We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Rosa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$91
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$134
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
$210
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$72
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$59
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
307
66
13
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
66
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitegerman ownerthe riverstunning viewssri lankatuk tukcurriesboutique hotelsteep climbthe main housesmall hotelamazing locationprivate balconyfruit batsstayed here for nightstea plantationpeaceful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 392 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed for two nights at Villa Rosa, a gem located about 7 minutes from the bustle of downtown Kandy. The villa is perched on a hill overlooking the river and offers such a beautiful view that changes from early morning fog to beautiful blue sky with stunning views throughout the day. The owner Volker is such a lovely person--- very helpful and kind, and he made time to talk with everyone, help people with logistics, and share his perspective on Kandy and Sri Lanka. He organized car/driver for me to/from Colombo and also for a day of exploring Kandy/area with his neighbor Udai, who is a sweet fellow and very good/safe driver. The entire staff were truly kind and helpful from breakfast on my balcony to questions on logistics to good Sri Lankan food at dinner. The villa has 10-ish rooms, and i stayed in #3 on second floor, with two balconies and amazing views. Nicely appointed and spotless room with beautiful parquet wood floors and furnishings, high ceiling with fan, and excellent bathroom. Bed was comfortable-- altho a bit creaky. Nice to have windows that could let in some fresh air + a mosquito net to avoid any problems. Both mornings, the bird songs woke me up--- a lovely sound! The dining area and sitting areas of the villa are open and inviting--- and make Villa Rosa feel more like a home than a hotel. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: room #3 is lovely-- two balconies and stunning views on the river and hills beyond.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well - what a stunning location and what an amazing team that work at Villa Rosa.

We were warmly welcomed by Boodikka and shown to our rooms. As we had the family suite booked, it wasn't located in the main building facing the river, but was located on the town side of the property. But this is no problem - as we spent most of our time in the library/tv area of the main house or sitting out on the patio area overlooking the river.

We hadn't booked dinner for our arrival evening, but when we requested it the table was set up on the balcony and the chef prepared an amazing array of traditional Sri Lankan dishes. So tasty we didn't hestiate to say "yes" when asked if we wanted some more!

Breakfast was served for us out in the garden overlooking the river. Simply a stunning way to start the day. Delicious fresh fruit platters and drinks, and eggs with ample toast, condiments and coffee.

Volker (property owner) was a great help during our stay, giving us a few recommendations on what to do in Kandy, and also organising the TV area for us to watch the AFL grand final one morning. Both Volker and the team really go out of their way to make you feel very much at home - and I think this is the best way to describe Villa Rosa. It's like being welcomed home, which was a great way to end each day.

The rooms were well laid out and air conditioned. A couple of minor points (and I would like to emphasise that these really are only minor points) - given the generator system kicks in at night time, the air con cuts in and out - but doesn't affect the overall temperature much. And given that you are literally on the edge of the forest area, there were some ants in the apartment, but again, nothing of major concern.

The only real suggestion I'd make for a change, is to have heavier curtains or black-out blinds in the family suite - as the sun comes straight through the curtains early in the morning when you want to sleep in.

Overall, will definitely stay again when we return to Kandy on our next Sri Lankan trip. Many thanks to the team at Villa Rosa for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main building (river side) if it's available.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_Melb_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We decided to go to Sri Lanka on a very short notice and didn't really have adequate time to prepare our trip. The same day we flew out, we called Villa Rosa and asked if they had any vacant rooms. We were so lucky! Not only did they drive the four hour drive to the airport to pick us up without any down payment, Volker the owner, helped us plan the next couple of activities as well.
The house is beautiful with an magnificent view. Get the family suite! The main room must have the best view in the whole house. Amazing! (Second room is nice and with character but doesn't really match the main room in terms of finish and quality).
Service is 100% there. Not only are the team helpful but it also looks like they enjoy their work.
If you want to go to Kandy, this is the place to stay!
Ps. Ask Volker to arrange a day trip to Rangala house for a gorgeous walk in the middle of a tea plantation.

Room Tip: Take the family suite, it got an amazing view!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveSG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I rarely give a 5 but this place deserves it. High above the river and away from downtown Kandy this is a wonderful experience. We stayed for two nights and felt so relaxed after the trip from London and the drive from Colombo. Great staff and accommodation. I you are going to Kandy then stay here. If you are visiting Sti Lanka then make a stop here. We had one dinner there and it was great with excellent service and location. As for the views, well it doesn't get much better in my experience.

Room Tip: A get away from it all retreat or stop off point in Knady.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pendragon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while travelling around Kandy and adjacent sites. It was simply stunning. We arrived after dark and awoke to the most incredible views over mountains and jungle, cut through by a slowly winding river, with early morning mist rising above it all. Magical. The hotel itself is more like a home. The owner, Volker, and his attentive staff could not do enough to make our stay memorable. Meals on the terrace were taken at times that suited us and they were fresh, and the fruit platters were mouthwatering.
It doesn't have a pool but we didn't need one although we understand there is one that can be used at a neighbouring hotel.
We cannot recommend it highly enough. It is a perfect hilltop location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth235_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews