We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is one of the best places I have stayed in. My family and I stayed in a very cleaned no insect rooms. the only thing you have to take care of is the monkeys especially at the morning. the location is very good and very close to kandy lake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samara_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thilankah, Web sales executive at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    598
    229
    52
    48
See reviews for
295
538
67
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Despite only staying one night, I was highly impressed with the facilities and service at the hotel.

The room we stayed in was extremely comfortable, and the facilities available throughout the hotel had us feeling very priveleged!

Furthermore, the view from our room was stunning, and we enjoyed the selection of food available for breakfast and dinner.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thilankah, General Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your encouraging review and recommending of Thilanka Hotel. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy great stay experiences with us. It is very satisfying for us to realize that our warm hospitality and good service contributed positively towards your stays.

Do visit us again

Many thanks and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We are from Clique College, Maldives and we went to Kandy on a study tour. During the short stay in Kandy and Thilanka, all of us were very happy about the services. Everyone enjoyed staying there. Staffs were friendly and we loved the food immensely. Our students wishes to come there again.

They were flexible and for a group of 50 this is one of the best.

Thank you for your service. We too wish to come there soon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doniano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thilankah, General Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your encouraging review and selecting Thilanka even for a short say. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy great stay experiences with us. It is very satisfying for us to know that our warm hospitality and good services contributed has made your stay happy and enjoyable.

We are waiting and wishing to see you all in the near future and provide you all with the best services.

Do visit us again

Many thanks and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

great service, great atmosphere with a beautiful pool, and awesome personalized service at the restaurant. the only gripe I have is the food was a bit salty for my taste. I think this is a chain company since we also stayed at the Thilanka in Dambulla and it was perfect there too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 572nancyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thilankah, General Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to note that the property has met your expectations and that you have enjoyed the surroundings, facilities and services during your stay at kandy and Dambulla Thilanka Hotel. At the same time sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by Food. We have made arrangements to look into the problem and take necessary actions.

Do visit us again

Many thanks and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The room was clean and modern, very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay, but found the layout and room numbering confusing. Also, when you remove the room key from its holder by the door, the power in the room goes off. That means when you leave, the AC is off and your devices won't charge. A curious monkey visited us, and the view was lovely. The food in the restaurants was good, and the service everywhere was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed for two nights on tour as a party of two couples. Great location high up the side of the mountain,like most others in Kandy. We were lucky to stay at the time of a religious festival and saw some wonderful sights around the temple of the tooth budha. Only down side was two days without alcohol surprised how much you want what you cant have. If you plan ahead you can take drinks in private which had been bought prior to poya days, our guide advised use accordingly. So we bought some, But not enough, lol. Pool remained open till 10pm which was great after a days tour. No complaints about this hotel at all

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Been to this hotel several times , before and after refurbishing , the rooms are spacious , what a view over looking Bahirawa kanda statue and the mountains , amazing. The staff was very courteous and there is a special person , he is non other than Mr. Hemantha , what a human he is , a very helpful guy, the food was okay clean and tasty , One thing we don't like and the management must take serious action to get rid from the monkey menace ,

Room Tip: get a room from the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilshan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
996 reviews
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.6 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Property: Hotel Thilanka
Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing