We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming people and dull, grubby room”
Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were not welcomed into the guesthouse at all. The owner, Faeisz barely acknowledged us and his wife (Sue) certainly didn't. This was surprising after travelling for a couple of weeks in Sri Lanka and everywhere else we got warm and friendly welcomes. WHy run a guesthouse if you're not keen on people!

The room was poorly furnished with grubby, stale smelling mosquito net over the bed. There wasn't a view over the town (maybe there was from rooms above us). We'd stayed in Kandy a week earlier in a place with fabulous views (Richmond House). Fan only.

The bathroom was very basic, needing updating and a lick of paint at least. There was nowhere to put toiletries other than on the floor. The old and rusty window mesh had a big hole badly patched with tape.

All in all, a disappointing stay.

However, it has to be said, the evening meal was very good, and it's expected that you share your table with other guests which was one of the plus points, as we met some really nice people.

Also, the bed was quite comfortable.

I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 553 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

Fantastic little hotel at top of hill. Choose Room 9 for some amazing views over Kandy.

Buffet dinner is great and plenty to choose from. Breakfast is good too. Very clean and the owners clearly take pride in their place.

If you are going to the Hill Country via train get them to drop you at the station BEFORE Perideniya. It will cost 800rs in a tuk-tuk and you have to be there by 8.20 (leave before 7.30 to avoid the school traffic in their narrow street.

It will mean when the train pulls into Perideniya you can swoop on seats of locals leaving there, rather than having to stand for 6 hours!

Very good value for money hotel, has wi Fi as well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOALdenHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Sharon Inn is one of the best value for money guest houses in Sri Lanka. It is immaculately clean, rooms are well furnished and the buffet dinner is excellent. With prices sky rocketing in Sri Lanka due to th end of war and the new goverment taxes finding value for money is more difficult across the country. Sharon Inn is value for money and very welcoming so we recommend it as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I travel extensively, spending upwards of three months of every year in hotels. Never before have we been treated so rudely as we were when we stayed at Sharon Inn for one night at the end of December 2011. We booked Sharon Inn on the basis of good reviews both on tripadvisor and in Lonely Planet.

If you are travelling with a child make sure it is abundantly clear in your booking and don't expect a warm welcome. We were berated for bringing a child (under 2 years of age), told he would receive nothing and were made to feel as though our booking wouldn't be honoured because we had him with us. I wish we had left then, as the stay only got worse. I was told pointedly by the owner that my child was to "wear nappies at all times" and "not soil the new mattresses". She was less than impressed to be told that our son is toilet trained.

There are no driver accommodations and we were told by the owner that our driver was just trying to rip us off by saying that most places offer driver accommodations. (Every other place we stayed in Sri Lanka offered driver accommodations). My issue is not that there were no accommodations, just the way our driver was spoken to by the owner of Sharon Inn.

There is free wifi, but the owners don't trust guests with the password. They insist on entering it themselves and get very frustrated when they have to re-enter it when the signal drops out.

The room itself was clean - nothing special. The hot water did not work in the evening and there were a number of mosquitos in the room thanks to a gap in the bathroom wall. There was a mosquito net and the room had a ceiling fan.

The guesthouse is situated high on a hill overlooking Kandy city. The walk down to Kandy is okay and takes about 20 - 30 minutes, but you really need to take a tuk tuk back up as the road is very steep and windy.

As our son was asleep by 6pm we were unable to have dinner. There were no restaurants or guesthouses offering takeaway and Sharon Inn offers a buffet starting at 7.30 with no take-away option and our hosts weren't offering any solutions for us. Our room was on the top floor, furtherest away from the dining area but it was still very loud - both from the buffet and the clean up afterwards. It wasn't an issue for us, but might be if you were wanting an early night.

Breakfast was a big disappointment. We were advised it was from 7.30 but when we came down at 7.45 the only people in the dining area and kitchen were other guests waiting for breakfast. Eventually some staff and the male owner arrived shortly before 8 and presented us with some fruit at around 8.15 - no apology and no rush to prepare. Around 8.40 we were given our scrambled eggs and cold toast - at least we got that! We saw one couple leave before being served and another leave after requesting toast, waiting 15 minutes and not receiving it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tred79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We booked in at Sharon Inn for two nights after reading about it in the lonely planet. We were a little concerned about the service after reading some of these reviews but we had no problems at all. The female host (who we dubbed "Sharon" but that;s not her name) was really pleasant and helpful. The internet was free, the rooms were very clean and spacious and breezy. The buffet dinner on New Years Eve was delicious and the walk down to the lake is lovely. The only thing we didn't like was the male host - he seemed grumpy all the time and was a bit arrogant and rude to us. Also the laundry was incredibly expensive - 1500 rupees for 15 items. We got the same amount done at another place and it only cost 30 rupees!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etho055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

A month prior to the trip we had to change that dates of our reservation which was documented over email, I didn't realize it would anger the management and impact our stay. Upon arrival we were promptly told we could only stay for 2 nights instead of the three which were confirmed. I showed them the email and tried to clear up the miscommunication - however, they said they were too busy for this. If there were other places available we would have moved to a different hotel.

The mood impacted our whole stay. We asked if we could eat dinner at 6:00 for the 7:30 seating. They told us that they had informed us we need reservations (they never did). They were able to seat us because others did not show. Additionally, we used the laundry service which up ended up being overpriced AND the clothes weren't properly washed.

The rooms were basic, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fine. The cranky owners just ruined my impression of the whole place. It also was a pain to find somewhere for the third night!

Also, we later found better accomodations for the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Sharon Inn was clean and tidy with lovely view over Kandy. 250 rupee tuk tuk ride from centre. Didnt eat here. Kandy not easy to eat late at night and expensive compared to rest of Sri Lanka. Owner helpful and you can park a car if you drive here.

Room Tip: As high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 57 in Kandy
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
738 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 57 in Kandy
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#35 of 57 in Kandy
17 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#24 of 57 in Kandy
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $30 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing