We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not swiss”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Swiss Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss Residence
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“not swiss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

we order 2 rooms the rooms was not ready on after noon time.
the floor was not clean the a/c is not quiet and we cant sleep .
the bad was not clean and the sites was with dead Miskito s .
the bathroom is poor.

Room Tip: don't book there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moshe o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    79
    86
    43
    33
See reviews for
73
110
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a beautiful old colonial hotel, with a ball room and old art deco bar.

When you pull in the reception seems a bit of a let down but the rooms are large and lovely with beautiful old furniture. The food is average /good but the terrace and bar and ball room are beautiful. i would really recommend this for kandy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for a night on our 8 Day tour of Sri Lanka. Our Room was on the 3rd Floor which was very Quiet and Peaceful. The Rooms and Bathroom are a bit small, but our Room had a nice little Balcony, with a view of Kandy Town below. The Hotel is located on top of a steep hill, which makes it difficult for people to walk up to the hotel. The Room had comfortable Beds and the Restaurant had a decent selection of Food in the Buffet. The Staff are helpful. The only downside with this Hotel is that the Bathrooms feel a bit old and cramped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tekumallakarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel last week. Our room was on the third floor. I don't know about the other floors but our room was extremely quiet. It was so serene that we could even hear the breeze. Plus,every evening the monk prays in the nearby temple and we could hear his soothing voice.

Pros: amazing scenic views. Beautiful pool area. Good breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. Very hospitable staff.
Cons: there are no safe in the room for safe keeping me items. Charged facility is available in lobby. Internet is not free. Charges are minimal but the wi-fi signals are not too good. Plus, the speed is similar to that of a dial up.

It was a ten minute downward walk to the city center. But don't try to walk back. Its too steep. the tuk tuk driver took 300 LKR from city center to hotel.
When visiting this area you should generally beware of monkeys and mosquitoes. Monkeys can enter your room and steal stuff if you aren't careful. Mosquitoes can be a problem, so use a mosquito net or simply don't open the windows after sunset.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanor, Sweden
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a true disappointment, the rooms small, the AC and bathrooms in poor state and the bed a nightmare. It is a hotel in many ways beyond repair. They need to totally refurbish it. The food is stale and uninteresting even though they have understood that different cultures need different food. The staff is friendly. The air was nice due to high elevation.

Room Tip: I would not book this hotel again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitte_von
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at the Swiss Residence for 4 nights; the first night I arrived very late in the evening and I found sandwiches in my room for calming dowm my hunger (much appreciated!)
The rooms are not big, but they are clean; I also had a small terrace where I could stay during the evening with a beautiful view.
The bathroom is very small; I found a small dead beetle during one of the nights that did not impress me that much. It is something you might expect if the hotel is surrounded by nature.
I had to stress out the necessity to change towels since these were really dirty after 2 days.

The swimming pool area is very nice, good exposure to the sun and service is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalau81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

had gone along with my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary, which turned out to be a horrendous experience.

The hotel elevator is on the first floor, need to climb the stairs, furthemore, the entire hotel had a particular stink of the oil in which they cook,... also they were serving stale breads for the breakfast or even if one would call for breadbutter the breads were stale.

The stink made my wife feel very uncomfortable and she started vomitting.

Since her health was down we called for Bread and Butter, and the answer was that butter was out of stock.

we had to make atleast 10 calls to the housekeeping for a single blanket.

one needs to check all the ratings before goin to such an horrendous expeirence of lifetime!!!!

Room Tip: horendous rooms very noisy corridors,..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teamglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
1.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#28 of 52 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 52 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Residence

Property: Swiss Residence
Address: No. 23 Bahirawakanda, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the World Heritage City - Kandy, The Swiss Residence is more a home than a hotel. Known for our warm and personalized service, you will be greeted and made to feel right at home, from the moment you set foot here. Placed amongst the luscious rain forests in the hills of this calm & peaceful city, The Swiss Residence, though placed in the heart of the city, is the perfect spot for those looking for a place to simply relax and enjoy solitude, forgetting the burdens of urban life even for a moment. Created with a rich mixture of Kandyan and Swiss architecture, The Swiss Residence consists of 40 cozy, well furnished rooms, with spectacular views of the surrounding mist covered hills in one direction, as well as the sun touched busy streets of the city seen below in the other direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Residence Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing