We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swiss Residence
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at the Swiss Residence for 4 nights; the first night I arrived very late in the evening and I found sandwiches in my room for calming dowm my hunger (much appreciated!)
The rooms are not big, but they are clean; I also had a small terrace where I could stay during the evening with a beautiful view.
The bathroom is very small; I found a small dead beetle during one of the nights that did not impress me that much. It is something you might expect if the hotel is surrounded by nature.
I had to stress out the necessity to change towels since these were really dirty after 2 days.

The swimming pool area is very nice, good exposure to the sun and service is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalau81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for The Swiss Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 290 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

had gone along with my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary, which turned out to be a horrendous experience.

The hotel elevator is on the first floor, need to climb the stairs, furthemore, the entire hotel had a particular stink of the oil in which they cook,... also they were serving stale breads for the breakfast or even if one would call for breadbutter the breads were stale.

The stink made my wife feel very uncomfortable and she started vomitting.

Since her health was down we called for Bread and Butter, and the answer was that butter was out of stock.

we had to make atleast 10 calls to the housekeeping for a single blanket.

one needs to check all the ratings before goin to such an horrendous expeirence of lifetime!!!!

Room Tip: horendous rooms very noisy corridors,..
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teamglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

1. HOTEL: Hotel is outdated with outdated decor, dark, basic room, shower base stained I wore my thongs to take a shower. The shower head broke while I was taking a shower. The hall outside the rooms echoes to amplify any noise, so no decent sleep ins!

2. LOCATION: Situated out of town, we needed to get a tuc-tuc in each time, but this was no real problem. The benefit was the great views while having breakfast or a shower!

3. STAFF: The staff were fantastic, providing great friendly service, and going out of their way to help us wherever possible.

4. FOOD: The A' La Carte menu food was terrible, but we found the buffet to be quite good. However the buffet is on the expensive side.

5. PRICE: The price was reasonable, not too expensive, but then the accommodation wasn't high class.

6. AMMENITIES: Pool is available, but we didn't use it. Internet is available, at a charge per half hour. This price structure isn't great, as the speed is very slow and we spent most of the paid time waiting for pages to load. Air con works fine.

SUMMERY: Resonably clean hotel and an okay place to stay if you can put up with the drab decor. A big disadvantage is the noise echoing into the rooms, we heard doors closing, people talking, kids shouting, alarms, etc all morning.

The friendly staff gave this place a couple of bonus points, but although we have stayed in worse hotels we would not recommend it.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Very badly maintained hotel. Poor furniture, tasteless.
Breakfast terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Els M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The first impression of the Swiss Residence is that you have to climb a
steep hill to get into the lobby. Once that is accomplished, you have to
climb up one flight of stairs to get to the lift, so this is not a
hotel for the tired, weak or physically challenged. Apart from that, the
hotel offers great views over Kandy, has a pretty pool and serves good
food. It has an old-fashioned feel to it that we liked.

Since the hotel is popular with Sri Lankans for weddings and other
parties, it may be noisy at weekends. We only heard the barking hounds
of the Kandy police some way below us.

The hotel really looks like the photos on its webpage. (Do not confuse it with the Swiss Hotel, Kandy, which is down on the lake.)

Room Tip: There are definitely better and worse rooms (as one can see from the reviews). Ask for a refurbish...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hjmZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is an exepsive hotel, and you get what you have paid for. Location is fantastic - right by the lake. The rooms are really big (huge), the furnishings excellent, and the whole place looks as if it has not changed since colonial times. Except for the bathrooms, which are absolutely up-to-date. Some minor problems with the hot water due to the solar system, but this was always immediately fixed. Food is unispiring though and drinks astronomically expensive - but maybe this was because we were there at New Year's Eve.
Highly recommended. If you are willing to spend the money, this is the place to stay in Kandy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I really loved this hotel. Its a little more basic than many hotels I stay in.

The hotel is located on a hill above Kandy, next to the big Bhudda statue. It cost max 200rupees to get an auto up or down, depending on your ability to haggle. Alternatively its a pleasent enough walk certainly on the way down and at least once you should visit the Bhudda statue. I've also had auto drivers stop and offer me a ride up/down the hill as their heading that way (Sri Lankian hospitality is that good, although you will feel obliged to give them something, one even tried to refuse the tip).

Staff were excellent. Food good.Has a pool. Overall a little dated but views looking out at the hills and the bhudda as you shower. Might not be the prettiest hotel but certain one you'll have good memories of, if you place character above another bland 4/5*. Clean comfortable and for someone who spends too many nights in hotels nice to be somewhere where the staff are genuinely friendly and views out over the mountains and the bhudda.

Staff where excellent in terms of willingness to help and going that extra mile at times things took a while to actually happen, for example I think they keep the pool towels in the city center as it takes a while to arrive but always arrives with a smile.

Read the reviews this a marmite hotel if you its kind of traveller you'll love it. Certainly shouldn't be as far down the ranking for Kandy as it is

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allacrossthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.4 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 56 in Kandy
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
2.5 mi away
Randholee Resort & Spa
Randholee Resort & Spa
#19 of 56 in Kandy
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#6 of 56 in Kandy
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Residence

Address: No. 23 Bahirawakanda, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $68 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the World Heritage City - Kandy, The Swiss Residence is more a home than a hotel. Known for our warm and personalized service, you will be greeted and made to feel right at home, from the moment you set foot here. Placed amongst the luscious rain forests in the hills of this calm & peaceful city, The Swiss Residence, though placed in the heart of the city, is the perfect spot for those looking for a place to simply relax and enjoy solitude, forgetting the burdens of urban life even for a moment. Created with a rich mixture of Kandyan and Swiss architecture, The Swiss Residence consists of 40 cozy, well furnished rooms, with spectacular views of the surrounding mist covered hills in one direction, as well as the sun touched busy streets of the city seen below in the other direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Swiss Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Residence Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing