We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy place to stay in Kandy”
Review of Days Inn-Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn-Kandy
Ranked #44 of 438 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very laid back, easy place to stay. Staff friendly and very helpful. Good clean room, A/C a nice thing after a day exploring! If only Australia had beaten the West Indies in the 20/20!! Value for money. Wish we had read christines1949 review before as I think we paid 200Rs for 3 wheeler into town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xmarkstheben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn-Kandy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

This B&B is ok, would I stay there again-no. Our room backed up to the kitchen area, so early in the morning, and late at night you could clearly hear people talking. The Days Inn is moderately clean and the staff is nice. The hot water doesn't last too long, and the tv's in the room did not work (they attributed to local monkeys) however the tv in the common space worked. If you are looking for the basics no frills, no extra's this is not bad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smachica03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Photos4246, Owner at Days Inn-Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for submitting your review. The hotel staff is friendly, and people have access to the kitchen to make their own food sometimes. WE cater to all kinds of guests from all around the World. It is a public place and there are people movements like any other hotel. The hot water unit is always generate hot water and there is not an issue. Some occasions the guests do not use the regulator to adjust the water pressure and the heat level. Some people complain the AC the same way without using the controller. But I can assure you that all the units are functioning properly. We are trying to give the best service at a low cost to our valued customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This B&B was definately worth the money, it was very cheap and clean.Chamara was always willing to help and please us when he could. It was quite a way up the hill and was quite a push to walk back. Tuk Tuk's only 100 rupees make sure you take the address with you, some tuktuk drivers dont know where it is, because there are so many on the hill. Breakfast was good and very cheap, not included on our payment, but so cheap the accomodation. It was like a family atmosphere, most of the people staying there were friendly, they had come for the cricket. We would stay there if we went back and would recommended it to those on a budget.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be quieter. We had a muslim family doing their praying around 5am which was the only...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christines1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nice hotel and friendly staff and a fantastic view over the Kandy lake. A very good place to start exploring Kandy and all the surroundings. Only problem for the sleep at night were the frogs in the little pond outside the hotel.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troels_joergensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anurapd1, Owner at Days Inn-Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you sir, for your review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay at an affordable price.
The little frogs and other little creatures are part of living in a tropical land. We do not want to disturb their habitat because of our business. Actually, it is a beauty of our landscape. We are thriving to improve our facility to give our customers the best. Anyway, your input is very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Visited this hotel from 05th Sep to 07th Sep. The stay was nice and clean rooms with good service by given by Chamara. All meals were excellent and nothing to complain about.

The proprietor Mr. Anura was also very friendly and helped us in all ways.

Normally, for as local like my self visiting Sri Lankan hotels face a number of small issues or sometimes major.

But, this hotel treats all their guest the same way no matter if he/she is a foreigner or a local.

Keep it up Anura & Chamara. Will visit your hotel again in the near future.

Regards
Hussain

Room Tip: Try to get the apartment rooms. it has twin double beds with a bunk bed with all amenities with a be...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afthabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Days Inn. Solid a/c in the room, nice breakfast, helpful staff, and friendly, accommodating owner.

One slight caveat: I read a description that suggested it was walking distance to the center of Kandy, which may be technically true, but inadvisable. The roads up and down the hill aren't ones I'd feel comfortable walking on. But that shouldn't stop you from staying here -- tuk-tuks are readily available and it's a quick ride into town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we are familiy with 2 teens, and end of june we spent few days in Days inn guest house, where the owner, mr. Anura, made reservation for us via email. Although our room was already taken; as we were arriving quite late and paid no money in advance, he appologised for giving the room to somebody else, and arranged nice accomodation for 1night very near. Next day we moved to the room reservation was made on. Rooms and toilets are nice, clean, airy with nice deco on the walls.AC and fan both woorking. Breakfast ok (we missed only fresh fruit as the country has plenty and it is cheap - so this is something to reconsider for the guys). all were very helpfull and we could leave our laguage there when going to 2days trip to Sigiriya, Dambula. They provided also the van with drived at reasonable price.
Sperrcial athanks to Mr. anura having taken time for us to chat:-).

Room Tip: Nice room we had was up the stairs (sort of appendix).
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#25 of 56 in Kandy
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#31 of 438 in Kandy
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
St Bridget's Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pranobaa Home Stay
Pranobaa Home Stay
#26 of 438 in Kandy
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bethel Rest
Bethel Rest
#24 of 438 in Kandy
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pearl House
Pearl House
#33 of 438 in Kandy
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn-Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn-Kandy

Address: 66A Rajapihilla Mawatha Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $22 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn-Kandy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six bedroom Guest House/Villa near the lake up on the hillside, 1.4 KM from Kandy town. Clean rooms with AC, hot water and all the other facilities. Trained staff to help you with any concerns. Free pick up from the city. Kitchen and laundry facilities. Also a Private suite (Apt)available with a swimming pool, located in a serene environment with lots of trees. Dining, living and kitchen facilities available inside the suite. Ideal for family stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Days Inn-Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kandy
Kandy Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing