We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and beautiful architecture”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed very much. Its city-centre location brings great convenience. Walk to the Food City--the supermarket, walk to most of the restaurants, walk to the bus station, walk by the Kandy Lake, 100m to the Scared Tooth Temple... and there is anther great convenience--everyone knows here! The colonial style itself is great. The room is spacious. We didn't meet the noise problem others mentioned. The downsides may be that the facilities are a little bit old, and wifi is only provided in the lobby. The breakfast is so-so. We were arranged to a room in a west wing corner. We nearly got lost in the hotel to find our room...
PS do ask more sheets, for the night is really really cold!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elbereth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Was for 3 nights and absolutely no regrets. From the bell boy at entrance to Krishanthi of guest services all staff were absolutely great!

Check in was a breeze. Rooms were great.

Will always go back.

Roshan Weerasuriya.
Stayed during 24th to 27th July.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank RoshanW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great location
Spacious hotel
free wifi
everything near by
hotel is bit old but that is their selling point. temple is just across the road. Rooms are with lake view. Perfect place to stay in kandy.
Would recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank RajeshShahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This has been a very nice property, the rooms are still ok, but generally the hotel has seen better days. The hotel is in the middle of Kandy, close to the lake.

Fast check-inn, and nice to have a pool area after a day sightseeing.

Room Tip: If you smoke, make sure to have a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ivar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We did not stay at the Queens Hotel as we were staying slightly out of town at The Richmond House Hotel. We decided to get a tuk tuk in to town on our second night as we were bored stuck in our hotel with nothing to do. We were welcomed in to the bar area and were served drinks by a very friendly barman. We had a couple of cocktails and a couple of bottles of Anchor Beer. The bar was clean & tidy and had a lovely colonial feel about it. The pool area looked very nice outside and we wished we had booked to stay the night. The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of town right next to the lake and temple complex. I appreciate it may be quite noisy due to the traffic but I would take that over an out of town hotel where there is absolutely nothing to do. I would recommend this hotel from what we have experienced and cannot understand the low ratings.

Room Tip: We did not spend the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Queen's Hotel. We are both 26 years old. We are used to staying in varied accommodation and booked Queen's hotel as a kind of treat for ourselves. It is in a great location next to the lake and only a few minutes Tuk Tuk ride from the train station.
The hotel lobby, garden and bar provide a calming escape from the hustle and bustle outside.
The rooms are very clean, large and comfortable with a fan and a/c. They are, as expected, very "old colonial" in style. Do not stay here if you require modern facilities.
The TV works, the shower is hot (most of the time) and they do provide a safety box for valuables.
The swimming pool was large, clean and warm. (Although I only dipped my toe in!) It's likely you won't find time to use it as your days will be filled with other things.
Our room was overlooking the pool, we couldn't hear the road/traffic at all. The only noise we could hear was a large group of Chinese tourists shouting in the hallways every morning!
We were almost completely satisfied with our stay until the final morning...
Beware: 27% (VAT, city tax and service charge) will be added to your final bill. That is a a lot extra! For us another $50usd that we weren't expecting to spend.
Also the breakfast buffet which on other days had been good, was covered in flies and ants and all the tables were dirty. (I think they don't change the table cloths from dinner the night before - so when do they change them?)
I'm vegetarian and there was plenty for me at breakfast: fresh fruit, whole meal brown toast (a rare thing to find anywhere in Asia!), eggs, baked beans, porridge, cheese, salad, yogurt etc (also on offer was traditional Sri Lankan curries and bacon/sausages).
The housekeeping, bar and reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The older guy who is on the tours desk is extremely rude! If you aren't going to definitely book something with them then don't bother to try and ask for any recommendations or help because you will be rudely dismissed.
I would recommend a stay at this hotel however just be aware of the points mentioned.
Queen's Hotel seems to market itself as a high end hotel however I would not give it more than 3 stars.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank daisybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We used their website to book, receiving a confirmation email and two text messages. But when we arrived, they did not have our reservation and were full. We will be staying elsewhere for our time in Kandy.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank climber168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,357 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 57 in Kandy
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#37 of 57 in Kandy
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $53 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing