tought they wanted to know if something like this was going on in their hotel. Instead of showing sympathy and trying to solve the case the female owner accused us of having spent the money elsewhere (we did check the wallet right before we left the hotel and probably would have remembered spending it elsewhere since we had USD with us) and that it was our fault to not have used the safe. She then said she has to call the police and that we have to stay in the city because of investigations. We replied that we did not want to cause any trouble and we just wanted to inform them of the missing money but she just got very angry. She insisted on calling the police and wanted our phone number so she can call us for further information. But she never called.
In the end we were very disappointed of our stay not just because of the missing money (which she will claim did not happen at her place) but especially because of the way that we were treated by her. She was very unprofessional and rude towards us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EKielmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Before I arrived I had read some reviews about how the place was nice but the owner was rude. I have to say, I found the complete opposite. From the moment we arrived, Faisal was friendly and helpful. When I explained how our trip was limited through time worries, he helped to organise us and recommended a change in itinerary that meant we fitted in a trip to the elephant orphanage and got to see the tea plantations on the way to Ella. Both he and his wife made us feel at home.

The dinner was brilliant, as has been rightly recommended on here, a very Sri Lankan affair. The rooms were simple but clean and spacious.

The prices in the Rough Guide are not accurate admittedly, but I found they were about what we paid around Sri Lanka for this type of room.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FJFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Having read all the positive reviews on trip advisor and in the lonely planet we decided to give Sharon inn a go. Unfortunatey it did not live up to expectations.

Upon arrival the owner was no way near as welcoming as others we have met along our way in Sri Lanka. I was shown a very basic room and the price was confirmed at 6000rps (which turns out to be extortionate). Whilst very clean, the room was bland and lacked character. The tv showed only one channel which, whilst we are not in Sri Lanka to watch tv, was a bit irritating considering the premium price paid. There was also a massive ant problem in the bathroom. Having been on the road for three months we are not averse to a few ants but this took it to a whole new level, especially considering the price.

The buffet dinner was 1100 rupees, this didn't include a drink. The food was excellent and the kitchen staff were lovely and friendly. Only disappointment was the desert (one small scoop of ice cream), however after such a fantastic main course we weren't that hungry anyway.

We left a night early and the owner was pretty good about it - there weren't any demands about paying for the second reserved night etc which other travellers have experienced at other hotels.

All in all it isn't worth the money - you can find cheaper basic accommodation nearby, or nicer hotels at a similar price. It appears that the good review in the lonely planet has got to their head and they are pushing the boundaries with room prices.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#36 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#21 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#46 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Property: Sharon Inn
Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing