We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
47
108
100
48
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
108
100
48
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool set menu restaurant staff third floor rooms are spacious nice pool hot water hill valley sri
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 344 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2009

The Swiss Residence was really great. Our room was on the third floor and had a beautiful view of Kandy. It was fairly basic but very clean, and the TV had only one channel in English, but who goes to Sri Lanka to watch TV anyway?

The lobby was nice, TV, pool table, bar, etc. There was a nice deck and pool with white christmas lights all around at night, but we never had time to swim. The restaurant actually had some really decent food and good beer.....I had an amazing oriental dish there. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was very good, and it was made to order, not a buffet like in another review.

Overall, it was a great experience and very reasonably priced. We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irisiy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

When we first arrived at this hotel, it was pouring down with rain, and I mean heavy heavy rain, I nearly had a heart attack when the car started to roll back down the very steep drive.

The hotel was very empty when we stayed, in fact I think we saw about 8 people, but I have to say it was one of the best nights in Sri Lanka.

We had several drinks in the bar (excellent service, lovely man really looked after us). and chatted and played pool with the only other people in the hotel. The reception desk on the floor below was being demolished while we were there, I am sure some people would have moaned, but it didnt really bother us.

The actually hotel reminded us of the shining....but I think the horror film weather did not help with this.

We ate the restaurant that night and we were the only people, that would not have been a problem apart from the staff were so attentive they pretty much watched us for the entire meal, which was a shame, but they just wanted to make sure we were ok and enjoying the food, ok it was a little cold, but most hotels we stayed in served luke warm food.

If we had visited on a sunny day I am sure we would have had a completly different experience, but we enjoyed it and it was a great stop off point for Kandy.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank leekee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We booked to stay at the Swiss residence for 5 nights on a B&B basis in a standard room for £28 a night. The bad points were...

Breakfast was buffet style and stone cold.
No fridge or kettle in the room.
No cable TV as advertised (complained 4 times)
Dirty bedding.
Got completly ripped off by the hotel driver, £260 to tour the ancient cities and a national park. Then they tried to charge us 3 times the going rate to go to Kalutara.

Good points were...
Great view.
Friendly staff.
Cheap pool table.

There are lots of nice hotels for less money in Sri Lanka so shop around, looking back I wish we had booked one night and looked around before staying here.

I would recommend using the travel agents next to Temple of the tooth in town, cheap and reliable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw13, Owner at The Swiss Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2009

This complaint has been reviewed and we welcome the information.

However we wish to mention:
• Internationally, if a client has a complaint this should be made at the time of their stay, so any complaint could be dealt with immediately. Unfortunately no complaints have been made.
• We have 3 types of rooms. The room booked here has been the standard room for the lowest rate, with no fridge or kettle.
• Satellite TV is available in the lobby.
• We provide fresh linen to all our rooms. Room are made up twice daily. Here again no complaints have been made at the time.
• The most shocking and damaging fact is the mention of a £ 260 charge for a tour. This is highly inaccurate and false information. A tour was organised at a rate of £ 62.
We sincerely apologise for any service which was not to your satisfaction, but would appreciate if you would refrain from publicizing such false information which is totally incorrect and exaggerated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We arrived in Kandy from Colombo late in the evening in a hired car. Not very far from the centre of the town you wind your way on a narrow road to the top of a hill. The views are breath taking. The hotel has a decent parking, at a slightly lower level. There is a huge Buddha monument just half a km away, and can be seen from the hotel. The walk to the monument is very pleasant.
The rooms provide great views of either the village behind or the lovely green valley in front. There is a small swimming pool on the cliff. The restaurant offers good Srilankan and cotinental food. The foof and room tariffs are resonable. The walls of the hotel are adorned by some great paintings made by a former employee. You are away brom the bustle of the city, yet not too far away from its centre. All in all agreat place to spend a couple of days at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Idiot that I am we arrived at Hotel Suisse in Kandy only to discover that I had booked for Swiss Residences- make sure you get the right Swiss/Suisse when you book! 15 Minutes later we arrived via some steep, winding hillside at Swiss Residences.
The hotel overlooks Kandy and our tiny balcony provided us with some breathtaking views of the city and surrounding countryside. For anyone wanting to walk into Kandy for the night this hotel is a no go as it is too far, too hilly and too darkly lit to get into town by anything other than taxi. As we'd already done our Kandyan dancing on the way there and had very little interest in city life, it had everything we needed for a short stopover on our tour of the Island. The hotel was of a high standard, rooms were fine and staff were extremely friendly, helpful and very efficient- definitely the most well organised hotel we stayed at during our time in Sri Lanka. Hotel has a nice swimming pool which we didn't have time to sample although we could hear the voices of kids playing in it at about 8pm at night- for the mozzies it must have been Kandyan festival come early! . Evening meal was a bit limited on choice but well priced, breakfast similar. They also have some shops, business and leisure facilities.
If you want the hustle and bustle of the City then look elsewhere, but if you are passing through and want a cheap, comfortable, quiet place to stay then this is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rach_and_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews