We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coffee ok, but very pricey...”
Review of Natural Coffee

Natural Coffee
Ranked #1 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Fast Food, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: New Year Schedule April.13th (Thu) Close April.14th (Fri) Close April.15th (Sat) 9:30-17:00 From April.16th 7:30-19:00
Gliwice, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“coffee ok, but very pricey...”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

OK.. so the place is small and cozy inside, however it doesn't look 'sri lankan'.. maybe it is on purpose, but we didn't like it. The prices are European.. which we didn't like either. Staff very nice, very quiet.
What surprised us was the Chopin music playing in the background... very nice touch... especially for us as we are from Poland:).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMckovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    214
    67
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coffee is not great - but the smell os great and love the cozy setting with beautiful china set”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The smell of coffee in the shop is delightful. The coffee is not the best in the world, but well coffee is not what Sri Lanka is best known for.

We arrived late at around 8pm. Waiter told us they will close at 9pm - however we were ask to hurry by 8:30pm politely so that they can prepare to close shop.

Helpful?
Thank annovix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

After a nice visit at the Buddha's Tooth Temple, this unique, two-story coffee shop offers a great French press coffee to top off your cultural experience.

The staff at this shop are very knowledgeable about the coffee that is served in this cafe, and are attentive and helpful during your entire stay.

For foreigners traveling, they offer free WiFi, so you can catch up on email, facebook, or the news.

Try to get the seat by the second story window, it's a great view of people walking up to and from the famous Sri Lankan Temple.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asoupcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Best Coffee place in Kandy”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely place right in the heart of Kandy in front of the Temple of the Tooth Relic couldn't have been in a better place. Ambiance is all about coffee and service is brilliant and best of coffee it is. The best coffee place in Kandy. And you have wifi too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kanishka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I were walking through Kandy and stumbled upon this cafe. I'm a coffee exporter and I like to try coffee everywhere I go so we stopped. I'm glad we did. Even though India and Sri Lanka export some great coffee, it is very difficult to find even mediocre coffee sold domestically. I can almost guarantee this is the best cafe coffee you will find in Sri Lanka, and better than anything I have had in a cafe in India. The french press was great. Although it is more expensive than street coffee, it is far better and the price is reasonable for specialty coffee. The place is very clean and the owner is a nice guy. And there is free fast wifi, not the cheap 1mbps you find most places. Go here if you want some coffee in Kandy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Coffee also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Natural Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing