We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”
Review of Kandy City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy City Hostel
Ranked #2 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at Kandy City Hostel for only one night but wished I could have stayed longer. The location is a little way outside of the 'centre' of Kandy - probably around a 25-30 minute walk, mostly along the lake then up a small hill. The signage is not great but if you keep a track of the building numbers you should be fine. The dorms are clean and the service is friendly. Hot water is available at the right time of day. It's a great place to meet fellow travellers: I met a number of people from my one night I subsequently caught up with later on my travels around Sri Lanka. Very good value for money and definitely will come back if I am in Kandy again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trickshamale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranil S, Manager at Kandy City Hostel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you very much for estimating us so high! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and of course we'll be glad to see you again at KCH=))
Thank you as well for your tips - we are working on improving our signage system at the moment, so the hostel will be easier to spot! Our guests opinion is very important for us=)
Best wishes,
Hostels Lanka Team=))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    49
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
32
102
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Seriously. Hands-down THE best hostel experience...ever. I'll break down my review as follows:

Service:
Anna (who runs the hostel in Kandy), does an amazing job keeping everything in order. On arrival she'll greet you, give you a little tour of all the facilities, let you choose a bed from what's available, and help you settle in. She's incredibly helpful and professional, so don't hesitate to ask for anything if you have questions about what to do while in Kandy or if you need anything. She's professional, but also really friendly...a welcome difference from some of the hassles of traveling in Sri Lanka.

Location:
Convenient. About 5 mins by tuk to Kandy City town (where you can get everything you need including beers, groceries, meals etc). Finding KCH is pretty easy; just keep the lake on your left as you come up the hill, and look out for the big red KCH bed logo and the big '76'.

Facilities:
Clean (very), impeccably maintained, comfortable beds with actual mattresses and pillows, clean sheets on arrival and fresh towels on request. There's hot showers in the evenings after the solar heaters have been running during the day. The bathrooms are numerous, cleaned several times a day, and always stocked with soap/tp etc.
The communal areas are huge (as is the overall building) so you never feel cramped. Plenty of little areas to socialize.
The Wifi is also ridiculously fast which is an absolute luxury for me...I'm talkin' 450kB/s++ so you can comfortably Facetime/Skype with home.
As with most hostels the fridge is communal (so mark your stuff if you don't like sharing :P), and there's free tea/coffee and toast/jam in the mornings.

Crowd:
Kandy is awesome for meeting fellow travelers from all over the world. The rooftop chill-out area usually has a fun group socializing, or just chilling. If you're in Kandy you're probably thinking about hiking or taking in some of the historical sites like Sigiriya. Get to know your fellow travelers and visit with them for the best experience.

The Best:
Kandy is one of the top stop-off points for people visiting Sri Lanka, and if you didn't know, there's also a hostel in Colombo owned by the same guys as KCH. The standards are just as high in Colombo so make sure to stay in Colombo City Hostel too as one of your bases while planning your travel around the country. KCH and CCH are hands-down the best hostels in the whole of Sri Lanka, and can't wait for them to open up new ones in other locations. Planning trips will be so much easier when you can just hop between hostels and not have to worry about getting a comfortable night's sleep on a budget.

Enjoy your stay in KCH!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSoertsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranil S, Manager at Kandy City Hostel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Mike,
Thank you so much for your great detailed review! We are very glad you've enjoyed your stay at KCH and we are looking forward to see you again=))
We would like to thank you as well for your impact to the hostel life!))
Your painting is awesome!
Big hugs,
Hostels Lanka Team=))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

While searching for a place to stay during our visit to Kandy, I came into contact with Anna, who runs the hostel. She quickly answered all of my questions, and we knew that this would be a great place to stay. When we arrived, we were quickly greeted and given a nice tour of the hostel. Anna was very accommodating by helping us with anything that we needed. This included travel help for the remainder of our time in Kandy and around Sri Lanka. As night, Anna invited us out to the bar with her, her friends, and the others at the hostel. We had an amazing time getting to know everyone!
While my friend and I have since left Sri Lanka, we already have plans to return, and won't think twice about where to stay in Kandy! Clean, welcoming, relaxing, and fun! Kandy City Hostel is the perfect place to stay while in the beautiful city of Kandy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoryHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KandyCityHostel, Manager at Kandy City Hostel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Cory,
Thank you so much for your great review! It was a pleasure and fun having you here as well, so when you'll plan your next trip to Sri Lanka do let me know, we'll figure out something interesting to do (a party at the hostel, a trip or some other event)!
See you at KCH=))
Best regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
墨田区, 東京都
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a dorm for 2 nights. This place is not only clean and comfortable, but very nice place to meet other travelers. I met many friendly people during my stay.

Location is bit out of the city central, but buses often run to/from the city (Rs.13 / 10min). When you come back to the hostel, you can catch the one bound for "Ampitiya" and get off at "Devon" or "Berewetts".

What makes this place amazing is staff members. Especially, Anna was one of the best hostel staff I have ever met in Sri Lanka. She gave me all the necessary information about the hostel and Kandy in the first 20 minutes. While she was very professional, she was also nice and friendly to guests. (Unfortunally, she said she would move to a different hostel in Colombo in March.)

They organized some events (pub crawling / movie night) for the guests for each night, which also helped people get to know each other.

Positives
- friendly, professional staff with perfect English
- comfortable dorm bed with mosquito net
- enough number of bathroom
- free bread / butter / tea service
- 24 hours kitchen facility
- individual security locker with power socket inside

Negatives
- bit hard to walk to the city central
- no sign in front of the hostel (be careful not to miss the place at first.)

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Yusuke_Sagami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KandyCityHostel, Manager at Kandy City Hostel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Yusuke,
Thank you so much for your awesome detailed review! It was a pleasure to meet you as well))
We are grateful for all you tips and mentioning our advantages and disadvantages, your opinion is very important for us!
Talking about future improvements by the way, we will be installing a big sign board on the way to the hostel so it can be spotted easily. And we are getting a screen with a projector soon so movie nights will be on regular basis))
I would like to mention that even though I will go to work to Colombo City Hostel for a couple of weeks in March there will be other cool people from Hostels Lanka team replacing me and any way I will be back!
Hope to see you again at KCH some day!=))
Cheers,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had a great time at Kandy City Hostel, the staff was very helpful and kin to give informations. I was travelling alone, so Kandy city hostel was a great choice, as I felt very safe and had the opportunity to meet lots of people. the hostel was very clean and is in a great location. This is a great choice for couples, group of friends and lonely travellers. Also must say that the Internet connection was very strong!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliosisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KandyCityHostel, Manager at Kandy City Hostel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Julio,
Thank you for your cool review and mentioning all the advantages!! We are glad you had a good time at KCH and it was really nice to meet you=)
Hope to see you back in KCH some day or somewhere round the world!=)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casorate
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely hostel, modern, clean and comfortable. Good location to reach main places of interest. Big kitchen available to cook by yourself or enjoy your meal with the lovely people you'll have the chance to meet here! Great value

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaCasorate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KandyCityHostel, Manager at Kandy City Hostel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Frida,
Thank you so much for your review! It is pleasant to take notice that KCH provides not only accommodation, but it is as well a social platform for travelers to meet each other and continue their journey together))
Hope to see you again at KCH some day!

P.S. Your pasta is awesome! =))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed at their sister hostel in Colombo and thought that place was brilliant. This hostel is amazingly clean, well laid out and just a great place to stay! They have a lovely dog just like the CCH and Anna was really really helpful who made me feel really welcome! I can safely say I did not stay in such in a hostel that was as good during the rest of my stay in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteJelley743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KandyCityHostel, Manager at Kandy City Hostel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Pete,
We are extremely glad you've enjoyed your stay at KCH, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest! Thank you for your warm words, we really appreciate that=))
Hope that your further Sri Lankan trip was fun as well with more interesting people, astonishing animals and tasty tea=)
Hope to see you back at KCH some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 53 in Kandy
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#39 of 53 in Kandy
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hipsters Hideout Lounge
1.5 mi away
The Elephant Shed - Tourist Hostel
1.6 mi away
Clock Inn Kandy
Clock Inn Kandy
#12 of 333 in Kandy
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy City Hostel

Property: Kandy City Hostel
Address: 76 Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kandy City Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy City Hostel (KCH) is the first of its kind in Kandy offering a simply Philosophy: Clean, Safe, Fun and Cheap Accommodation. KCH will offer a place to stay to our travellers which exceeds their expectations. Our staff are professional while friendly and will be just like one of you - A Traveller who has found their way to Sri Lanka. HOW TO GET TO KANDY CITY HOSTEL: if you're in Colombo, you can take a train or a bus to Kandy (takes around 3-4 hours). Kandy City Hostel is located on Ampitiya Road 76, just about 2 km from Kandy Railway Station and the main bus stand. If you want to walk to our property go towards the lake and keep on going on the right side of the lake. During your walk you will probably see all different types of birds, bats and ducks, turtles and big asian water monitors. When you reach the end of the lake, you will see a Restaurant named "Garden Cafe" on the left and a big street (Ampitiya Road) on the right. Turn right into Ampitiya Road and keep on going straight until you see Kandy City Hostel on the right side. You have also the possibility to take any local bus which goes to Ampitiya Road. If you want to take a TukTuk from the train station or the bus stand the price should be not more than 300LKR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kandy City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing