We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
47
108
100
48
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
108
100
48
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool set menu restaurant staff third floor rooms are spacious nice pool hot water hill valley sri
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 344 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

One can see that the hotel was once a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, there didn't seem to be anything or very little done to maintain the hotel. Even the 3 stars they claim to be is undeserved. The room was barely furnished and whatever furniture they had have seen better days. The bathroom is just about serviceable and why would anyone install a shower curtain that in the middle of the bath tub is perplexing. Food was basic and don't order ala carte, the kitchen is extremely slow and disorganised. My order of a curry combo (taken from the buffet) too 40 minutes to get to the table.

One plus point is that the staff were friendly and try to please in spite of the challenges of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We slept there 2 nights. Room was not big, but very comfortable, including AC and clean bathroom with hot water and all the bathroom utensils provided. We has a beautiful view from a tiny balcony. Also, the complementary breakfast was good - big choice of both Western and more Sri Lankan food. Our driver liked the driver's accommodation too.

On the bad side, there was a high fee for the internet, which is surprising considering the hotel tries to have a very western image.
The very steep driveway to the hotel could not be reached with a non-modern car - so watch out if you use an older vehicle.
The hotel is far from the nice part of Kandy.
It was quite costly.

Room Tip: The cheapest room was very alright.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aga_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went to this hotel with very little expectations but it turned out to be a good one.
Pros:
Rooms were good at least cleanliness was there, hot water and AC was available. It also had a decent restaurant. The Complementary breakfast they provided was good also, having a lot of items. I would say, for spending USD 55 a night, I made a good decision.

Cons:
The Wifi Service at rooms were not upto the mark. Hardly got connected from my room. I needed to go to the Reception to use the Wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShahenaraBegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for one night , while we were on a tour, with a great family, the hotel was very nice , the first thing i noticed was how great the reception was decorated, it was very .clean and was very well kept, we stayed in a room that ha fantasic views , the sun rise was amazing, we had dinner with our friends , a great family that we were on the tour with , a local family ,we stayed there , as we were spending the next day on the observation train , which we caught the train not far , from the hotel,my stay in this hotel was fantastic , spending the evening this , a fantatic family in a wonderful ,hotel with the most , fantastic views , thats one of the reasons i love sri lanka, i would like to thank slimline tour sumudu perera for this trip , it was exceillent, and to thank the hotel for making our stay although it was only one night , we wpuld go back again

Room Tip: rooms with the great views are the best
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLIMGIRL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Room was quite good and comfortable. Bathroom was also good and convinient. A very good view of the valley from the balcony is delightful and refreshing. TV and wi-fi did not work. The hotel staff cut a sorry figure. Tea and coffee arrangement was provided in the room. The fift is on the 1st. floor The floor was high and steps were very steep. Even the bell boys had tough time to lift luggage throught the stairs to the lift. Difficult to climb to the lift by elderly persons.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the valley is recommended. Avoid older rooms where TV and wi-fi not working.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gautam_Mukherji_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews