We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$137
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$302
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$29
$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $25/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
$81
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$66
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$48
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,531)
Filter reviews
1,531 results
Traveler rating
407
717
283
62
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
717
283
62
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskandy lakepool areasri lankagreat viewnew wingbalcony doornice poolbuilding workbuffet dinneroverlooking the lakelovely hotelrestaurant staffstayed here for nightsbuffet styletooth templetop floorrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 1,531 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2017

I have been patronizing this hotel for couple of times during my visits to Kandy and happened to stay in the 1st week of SEP 2017 which eventually ended up being the worst of all . From the booking to the check out everything was non systematic and approach of the staff was unprofessional and unforgivable Front office Staff promised a room on a higher floor yet they ignored my request and offered a room on a ground level which we refused to stay .I made 2 rooms booking for 1 and 2 nights .The bed linen looked horribly old and torn and stains .No slippers no tissue boxes no hot water in the rooms . We canceled our booking and checked in to another hotel in Kandy . There is a female staff working at the Receptionist counter who is full of attitude and throw tantrums at guests . She picks up unnecessary arguments with all the guests and never listens . Better she learns the industry and have some respect towards the guest , None stays there FOC . So is the waiter who brought my dinner to the room . Overall rooms are smaller and very old. They have a higher category which is ok and spacious . I was surprised to see the bed linen torn and stained . Stay away from this property ! They better focus on the service standards and quality of the staff if they need to provide an excellent service to their discerning guests ! Unreommended for the said reasons and we all faced the situations .

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDSPat1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Guest,
Ayubowan!
Greetings from thilanka kandy !
Thank you for your review regarding your experience .we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apology for any inconvenience your experience may have caused you.we starive to exceed our guest expectation and create memorable experience .we take all feedback seriously and sincerely regrate that we did not meet your expectation. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience occurred in the room and have got immediately fix what you have highlighted.
and secondly i just like to mention the problem you phase @ other hotel that actually nothing to do any thing with thilanka.
Thanking you
look forward your continue patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful setting overlooking Kandy and lake.
Rooms were large and perfectly adequate.
Breakfast had good choices.
Monkeys playing on property were entertaining although as warned don't have good on the balcony because they will scare you when they arrive to steal it.
Close to temple and cultural show.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank _nzhomefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Guest,
Ayubowan!
Greetings from thilanka kandy !
. So I am Happy to see that reflected on your last visit. And we figured out what make every guest happy
Thank you very much you share the your comments about us in trip advisor
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanking you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. I'm quite particular about cleanliness, so was glad that the room was spacious and clean. The buffet dinner spread was great @ LKR1800/pax. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jufun2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Guest,
Ayubowan!
Greetings from thilanka kandy !

It is with great pleasure that we note your endorsement on our product and services. We Endeavour to ensure a memorable stay for our guests and are happy that our team assisted you in taking away great memories of your visit.
We look forward to your next visit to the thilanka kandy !

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Hotel is nearby the Kandy center so no need to arrange transfer to get to Buddha temple. Beautiful view to the city. Rooms are clean and big enough. Swimming pool in the hotel is a big plus. Staff is very helpful. A good restaurant.

Room Tip: close to the center
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear Guest,
Ayubowan!
Greetings from thilanka kandy!
We truly appreciate your gracious words in recommending our property. We will continue to develop and improve our product and services in order to ensure an even better experience in the future. We look forward to your next visit to the thilanka kandy!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

Stayed 2 nights. Our room overlooked the skyline of town and the restaurant. Our twin room was large, plenty of room for 2 and was beautifully decorated . Our room had a lovely balcony which attracted the attention of the monkeys in the area. The breakfast and dinner buffet had plenty of choice, Western and Sri Lankan food. We found the restaurant was loud and crowded most times. They also have a quartet that goes from table to table doing requests. If you engage their services you need to tip them.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear Guest,
Ayubowan!
Greetings from thilanka kandy !
Your kind sentiment in respect of our food and service is a source of encouragement to us. It was indeed a pleasure to have had you with us.
I will pass along your comments to the team and I know they be thrilled to hear that their hard work is appreciate. We will continue to develop and improve.

We look forward to your next visit to the Thilanka Kandy!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews