We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very new rooms with perfect service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Travellers Nest
Ranked #126 of 429 Kandy B&B and Inns
Chengdu, China
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very new rooms with perfect service!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night to visit Kandy and the temple of tooth relic. The hotel is very new and the room is very clean and well equipped. Buffet breakfast is wonderful, you have many choices. Dinner in the restaurant is also delicious and reasonally priced.

You can walk to Kandy lake and the temple within 10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Traveller's Nest for the last two nights of Kandy's Esala Perahera. The staff were very hospitable and were eager to meet any of our needs. The rooms were clean and modern, the wifi was good and the food was great. It is was around a ten minute walk into the centre of Kandy but it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. We had our own comfortable seats and table on the veranda where we relaxed and drank tea.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovegoingonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Travellers Nest is a new hotel in Kandy, from where you can walk to the city center and the Temple. There is no real view on the lake though. The rooms are clean, with good beds and hot showers. Downstairs you have the noice from other guests and the reception. We had no roomcleaning or new towels in three nights, but they probably will arrange this when you ask them.
The people are friendly, the food is good enough. They have very fast wifi.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the suite. You have a big balcony with lots of privacy. It is the most quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floorenniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

There's no view to see really,the location is not that convenient but not far to walk to the center. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff are really friendly. good breakfast. I think it's an all right place, nothing really wrong.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebirdflying2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent here 3 nights. It is a new hotel (2013) - very clean , with comfortable, modern and clean rooms. Every room has its own wi-fi router. Staff is really nice and helpfull. Food is also good. The only complains are about location (no Kandy view) and small bathroom (even doors can not be open fully) but it will be depend on the room. Also- even the hotel is one year old, some things does not work very properly and should be fixed already. Regular maintanace is important

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katka Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

A quiet retreat in a busy city. Walking distance to the lake but just far enough away that you aren't surrounded by the noise and chaos of Kandy. Great food. Service and staff fantastic. Comfortable rooms. Would stay here again! Highly recommend this place!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LexxieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We recently stayed here & loved it. Only a short tuk tuk ride from town. Very new & clean & peaceful. All the staff were so hospitable. They couldn't do enough for us & always smiling. Very eager to please us. I can't fault this place at all & would highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliefong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#22 of 55 in Kandy
515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#23 of 55 in Kandy
309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kandy
773 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#33 of 55 in Kandy
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viyana Boutique Hotel
Viyana Boutique Hotel
#19 of 55 in Kandy
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Travellers Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Travellers Nest

Property: Hotel Travellers Nest
Address: 117/4/1/1 Anagarika Dharmapala Mawatha | Opp Buwelikada Fuel Station, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 429 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Travellers Nest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Travellers Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing