We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit place in Kandy”
Review of Tea Fortress

Tea Fortress
Ranked #5 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Kandy
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Colombo
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must visit place in Kandy”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Its a good place to stop and relax, I stopped at this place on my way to kandy and on my way back as well. located en-route to kandy in Kadugannawa area. Beautiful property with many attractions including a Jewelry shop and tea center and a restaurant with authentic Sri Lankan rice and curry. Fascinating to see the fine art of gems and jewelry and the tea is absolutely great loved the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_liveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava Region, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I love the building, than we stop here to see it. It was nice from the personal, that they show us a tea garden, introduce it, after we taste the tea and sit at the restaurant. We see the tea shop, buy tea (for the same price as in other places for Mlesna tea, - LuvSL, Odel) and after we visit the gem shop opposite the tea shop, but also inside the fortress. I thing, this was the best gem-shop in Sri Lanka I visited, but the smallest also. I can choose some rings (I was interested only in rings), but not buy at the end. The prices was the best from all gem-shops I visited, because they were only some "businessmen", and the provision is divided only for some of them (in other places you see many businessmen and from your gem all of them get the profit).
Than, enjoy the place - the beautiful architecture and interior - enjoy the tea and relax.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zsszn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good service, but mediocre food at sky high prices”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Visited this place for a late lunch during a one day trip to kandy, I should say that the service and env is good, But the food is mediocre and is not worth at all for the prices. A fried rice costs about 850 LKR, It took ages to come, the Spaghetti carbonara (LKR 950 ) took even longer. After waiting all that time, It was just plain fried rice with chicken mixed a salad ( cabbage and carrot tossed, no sauces) and chillie paste for the sides.
The pasta was tasteless, couldnt find any bacon, even the menu said it did and a slice of cheese on top.

What i also noticed was that the ppl at our neigboring tables also hit the roof when they saw the bill. he he :)
Wouldnt go there again !!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niroshan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great stopover for tea”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

A great place to visit with the kids and has a limited but excellent menu.
Easy access with good parking a clean and interesting place.
Will happily return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomsonandthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Sadly we visited at lunch time after a busy service. This resulted in there not being any Sri lankan curry available. We was offered stir fried rice that was dry. After asking for an accompaniment to the meal they found some curried pumpkin. A shame this was not offered to start with. The service was slow due to lack of staff and not a good experience .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea Fortress also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Peradeniya, Kandy District
 
Peradeniya, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Tea Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing