We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Margarita & Wine Combination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swiss Residence
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was a long journey after visiting Sirigiya Rock Fortress, Dambulla Cave Temple, Spice Garden & a Cultural Show. We were welcomed by smiling faces ... the warm hospitality of Sri Lankans. Room No : 103. We had one floor to be taken by steps and then we had the elevator to take us to our room. Room was clean though it had an aged look. Basic furniture provided with a comfy bed n clean sheets. Towels were clean too. TV was a 'dinasaur'...the old fashioned tv. Shower was excellent.. (hot & cold). Breakfast was a combination of both western n local...quite a variety. There was a little bar at the corner of the first floor with some live band serenading melodic tunes. We ordered margarita to be sent to our room and we had some wine too to celebrate our successful trip to Sri Lanka! Room service was fast. We were attended to quickly. Check-in & check-out was smooth...with no delays/waiting. While you are in Kandy, do go to Helga's Follly...a unique & mystical ambience...a place to bring back the memories of the yesteryears of the Frank Sinatra era or the series called The Frankestein Family. You need to make a reservation before hand if you intend to have your meal at Helga's. A unique place with unique decor. Our trip was planned by Miraculous Travel House. Do contact Sharon. Our guide/driver was Mr. Gayan (+94722590904)

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalvirBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 296 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Normal hotel. The food for breakfast was ok. I think the price was a little high. Room was clean and comfortable but had an old European style. Only problem was they charged my credit card even though i was told i would pay for the hotel in cash. I was not to pleased about this. Overall nice stay and about a 20 min walk into town.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank PresPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Rooms are comfortable, however we had a leaking ac which was sorted out efficiently by the manager and we were given another room. Room Service staff tried to sell us the buffet when we wanted to order ala-carte however finally managed to bring the food that was ordered. Food was ok. This was the only hotel on our trip that charged for Wi-Fi.
Since we were in Kandy only for a day, the stay was decent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhipesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

> Comfortable rooms with floor carpets,
> steaming hot water showers & clean bath rooms
> a cozy place with a carrom board/dart to play , a fire place to sit by.
> a 10 min drive to the central market place in kandy make this hotel convenient.
however,
> lack of manpower = lack of services and delay (although they managed to serve us)
> They kept serving cold food (it was cold outside, and they couldnt warm it up)
> Table service took very long
> No pool/ outside courtyards or gardens or balconies to enjoy the view. (all our rooms saw the rooms of houses/slums)

We did see many many hill top hotels with better infrastructure, and should have done more research.
Although we dont regret staying here....

Room Tip: Theres only one floor above the reception. I dont think any room has a balcony and a great valley vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

As said in the title its just another Mediocre hotel with basic facilities.

Rooms and toilets are kept neat but nothing great about the hotel nor their service.

Staff and Reception are not that tourist friendly. They just reply coz they have to and not because they want to.

Swimming pool is ok. But beware you are not supposed to wear Swim suit until you jump in the pool... this is what one of their receptionists told me. Weird huh...

View from hotel balcony is awesome... You can see the whole of Kandy. This is the only reason why I might suggest you to take this hotel and not for anything rest they offer.

Food is again mediocre quality. But they give amazing spread in Fruits. Must try fruit is Rambutan, it's awesome.

Room Tip: there are no fitness centre nor spa. Rooms cannot be chosen. You have to take what they give. But ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarunBhoopalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a one night stay on a road trip around Sri Lanka and was more upmarket than some to the other accommodation. Arrived late and only and a buffet option which we did not feel like. However the meal was good and the curries and vegetarian options were very good. Power failure led AC to fail during the night but otherwise room was good and bathroom clean with good shower.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Happen to go to swiss residence for dinner since we had friends staying there. We ordered a la carte from the 2nd floor bar. Took the waiter quite sometime to find the menu and he kept outsourcing it to another person to find the menu. Once we got the menu card and placed the order we were waiting for the food for quite sometime even then they brought only one and forgot the rest we had to attract a waiter again to find the rest. Also the one and only elevator was out of order and the guests need to use the stairway on the date we visited this hotel.
I find the service to be very poor and staff is untrained. If that was the service I can't even imagine the service you get if you stay at this pace. This hotel had much better service few years back sadly it's not the case now.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Ramalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
View 360
View 360
#42 of 56 in Kandy
43 reviews
3.0 mi away
Melheim Kandy Hotel
Melheim Kandy Hotel
#43 of 56 in Kandy
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 56 in Kandy
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#12 of 56 in Kandy
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#15 of 56 in Kandy
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Residence

Address: No. 23 Bahirawakanda, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $76 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the World Heritage City - Kandy, The Swiss Residence is more a home than a hotel. Known for our warm and personalized service, you will be greeted and made to feel right at home, from the moment you set foot here. Placed amongst the luscious rain forests in the hills of this calm & peaceful city, The Swiss Residence, though placed in the heart of the city, is the perfect spot for those looking for a place to simply relax and enjoy solitude, forgetting the burdens of urban life even for a moment. Created with a rich mixture of Kandyan and Swiss architecture, The Swiss Residence consists of 40 cozy, well furnished rooms, with spectacular views of the surrounding mist covered hills in one direction, as well as the sun touched busy streets of the city seen below in the other direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swiss Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Residence Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing