We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family, beautiful hotel”
Review of Regent Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regent Lodge
Ranked #159 of 438 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited regent lodge for a short period but wish we could have spent longer with them! Dudley and his wife were so friendly and nothing was too much hard work for them. You really felt as though you were part of the family! The hotel itself is bright and airy, very peaceful and quiet and a delicious breakfast. We could not ask for more! A must stay place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat_lundie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Regent Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our third hotel in our tour of Sri Lanka arranged by Red Dot tours, we stayed here to watch the perahera (temple of the tooth parade). The hotel's architecture is is open and airy, with fantastic views over the surrounding hills from the upstairs living room. It was nice to drink tea in the cosy room, read and take in these spectacular views. The food was wonderful, we enjoyed a delicous, vegetarian 3 course meal in the evening, the cardamom coconut rice was heavenly. Dudley, the owner, was helpful and knowledgeable about all sorts of things, and he will be glad to hear we made it to Odell's in Colombo! It is perhaps a little far out of Kandy if you are travellling without a car, however, the upside is the peace and quiet. We also loved sitting outside on our little patio to the garden, and seeing monkeys eating jackfruit in the tree - wow!

Karen and Kathleen

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room overlooking the garden with a small patio area.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatalinaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

During my 2 months stay in Sri Lanka this was my favourite hotel in a beautiful position overlooking Kandy. The owners have created a beautiful, welcoming, boutique hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was delightful. Dudley even took us to the station to take the very early train to Colombo!! I will be back and will always look forward to my visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fimac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2004

A bit out in the sticks - if you're staying here for any lenght of time this might be a bit inconvenient. V friendly staff and welcoming - both owner and manager will talk cricket for hours. Nicely (and tastefully) furnished sitting room - and good balcony where you can sit with a pot of afternoon tea and a book - rooms are all different - I had the "famous" room with a boulder in it - BUT - a big BUT - the room was damp - and this is because I suspect the room's built into the hill side - hence the boulder!

2  Thank london_traveller_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nousdeux_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Cookiesochocola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kandy
792 reviews
2.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Lodge

Address: 172 Riverdale Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $23 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is blessed with many little known places to stay which have an enduring charm - Regent Lodge is one such - for a relaxing, memorable stay while in Kandy. Established in 1983, artistically designed with elegance in its simplicity providing professional and personalized in services offered -boutique villa of "A", built into the side of a jungle hillside overlooking the Mahaweli River in a posh, but rural, residential area 10 minutes from the Kandy City centre. REGENT LODGE - is owned by a veteran hotelier. The owner decided to leave mainstream hotel management to create a haven for the discerning, who has no plans to expand it, being content to offer discreet, villa style accommodation and hospitality for a small number of discerning travellers. There are no signposts showing how to get there, but guests arriving by the train are met at the Kandy Railway / Bus Station and accompanied by prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Regent Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Kandy
Regent Kandy
Kandy Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing