We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

nice hotel with lovely pool and fabulous views but no Wi-Fi and only one computer in lobby. It was cheaper going to the internet cafe. Room boys were helpful and smiling. Breakfast was good . No problems to report. Local wedding took place on third day which was nice to watch

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPakistanCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    605
    231
    52
    48
See reviews for
302
544
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed in many hotels during my tour, but Thilanka was like coming home.
All the staff did their best to make your stay great.
Every night they have an other band at the restaurant and great food at the buffet.
The bar was fun and just on the other side of the hotel, so you dont hear music in your room, where ever you stay at the hotel.

If i go back to sri lanka, for sure i will pay a visit to thilanka hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pussycat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Main thing is this hotel is near to the Kandy Lake Club with its nightly cultural performances as well as Buddha's tooth. Our room had a great view of the hills and the river. Avoid the rooms near the pool as it can get noisy and people walk by to go to the restaurant.

Restaurant was nothing special save for the dozen monkeys who run on the roof which was kinda cool.

Overall, this is an okay place, save the rooms were mostly old and the elevator probably should be in a museum instead of a hotel. (It bangs when you reach your floor)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We spent one night here on our tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel was well situated with a short walk down to the temple. After the cutural show in town we braved a slightly chilly pool just to experience swimming with a view over Kandy and the White Buddah, stunning.
The room was very large, with the usual slighly under par bathroom. No hairdryer and no fridge. Air con worked fine and tv had one channel working.
We had dinner and breakfast. Both very good quality, some of the best of our trip.
I love the way the hotel feels like it has been there forever, although we were told it was built in the 80's. (Maybe it was the 1880's, I didn't think of that!)
Good hotel for a city break.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComeonAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The hotel is about 3km from kandy city therefore it was convienient to travel around and also to be away from the busy city, the rooms were well equipped and the staff were attentive. We found Kandy weather cool and nice. Please beware of the monkeys, do not feed them as the hotel has advised and make sure the doors are closed when they are around. It was a good stay at Thilanka.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franchi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Went there on office trip, reasonable clean rooms for the price we paid. The food was great. The environment quiet and clean.

Stayed December 2010
Helpful?
Thank Ruckshani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed at Thilanka for 2 nights on halfboard basis. Pros- The breakfast and dinner was good with lots of choices, the view is superb (we had a room at the corner of the building and balcony overlooking the Kandy lake) since it was raining we could not use the pool facilities. The rooms are huge. Service was OK.
Cons- The bathtub was rusted, the walls had patches on them due to water leakage, the lifts is one cranky piece. No internet in the rooms and the only way you could access is by using your laptop in the reception, where they have an extra cable for connectivity.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 53 in Kandy
1,047 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 53 in Kandy
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Property: Hotel Thilanka
Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing