We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We planned to stay 2 days here but left after 1 night. We had asked for the cheaper non-aircon rooms as it's not cold up the hill and we prefer a fan anyway. We still paid $60 for what was the worst night in our Sri Lanka trip. The room was old and tired with ill fitting door and curtains. The bathroom was beyond belief with cracked sink unit and mould (see photos). The shower was vile with a horrible old shower curtain. Elsewhere the hotel has a draughty feel. We went to the "non-smoking" bar but left because of the smokers. Breakfast was adequate but poorly displayed and tables had not been cleared. We did talk to the management on departure and said that it was poor value for money but no action was taken. We paid and left.

The pool area is OK and there are really nice views but it's quite a walk up and down to the lake. Next time we'll stay at the Hotel Suisse by the lake which is fine, has a good pool and is a similar price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMR243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    574
    224
    52
    46
See reviews for
283
517
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Rooms were so dark that we had to use a torch to read in bed! We were in a room on the same level as the pool, I believe the newer rooms are better. Food was terrible - buffet for breakfast and dinner, neither of which was appetising, although breakfast did have omellettes cooked to order, which at least were edible. Location was good, with nice view over Kandy and within walking distance of Temple of the Tooth.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

My Girlfriend and I stayed one night at the Hotel Thilanka on a 2 day trip from Kalutara. The hotel was chosen by Kamara, the beach boy we took the trip with and his choice was spot-on, as usual.

The service at the Thilanka was very good and the staff were very attentive; whether it was something for the room, by the pool or during meals they were always helpful.

The rooms were a very good size with all basic amenities in the bathroom and a balcony that has fantastic views of the lake and surrounding hills. Be careful not to leave anything on the balcony when out of your room for long, or overnight, otherwise it will be taken by the monkeys. As cute as they are, they can be pilfering pests with little fear of people. My girlfriend seemed to like them though, so it kept her amused for a couple of hours of feeding them whatever she could find.

I’m not a fan of the buffet food concept, but enjoyed some of the wide selection of food available at dinner, but didn’t enjoy the breakfast.

Out of the hustle and bustle of Kandy it is very peaceful but still close enough to walk to most places.

All in all, very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GazOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed in the hotel Thilanka as part of a one night stay for a trip we were on. I would like to explain that I'm not a moaner and have stayed in a number of hotels which have been complained about on here by people who like to moan for the sake of it and when i thought it was perfectly ok for what we needed it for. However the Thilanka was disappointing.

The room looked interesting when we first entered, concrete floor and just plaster for the ceiling - no paint, and an interesting looking piece of art which looked like a piece of sri lankan clothing which actually had mould patches all over it, which were quite visable without getting up close.
The patio doors would open while locked with a quick pull - so not very safe! And the room itself was damp and by damp i mean very damp - i laid on the bed for 5 minutes and i was wet!
The bathroom is grim - mouldy and generally a sense that it wasn't very clean, although this may just be because of the mould. We had 3 other couples staying with us in the rooms next to ours in the hotel who had the same issues as us and in fact one of them were sharing a balcony between the 2 rooms and they didn't know each other that well.
The food was nice - i can recommend the lemon fish mmmm.
The staff weren't that friendly really compared to those in the rest of Sri Lanka and generally didn't seem to want to be there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliegater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stop over as part of a 2 day tour we chose the hotel because it was reasonably priced and in the heart of Kandy we didnt see the point in paying out for 5 star luxury if we were not going to be there long enough to use the facilities your paying the extra for.
By the time we arrived it was dark and the hotel was not particularly well lit and didnt have the warm welcoming feel we was shown to our rooms again the grounds were not well lit and there was quite an creepy feeling the hotel appeared almost empty. The room was large but basic somewhat tired and would benefit from a deep clean the bedding was clean again the bathroom was tired but towels were clean. There was a TV but signal was poor on most channels (why bother having one then?)
We had the dinner buffet in the evening which was ok standard fare sri lankan and oriental style cusine selection of desserts that didnt taste as good as they looked.

After a good nights sleep the hotel had a different ambience in the daylight and we saw what it was that made a choose this hotel in the first place amazing views over Kandy.
The breakfast buffet was ok sri lanka dishes, selection of bread, ham, cheeses, juices omlette station and a few cooked items like beans and sausages (although didn't like the look of them so didnt have any) I noticed quite a few flies around the food which also put me off.

We didn't have monkeys visit us like we was hoping too as so many other people staying here had visits from them.

So our stay was just ok served its purpose for a one night stop over but i wouldn't want to stay for a long break. Would I go back? No not now i have taken the photos of the view.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyJameseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

Hotel Thilanka has an amazing position high up overlooking the lake of Kandy. We took one of the suite rooms which was very reasonabely priced. The room has an amazing view over the lake which is great even at night when all the lights go on. The suite rooms are HUGE! so much space for a change rather than being all cramped up in a room. The bathroom did look a bit tired and old but it was totally ok by my standards.

One piece of advice - keep your room door shut as we constantly had monkeys hanging around our balcony!!

I also used the spa. It looked like an Aladins cave when you go down there...all pokey and a bit creepy but the spa service is wonderful and also reasonably priced.

  • Liked — the view from the balcony
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

Time of stay: 26.-27. Febr. 2009

roomnumber: 691 (double room)

rate: 65 EUR per room (including breakfast) - booking by a Sri Lankan guide can be cheaper

Pro:
+tasteful room interior
+great view on the 6th floor
+monkeys on your balcony
+15 meter pool with great view
+great location next to the "tooth-relict temple" in the center of Kandy


Contra:
-dirty table cloths (haven't been changed in 2 days)
-dirty curtins with whole and stains in restaurant
-unfriendly and slow staff in restaurant
-internet acces 7 EUR/hour

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berndpitrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#20 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Property: Hotel Thilanka
Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#8 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing