We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good food, quiet retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Travellers Nest
Ranked #168 of 438 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

A quiet retreat in a busy city. Walking distance to the lake but just far enough away that you aren't surrounded by the noise and chaos of Kandy. Great food. Service and staff fantastic. Comfortable rooms. Would stay here again! Highly recommend this place!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LexxieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Travellers Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 111 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We recently stayed here & loved it. Only a short tuk tuk ride from town. Very new & clean & peaceful. All the staff were so hospitable. They couldn't do enough for us & always smiling. Very eager to please us. I can't fault this place at all & would highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliefong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

we were at odds where to stay in Kandy. a tuk tuk driver, christian informed us of this place. Susiri the host was very welcome and led us directly to the top room with good views (but not lake views) of kandy.

the rate was good - the room only had a fan but it does get hot so we left the windows open at night. susiri invited us to dine at the hotel suisse - a 2 min walk from the hotel, at an excellent rate!

the bathroom was clean, and the hot water pressure was good. wifi was available as well.

its a bit of walk to the temple of the tooth, but the lakeside walk is lovely

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had a totally amazing stay at Hotel Travellers Nest! This hotel is only a year old which means that all the rooms and fixtures are brand new which is always good. From the friendly smiles to the free welcome drink, check-in was a breeze. We were a family of four staying for seven nights, using Kandy as a base to explore the surrounding areas. It is only a short tuktuk ride to the center of Kandy town.

The two rooms we occupied on the first floor were great, we loved the cosy terrace with the comfy chairs. The room was nice and clean with a safe, hot water shower, great free wifi acces and a TV with lots of cable channels. Breakfast was also great. But what made our stay was the staff. We were treated like family the entire time and no request was too big or small for them! We even had a birthday during our stay and they decorated the breakfast area with balloons and streamers and sung happy birthday! They were really amazing. We couldn't have had a better time in Kandy thanks to these guys. Hopefully we get to meet again one day!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor to get access to the great terrace.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erikaandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I review hotels for living and the Travellers Nest made my stay very special. From the moment we arrived the Staff was looking after me and my family in the best way possible. It's like a little family and that makes the Travellers Nest such an amazing place. The property is brand new and the rooms are clean and well looked after. You get a little TV with 100 channels and the bathroom was also spotless. I really enjoyed the veranda in front of the rooms where you can sit and enjoy the view. The food was also good. We stayed for an entire week and we were really sad to leave cause it felt like leaving your family behind. I was happy to experience such hospitality and I'm glad we picked the Travellers Nest for our Kandy adventure.

Room Tip: Get room 110!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Based on previous reviews, we expected an emergent hotel with excellent service with good rates. And that is exactly what we got. We had two rooms on the 1st floor with A/C, ceiling fans, TV, in-room safe and WiFi repeaters everywhere. Probably the best Wifi coverage I ever had in a hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and well-equipped. The bathrooms were small but stiil comfortable. There was no mosquito net, but it turned out that you do not need one.
The only drawback of the rooms is that there is a small opening above the door leading to the seating area on the 1st floor. You will hear every word spoken.
The personnel in Travellers Nest is very kind and helpful. The manager was available all times and personally dealt with every issue we had. The meals were excellent, especially the complimentary breakfast left no wishes open.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reiseunerfahren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Good value for money, 15 mins walk from lake and temple of
The tooth so a little out the way but only 200 rupees for a tuktuk back. Nice friendly service, free orange drink on arrival and bottles of water in the room. AC unit was very noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#23 of 56 in Kandy
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#25 of 56 in Kandy
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viyana Boutique Hotel
Viyana Boutique Hotel
#21 of 56 in Kandy
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Villa Kandy
Green Villa Kandy
#67 of 438 in Kandy
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Travellers Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Travellers Nest

Address: 117/4/1/1 Anagarika Dharmapala Mawatha | Opp Buwelikada Fuel Station, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $36 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Travellers Nest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Travellers Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing