We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$35
Fully refundable before Sun, Jun 2
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$37
Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$37
Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
No prepayment needed
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
venleofer
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Wonderful stay and excellent hospitality

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 30, 2016
We enjoyed our 2 night stay at this place. The rooms were clean & spacious with fantastic views from the balcony. Our host Joseph, Philomena and the Manager were extremely helpful. The breakfast served was very good. My son loved the food so much that we decided to have all our dinners there as Philomena organized for food according to my son's taste (less spicy). Joseph and Philomena helped us organize our tours with our driver for our onward journey to Nuwara Eliya as he was not familiar with the Catholic church there. The only draw back of this place is that they do not accept credit card payments and we realized this on the last day of our stay.
Date of stay: August 2016
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$101
  • Expedia.com
    $104
  • Agoda.com
    $91
  • Hotels.com
    $104
2.2 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $95
  • Trip.com
    $92
  • Expedia.com
    $96
1.1 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$85
  • Expedia.com
    $135
  • ZenHotels.com
    $68
  • Hotels.com
    $135
2.7 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$112
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $107
  • ZenHotels.com
    $93
  • Hotels.com
    $107
2.8 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Radissonhotels.com
$95
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    $95
  • ZenHotels.com
    $61
  • Hotels.com
    $101
2.1 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
view from the garden!
Booking.com
$58
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $40
  • Hotels.com
    $85
2.7 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $80
  • Agoda.com
    $69
  • Priceline
    $80
0.7 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view of hotel
Booking.com
$42
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $58
  • Agoda.com
    $36
  • Algotels
    $52
2.2 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
$35
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $32
  • Agoda.com
    $32
  • Vio.com
    $32
2.8 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $87
  • Agoda.com
    $64
  • Hotels.com
    $87
4.1 miles from The Kandyan Villa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Kandy
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
41
16
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
41
16
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an amazing view clean rooms front office manager kandy town nice breakfast tuk tuk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 61 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2016

The location is amazing you can see all over the town.The gardens and surroundings are beautiful.The accomadation is perfect with lovely balconies to survey the area.The rooms are very spacious and clean and everything super.The best thing about choosing this accomadation however is you are staying with the best hosts we have met during our 4 weeks travel. We have met many lovely hosts but here they are wonderful and cannot do enough for you.They are very informative about the area and tours so do not organise tours or drivers without talking to the hosts as they are very sincere and genuine people A Wonderful stay thank you so much.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dolly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
devini j, Reservations manager at The Kandyan Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the great review.It was our pleasure having you at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful villa with an amazing view on the hills. The rooms were very clean and nice and all had a great view. Josef and Wilhelmina (the hosts) were so warm and sweet for us. They were very helpful and served us great meals. Wilhelmina even joint us to see the teafactory after a very nice walk through the hills. When I got sick they took both so well care of me, Wilhelmina even joint us to the local doctor. We would recommend this place to everybody!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
devini j, Reservations manager at The Kandyan Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Kandyan villa. The location and view are marvelous and the staff encredibly welcoming. We had a lovely dinner on newyear's eve and a fully fleged breakfast. The staff was extremely helpfull and made sure we felt at home and at ease. A special thank to Joseph and Maria for providing us a perfect start of 2016!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank FamDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
devini j, Manager at The Kandyan Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your comments. It was our pleasure making your stay an enjoyable and memorable one! We hope you could visit us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

The villa is ca. 10min by tuktuk from Kandy trainstation. From here you have an awesome view high above the City. The personal (a married couple) is super friendly and helpful. Everything is really clean and good looked after. Only the barking dogs all around the site are a little disturbing at night.

Date of stay: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
devini j, Manager at The Kandyan Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments! We humbly apologise for the late reply to your comments. The staff at the hotel enjoyed having you and wish to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I always preferred to stay in a place “much like home” and not always at trendy star class city hotels one is usually accustomed to. We found the Kandy Villa the perfect place just like home and
was pampered and looked after very well. With this kind of set up you have all the privacy if you have it to your self only and the staff on hand only when you need them . So its so quite and relaxing.
The chef prepared some lovely food and the Sri Lankan curry was the best. The rooms were very large, airy and very clean. Out of the 3 rooms the one’s upstairs are the best mainly because of the view. Even the room down stairs has a very good view. The location is also superb. Its away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy and you could trek up the mountain behind to get a glimpse of village life and nature. Sri Lanka has such a diverse and unique species of birds and most of them can be seen here. I can recommend this place to anyone.

Room tip: I like the rooms on the upper floor as the view is magical
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raj39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
devini j, Manager at The Kandyan Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments! We humbly apologise for the late reply to your comments. The staff at the hotel enjoyed having you and wish to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews