We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view of Kandy”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent view of Kandy”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great View.. i like it most.. my fiancee and i went twice .we had nice candle lite dinner (staff handled that after i have given them instructions) and next day morning great breakfast. sleep quality is exceptional front desk welcoming perfect and i like the kandyan ethics allover the hotel.
bit troubled buy the hotel lay out and monkey clan you cant keep open windows.. but i like this hotel it has own kandyan roots and very pleasant staff. so i recommend this hotel highly worth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    615
    235
    52
    48
See reviews for
313
553
68
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The courtesy extended to us upon our arrival after a long journey was very welcome. All staff throughout our 24 hour stay were courteous and never short of a smile, even when passing in a hallway. Our rooms and particularly the beds were pure bliss after working in an animal sanctuary for two weeks and a long journey to Kandy. The buffet dinner and breakfasts were amazing! I have to follow a gluten-free and dairy-free diet, which can be difficult at times when travelling, but there was still plenty of choice for me in both meals. Our room was in the newer section of the hotel so was immaculate. Would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to going back there at some stage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section of hotel. The friend I travelled with stayed in the old part the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neese45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

While on tour of the culture triangle of Sri Lanka I stayed one night, April 27, 2013 at Hotel Thilanka in Kandy. I stayed in the new part of hotel on the second floor over looking bar and pool area. The room was large, clean with a modern bath and large shower, plus a comfortable bed.
As common the hotel offered a free breakfast which included Sri Lanka dishes plus made to order three egg omelets with a yummy fresh fruit array. Over-all very nice and an excellent place to camp while visiting the beautiful Kandy area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddobbin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good food, clean modern rooms, free wifi, nice pool, great lounge, walking distance to the temple, funny monkey entertainment in the morning... It was perfect. Really enjoyed our stay here and really enjoyed our time in Kandy. Of all the cities, Kandy was our favourite - loved walking around the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaPolarBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel was under construction so the reception was still looking old and shabby, the way to go to our room was confusing as it involves two different elevators and not so well laid out corridors. Room was new but strip of marching ants were all around - floor and refreshment tray, layout of the room was a bit weird bathroom was not well lit, breakfast buffet was in the ballroom with not so great option, our guides were not happy because they had to rent out room since their accommodation that was provided by the hotel is not nice and clean. Happy not to stay here longer than one night and am not recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneFishonaHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spent two nights at this place and I would say it was a wonderful experience. Booked it just based on reviews and I do not regret about choosing it. Walking distance to the sacred Temple of Tooth. they have spacious rooms that are very clean. Too bad that we couldn't use the balcony because of the monkeys that kept on coming there. Always ask for a room from the new wing with lake view. We stayed at the top floor. Food is delicious but I think the breakfast choices were bit limited. most of the people working there are friendly but some needs to learn about being professional. Overall I would say that this is a very good place and I would recommend it to anyone. Management should think about putting up a baby pool.

Room Tip: select a room from the new wing with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeewa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We visited this hotel for a 1 night stay during a 2 week holiday in Sri Lanka. As we'd booked to stay in a beach resort we did a 2 day, 1 night trip to visit the various attractions of central Sri Lanka and visit Kandy. The hotel was booked by our local guide Indika and we were very pleased with his selection.
On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff and taken to our room at the far end of the hotel - did seem quite confusing to find, but the reason becomes apparent when you see the outside of the hotel. There have been 4 sections of extensions done over the years and we had one of the newest rooms with generous space, great airconditioning, good ensuite and a balcony overlooking the Kandy valley. The only downside the exterior balcony was the sign warning you not to leave doors open as the hotel has monkeys in the grounds and they're know n to come into the rooms if given a chance and will steal anything they can carry! That aside it was amazing to watch the monkeys around the area. The hotel staff are very good at chasing them away if they come too close so they shouldn't pose a threat apart from taking things. (It is recommended not to feed them or get too close just in case though!)
Hotel has outside pool with lovely pool bar area which is ideal for daytime lounging or evening drinks.
Dinner was served in the main restaurant (in new section below our bedroom) and was buffet style and offered a good variety of options. Wine was also available on request although selection was fairly limited.
Entertainment the night we were there was a Sri Lankan band who performed at the edge of the restaurant and then wandered from table to table taking requests. They were great and we ended up, after dinner, at the pool area with them and really enjoyed it.
Breakfast in morning was also buffet style with a chef on hand to cook eggs / omelettes, etc.
Our bags were carried to the car for us and all staff we encountered were very helpful.
The hotel also has a spa / ayuveda centre in a separate building across from reception - this looked nice but we didn't have time to make use of its facilities.
I would be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing - they were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 55 in Kandy
1,073 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.6 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Property: Hotel Thilanka
Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing