We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Hotel Thilanka is set on the hill on the other side of the lake in Kandy and is in a great location if you wish to wander around the lake but it can be a long walk to the heart of Kandy. Of course there is always a Tuk Tuk for a few hundred rupees willing to drive you there! The hotel itself is lovely and there is an excellent pool and pool bar to enjoy the days when you just want to laze around. The hotel can cater for children easily and would make a great family stay very enjoyable. The service is spot on and the rooms elegant. There is no wi-fi in the rooms which is something they can improve on but the wi-fi is available in the pool area. Prices are reasonable and therefore this hotel comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: No wi-fi in the room but all other amenities are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Good modern rooms with plenty of space including a settee in your room.
Own veranda with lovely views and good quality seats and table.(watch out for monkeys and keep your bedroom sliding doors closed).
Excellent restaurant, poolside cocktail bar, pool, recliners and SPA.
Some may not like the stroll / slight climb up to the hotel from town but we did!
If this puts you off, don't let it.
Book the hotel and use a tuk tuk.

Room Tip: Don't get a pool level room as too many pass your room and will look in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackoNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wonderful location, overlooking the lake, and within easy walking distance of the sacred tooth temple, central Kandy and bus/train. Solid service and good local options for dining if tired of hotel buffet. Enjoy the monkeys, but keep hotel balcony doors closed as recommended, to keep them from a too close visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room on high floor in older section for value/view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMT-JWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at the hotel but the manager was very helpful and showed us 2 others that we could check into straight away. One was a room in the older part of the hotel with great views - but we actually chose a smaller room at the back of the hotel because it had recently been renovated and the bathroom was great. We still had good views over the rooftops and of lots of monkeys!
Communal areas were great and the bar /swimming pool area has wonderful views over kandy.
Good value for money and the best hotel in that price range that we stayed in in Sri Lanka - but would recommend the rooms in the newer wing unless views are your number one priority.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma302014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Thilanka Hotel for 3 days over Christmas after coming down from Habarana. The hotel is well situated at the back of the lake and quite close to the Temple of the Tooth Relic.

We reserved one of the spacious rooms on the top floor with a great view overlooking the lake. Each of these rooms has a balcony with a couple of seats and a table however don't leave anything outside as the monkeys will have it. In fact the monkeys can often be seen jumping from balcony to balcony. We did notice that if there were more than 1 of us on the balcony, the monkeys didn't bother us but if you were alone, there was greater chance of a confrontation - which was an interesting new experience for me - all part of the adventure I guess.

Even down by the pool there are monkeys but these are often shooed away by the staff. If nothing else, it makes good entertainment to watch their antics.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and this consisted of a buffet for a wide variety of tastes - an interesting mix is to start with spicy curry and then have some croissant - delicious!

One negative aspect about the hotel is that we thought that the price of their taxi from the hotel to the train station in Kandy was quite expensive - so check around before you book it. Other than that, we had a pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Thilanka is situated high over Kandy. No problem, as we are touring with car and driver. We had a room close to the swimmingpool . Basic furnished, but spacious. Friendly, not too personal staff.
Hotels should realise that travelers are using camera's, Ipads, Ereaders, cellphones, which need connecting faciliteit. Bring your own adapter. The breakfast buffet was fresh and well filled.
Beware of the many monkeys, looking for a bite and drinking from the outside tables when it is raining. The swimmingpool is cool and refreshing. The side bar offers nice cocktails and good wines. We saw many mariage ceremonies and because of Full Moon, no alcohol drinks were served. Overall a busy hotel, but a nice place to stay in Kandy. Cees and Theo

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceesentheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and myself stayed for 1 night in thilanka hotel in may 2013 when we visited kandy on a tour from Kalutara. The hotel is on an incline looking over the Kandy lake and city. We stayed in a top floor suite at the front of the hotel with stunning views. The bed room was large and tastefully decorated and very clean .The dinner we had was buffet style with plenty of choice and was lovely.The breakfast was again buffet style with chef cooking omelettes on request ..i have read the other reviews and cannot understand why some are as they are.this is a lovely hotel and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliemc-chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
829 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#15 of 56 in Kandy
1,137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $84 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing