We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay for a short stay, not for 2-3 days”
Review of Swiss Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss Residence
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just okay for a short stay, not for 2-3 days”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

> Comfortable rooms with floor carpets,
> steaming hot water showers & clean bath rooms
> a cozy place with a carrom board/dart to play , a fire place to sit by.
> a 10 min drive to the central market place in kandy make this hotel convenient.
however,
> lack of manpower = lack of services and delay (although they managed to serve us)
> They kept serving cold food (it was cold outside, and they couldnt warm it up)
> Table service took very long
> No pool/ outside courtyards or gardens or balconies to enjoy the view. (all our rooms saw the rooms of houses/slums)

We did see many many hill top hotels with better infrastructure, and should have done more research.
Although we dont regret staying here....

Room Tip: Theres only one floor above the reception. I dont think any room has a balcony and a great valley vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    81
    87
    43
    33
See reviews for
74
113
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

As said in the title its just another Mediocre hotel with basic facilities.

Rooms and toilets are kept neat but nothing great about the hotel nor their service.

Staff and Reception are not that tourist friendly. They just reply coz they have to and not because they want to.

Swimming pool is ok. But beware you are not supposed to wear Swim suit until you jump in the pool... this is what one of their receptionists told me. Weird huh...

View from hotel balcony is awesome... You can see the whole of Kandy. This is the only reason why I might suggest you to take this hotel and not for anything rest they offer.

Food is again mediocre quality. But they give amazing spread in Fruits. Must try fruit is Rambutan, it's awesome.

Room Tip: there are no fitness centre nor spa. Rooms cannot be chosen. You have to take what they give. But ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varunbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a one night stay on a road trip around Sri Lanka and was more upmarket than some to the other accommodation. Arrived late and only and a buffet option which we did not feel like. However the meal was good and the curries and vegetarian options were very good. Power failure led AC to fail during the night but otherwise room was good and bathroom clean with good shower.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Happen to go to swiss residence for dinner since we had friends staying there. We ordered a la carte from the 2nd floor bar. Took the waiter quite sometime to find the menu and he kept outsourcing it to another person to find the menu. Once we got the menu card and placed the order we were waiting for the food for quite sometime even then they brought only one and forgot the rest we had to attract a waiter again to find the rest. Also the one and only elevator was out of order and the guests need to use the stairway on the date we visited this hotel.
I find the service to be very poor and staff is untrained. If that was the service I can't even imagine the service you get if you stay at this pace. This hotel had much better service few years back sadly it's not the case now.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were there for a wedding ceremony which was held on 07.03.2013. On the previous night I went with my wife to kandy not knowing that all the hotels in Kandy was full. When I called Swiss Residence they had employed good reception team as they were full on this night but they went out of their way to help us to find accommodation to stay overnight as they were also full on this night.
Next day we came to Swiss Residence for the function and this was situated on a top of a hill & it is a 5 story building situated in a beautiful surrounding. The hotel is a beautifully constructed comfortable classy hotel. Clean swimming pool, large reception with a very friendly staff. The food was very testy. The Food & Beverage staff is very polite & very friendly service personal.
If you are planning to visit Kandy, don’t miss to visit Swiss Residence at least for a meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A great looking hotel no doubt.Rooms were ok.But what was a let down was the food & service.They served us soft drinks along with the food which was included in our package but later asked us to pay. This was the mistake of the waiter for not informing but they were very adamant in demanding he payment.So check with them if its included in the package.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRPChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The only thing that this Hotel hs going for it is the View, the room we had was poor, the restaurant was awful, the bar seedy - our experience was somewhat soured by the fact that the air conditioning wasn't working when we returned to our room after an evening out, I was told that there weren't any other rooms available so they had to fix it - four different handy men later and it was fixed but dripping! I demanded that they would not leave us with a towel on the floor but complete the repair - eventually they did! The room was shabby, the bathroom ancient and without a mosquito net over the window. Our evening meal was poor with hardly any choice and when I bottle of warm white wine appeared I sent it back. If you arrange a trip to Kandy - arrange the hotel yourself!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,032 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
1.0 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#36 of 54 in Kandy
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Residence

Property: Swiss Residence
Address: No. 23 Bahirawakanda, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the World Heritage City - Kandy, The Swiss Residence is more a home than a hotel. Known for our warm and personalized service, you will be greeted and made to feel right at home, from the moment you set foot here. Placed amongst the luscious rain forests in the hills of this calm & peaceful city, The Swiss Residence, though placed in the heart of the city, is the perfect spot for those looking for a place to simply relax and enjoy solitude, forgetting the burdens of urban life even for a moment. Created with a rich mixture of Kandyan and Swiss architecture, The Swiss Residence consists of 40 cozy, well furnished rooms, with spectacular views of the surrounding mist covered hills in one direction, as well as the sun touched busy streets of the city seen below in the other direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Residence Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing