We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Thilanka
Nearby Hotels
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
$216
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$64
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$134
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveler rating
396
697
276
58
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
697
276
58
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskandy lakepool areasri lankagreat viewbalcony doornice pooldinner buffetoverlooking the lakelovely hotelstayed here for nightsrestaurant staffbuffet styletop floortooth templeshort stayrooms are spacioushot water
Filter
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We had stayed for three nights at the thilanka hotel.we had a wonderful stay at the hotel it was amazing.the food was delicious,the hotle was beutiful,the staff were very loyal,they have a widey variety of foods,the beds are ver comfortable beds,lovely view from the pool area and it's a very pleasant place If your staying in kandy I recommend you to go to the thilanka hotel you will have a wonderful time.special thanks to the hotel manager and chief..

-Rohan fernando-

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank rohan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

we had stayed for 02 Nights and hotel has good overlooking view of Kandy City. staff are friendly. the rooms good with amenities the bar is awesome with the selection of cocktails. room service great and quick. overroll hotel is good but need to improve in the check in and Check out. hope see u soon.!!!!!

Room Tip: New wing rooms are greater
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DineshK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayasri A, General Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your encouraging review of Thilanka Hotel. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy great stay experiences with us. It is very satisfying for us to realize that our warm hospitality and good service contributed positively towards your 2 night stay. At the same time sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by our staff.

Do visit us again for a longer stay

Many thanks and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Being in Kandy the last two days of the great Buddhist celebration, the Esala Perahera, is a one-in-a-lifetime experience -- and so is the cost of eveything in the city. We had reserved months in advance a a double room with a balcony, a flat TV screen and all the amenities that a 150 Euro per night room should have in Sri Lanka. The first surprise was that our room with a balcony was a dark, stinky room at pool level. I had to raise my voice and show the details of my printed reservation before we were given a slightly more decent room with a little balcony at ground level which could not be used most of times lest we wanted to share it with throngs of apes. Food was simply gross with the texture and the taste of something prepared way in advance and stale. Breakfast was even worse. Everything seemed to be soggy. When I asked for an espresso to replace some dark water they called coffee, I was told it would cost an extra 300 rupies! When to this you add a scandalous 26% in government taxes you finally have a picture of an hotel that is the closest thing to a nightmare. To give a feeling of the general sloppiness I am adding a picture of the towel I found in the bathroom. Final touches, the minibar was empty and not working and the curtains so light we had to sleep with the blinds.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Two night stay during festival on half board. Location is excellent and walking distance to Temple of the Tooth. Service throughout (front desk, restaurant etc) couldn't be better - all staff were efficient and friendly.
Buffet was very good quality, well managed, well presented with friendly and efficient staff. We were particularly impressed that when we arrived back at the hotel 20 minutes after dinner service ended we were welcomed into the restaurant and staff went to great lengths to ensure we didn't feel rushed.
First night we were in lower ground floor room (no view/ bathrooms in need of refurbishment). Changed for second night to refurbished room on top floor which was excellent. Monkeys on the balcony when we drew back the curtains in the morning - quite a novelty and soon went but would be less entertaining if we'd left anything out there.
Pool area very nice although underused and hotel was virtually deserted during the day with people out on tours. Wifi in public areas only (but worked well there).
Would definitely recommend - but ask for refurbished room.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms are far nicer and upper floors had great views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

i am a srilankan , currently work in 5 star rated resort in Maldives with my family. we have been there last June month for 2 days. this is an amazing hotel and 2 days wasn't enough to enjoy the first class facilities offered by thilanka hotel.
location also superb on the to of a hill and yet close to dalanda maligawa and kandy city. hotel also very well maintained and they have good latest facilities . rooms was very nice clean and quiet with wonderful view.
The staff was extremely kind and provides grate services.(all managers and line staff)and nice friendly welcome on arrival.
Foods are realy delicious and there are large numbers of verities table from one corner to another . we realy enjoyed a fantastic dinner with live music and dancing.
Swimming pool also very clean and well maintained.my 3 years old baby had a good swimming time .but unfortunately he vomited near the pool. but as a child he should still be treated as a paying guest.
we simply love this hotel and next vacation suppose to stay in thilanka hotel dambulla. we highly recommend
this hotel for who like to stay decent , quiet , beautiful place for reasonable charges.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NirmaniHerath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews