We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Spica Holiday Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spica Holiday Home
Ranked #78 of 433 Kandy B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Had a great stay at this guesthouse. Breakfast was not included but reasonable and yum.. Same with dinner. Helped is out with organising a taxt to dembulla! Would stay again and recommend :) nice 20minute walk into town.. Steep walk but worth it for the view.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samtyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
27
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for two nights. It was comfortable enough but a couple of things to note: there's no AC which is a downside for some people, breakfast is not included in the price, and you can only pay in cash. The rooms were, however, clean (although not spotless) and the view was lovely. When we arrived at 9:30pm though due to a slightly late train the owner told us he was about to go to bed and seemed confused by our arrival notwithstanding we had booked. On balance though it was fine and comfortable for our time in Kandy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Clean hostel, beautiful environment and the owners are very nice and are willing to give you Information about anything. Good value for money! The place is a bit out of town but this was actually all we needed. Make sure you get the scrambled eggs in the morning!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ovdschoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here after booking last minute online through a booking site. It was an epic wee slog for the tuk tuk to make it up the hill but walking downhill was easy enough and only took about 20min to town.

The owner, a retired Naval Officer, and his family were lovely and most welcoming, We arrived at about half eight after a long slog from Mirissa and dinner was soon rustled up from scratch for us, It was certainly the best meal we had in Sri Lanka and good value at 700-ish rupees per person.

While the room is very nice and well priced, be aware that breakfast is not included in the cost, so we ended up getting a much larger bill than anticipated. But this is standard in Sri Lanka and just something we learned as we went along.

We would recommend staying here, but budget for meals on top of accommodation to avoid blushes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robwaugh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Now I will start by clarifying further - we did not stay here...we booked but did not stay. I will also preempt that after seeing another negative review that coped a tirade from the hosts I expect the same...and I'm not surprised.
We booked for two nights, in a triple bed room. We followed the more positive reviews and were very disappointed.
We arrived exhausted (3 women) and after eventually finding it and getting up the driveway we thought 'it will do' for the night we will move tomorrow. It was cheapish...
One of our party was very car sick so we asked while I was 'checking in' if we could get some glasses etc so she could sit outside and have some fresh air. At this point the older man was very nice and the older lady was ..well...weird! She acted like everything was a bother. He explained that they had been very busy and I said no worries...let not rush just take your time. It went down hill after that. We had bought some breakfast items as it was clear that breakfast wasn't included and asked to pop them in a fridge....we then received a dressing down as to the fact that they cook breakfast and we have to pay for it.....eventually..very calmly (as they were stressed!) we asked again explaining it was only 3 small items they relented and we were told we could if we insist! We then saw the room...2 small beds (not 3), 2 towels, ok cleanliness and no key for the lock! "The chinaman has stolen it" was repeated time after time by the older man! Traveling just the 3 of us we were not happy to stay in a room that didn't lock. After a very aggressive talking to by the older lady about how safe we were and we didn't need a lock (the room was down the bottom opening onto the drive) and a lot of yelling at another older gentleman (maintenance man?) we had made the decision to move. The older man seemed ok with it but the lady was not acting like a lady!! After we had booked another room locally (which was very good!!) they came up with a spare key....but the new place had already sent a tuktuk to collect us. We found out later the other place had been abused by the old man on the phone when they rang to confirm a pick up address! We don't understand the Certificate of Excellence on this property. It is very tired and the service was awful. Maybe they have overstretched themselves at their age to running their guesthouse full time...I do wish them some peace and quiet...hey have a drink on me with the deposit you wouldn't refund.

Room Tip: Get one that locks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYAUSSIE_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillykandy, Owner at Spica Holiday Home, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
This person, supposed to be a senior contributor to TripAdvisor, should have known to have turned up at the Spica after 1200/noon, which is our earliest booking-in time. She turns up with her daughters just when we had finished serving breakfast about 0930 and when we were also bidding farewell to some Chinese guests. This person had the audacity to barge in with a booking invoice in her hand and announcing “we have a booking here” and pushed aside the Chinese gent, shocking him. I consoled him as a small accident and the lady did not mean it. It was then I realized she was smelling of alcohol. We were all surprised at her appearance the way she performed. I excused myself and my wife took over to my dear wife’s bad luck. She also stated that one of her daughters had motion sickness. I asked the girl do you want any medication. She said she was quite alright and did not need any, but Mom will not stop until she eats something. They asked for a knife and plate to cut a pineapple which they had brought with them. She also wanted three glasses. We provided all that. Within ten minutes of their arrival we provided the spare key to the room, which had been taken away through sheer forgetfulness. She would not accept that. She said that it was unsafe as the Chinese had a key with them.
They intended to cut pineapples in the lounge. I sent them to the gazebo with a beautiful panoramic view with plenty of fresh air. They started drinking from a bottle of alcohol. At that time it was not clear what type of alcohol it was. Later when they left they had left the almost empty bottle of local rum in the room. It was a bottle of rum with about 4 tots left. So, from the onset as early as 0930 they were under the influence of liquor. So, they had been drinking on the way to the Spica as well. That is how, I suppose, the daughter fell ill and was vomiting. Motion sickness ??????? mmmmmmmmm.
This person sees my wife as weird! Very insulting language. One should see the cancellation scratches she made in our Guests Register! She was intoxicated. I just allowed her to scratch the registration entries made by her; deep pressed criss-cross lines across about five lines of page, like playing Tic-tac-tuc, making indents on the following pages. (Ruined our register).
I managed to convince her to leave if she did not like the place. Here she writes about the accommodation she had booked as “cheapish”. Yes! Absolutely, it is cheap not cheapish. She books something cheap and she gets that. What? Does she expect, “ a luxury class triple room for Rs.3300.00”. I think that they had planned and acted to somehow go from the Spica to another destination but was in fear of cancellation charges and therefore acted out the process the way it happened.
About the loss of the key, I would have asked for the key if this person had not unceremoniously barged and disturbed the final conversation I had with the Chinese gentleman. She keeps writing in her review that I had said the “Chinaman has stolen the key”. Why should I say that? “Stolen?” All these cooked up versions and dialogues are simply to discredit the Spica, myself and my dear wife who is a very calm person as so many have confirmed in these columns.
They were given all the assistance and I even prompted her to ask for a pick-up to her new destination guest house. This person is not ashamed to cook up lies like this. She did not even thank us for the use of this room and premises.
Look at the way she is inviting TripAdvisor for a drink! Well now you all know the mentality of this person, a senior reviewer. My response here and previous responses to other negative reviews are not tirades but concise explanations in reply to the content of the allegations and inaccurate facts or contorsion of facts in the reviews.
Dear readers, please do not be misled by the above review of this person. Some write reviews like this to collect the number of reviews written, so many bad ones, so many fair, so many good etc. If you go to believe the contents of this negative review you are the loser of getting good accommodation in par with what you pay. Even if I say so, it is one of the best value for money in Kandy.
You will also notice that it was not the quality of the room but the missing key which was built up by her as a major issue. Her assessments are all wrong as these are no where near the assessments made by those who stayed here on the very same dates. She purposely had underscored the elements to lower the aggregate of the Spica. She claims she does not know who gave a Certificate of Excellence to the Spica. Let her keep guessing. She also wishes that we have some peace and quiet. She does not wish that. She wants the Spica doomed and make us lose our clientele. That is why she wrote what she has written. We do not want your good wishes madam. Thank you very much. Please read the many reviews that are genuine in these columns and in all other forums, websites in the internet about the Spica referred to by some reviewers as a Gem in Kandy. Thank you for reading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in Spica for couple of days (21st & 22nd Dec 2013). As the name suggests, Spica is a nice holiday "home".. the Commander & his wife look after the guests as their own family.. Some of the suggestions about the places to see/eat were invaluable for us!

One of the things to be aware of is that Spica is fair distance away from Kandy city center - about 2 to 3 kms. The tuk-tuks generally charged us LKR 150 to 200 for every trip up & down. Be ready to set aside a budget to just travel in tuk-tuks because, you'd need to visit the city center for almost everything!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor give panoramic view of the Kandy mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Tillek is a great host. Their breakfast is fantastic with a variety of fruits and eggs and plenty of toast . It is high up above Kandy with great views. We ate in one night and the food was great. You need your own alcohol. They have a computer to provide free access to the internet plus they also have free wifi. Overall a great stay with silent airconditioners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
The Secret Kandy
The Secret Kandy
#12 of 55 in Kandy
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.0 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#41 of 55 in Kandy
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spica Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spica Holiday Home

Property: Spica Holiday Home
Address: 77/5 Sri Dhamma Siddhi Mawatha | Asgiriya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spica Holiday Home 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house approximately 1.5 km from the city center. We have six (6) rooms, 4 rooms with two single beds in each (2 have air conditioning facility), Two (2) Triple room with three beds in each room one room is with air conditioning facility. Those with a/c can be switched on or used without a/c and charged as per preference. Very clean ensuite rooms with solar heated hot/ cold water. The Spica is quiet and peaceful away from the city noise.Excellent views from some rooms which have access to balconies.Can provide home cooked meals on order with reasonable notice.Free WiFi and paid high speed WiFi also available. Free Internet.Laundry underatken when loads are small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Spica Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing