We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a sense of history hotel”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have sense of history in a hotel, which will have to go in through the back past feeling. The hotel is very clean and has a large swimming pool, the service is very good, walking just three minutes into the Temple, Kandy Lake across the road. There are many shops around the hotel you can stroll around about 20 minute walk in a circle, very lively. The hotel staff is very welcoming. If come Kandy again, I still live here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davieyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest !!

Greeting Good Day !!

Many thanks for updating your value comment us on Trip Adviser and also we highly appreciated your feedback about us.

Please be good enough to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting Kandy.
A touch of Colonial class not seen much anywhere these days.
Great welcome.
Beautiful room.
Excellent food.
The best location.
The only place to stay in Kandy

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinnergong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for updating your comment us on Trip Adviser and your comment is highly appreciated by our management. Thank you very much for your feedback on us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and please feel free to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have very fond memories of watching the Kandy Esala Perahara from the balconies of the Queen's Hotel as a child. The hotel's location offers the best view of the Perahara as the procession makes its way from the Temple of the Tooth (the dancers, drummers etc also put on a better performance as the Perahara is filmed from the Queen's Hotel). So its not surprising that the rooms are expensive, but fully worth it for the once-in-a-lifetime experience it offers. However, the room itself was very basic, and to be honest, hadn't changed much since my childhood. I would have expected a little more for the amount of money I paid. Breakfast is included, and like all good hotels in Sri Lanka, the spread was amazing. The dinner buffet was equally delicious. Overall, I would highly recommend staying at the Queen's to watch the Perahara. But there are plenty of other good hotels in Kandy to stay at other times.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if staying here for the Esala Perahara.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravel6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Greetings from Queens Hotel !

Many thanks for your comments. We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our service as our aim is to set high performance standards. Look forward to welcoming you to Queens Hotel.

Please feelfree to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +94815745745.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Queens Hotel s very good value, situated right across from the Lake; no hasselling with tutuk drivers, everything in walking distance. Fabulous breakfast and really helpful staff on reception. Loved the whole feeling of the hotel and particularly the lady pianist playing old tunes of an evening; it felt like being in a Noel Coward play.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caz1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting good day from Queens !!

Thank you very much for updating your comment us on Trip Adviser and we highly appreciate your comment feedback on us.

W would like to tell you that, we are looking forward to welcome again into our hotel and please contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Queens hotel is centrally situated, overlooking the lake. Downside is the traffic noise as it is on a junction but being woken by the Buddhist chants from the Temple opposite was a lovely experience...you can't miss it as the PA system is directly opposite the hotel!
The staff are competent and welcoming, nice bar near the pool. We did not try the pool as it was raining but it was situated in a lovely courtyard.
The restaurant menu seemed average and didn't specialise in local cuisine, so we ate out in the town. There is little choice in Kandy unfortunately so relied on the guide books.
Breakfast is a buffet but there is adequate choice and attentive service.
Our room was comfortable though could do with some refurbishing but very clean and the usual toiletries etc.
It was lovely to walk out of the hotel and be able to walk round the lake and explore the town so if you are spending time in Kandy, the Queens is in an ideal location for you.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel, overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeymouthSmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day From Queens.

Thank you very much for updating your comment us on Trip Advisor and we are very happy to let you know that we are keeping our eyes on towards what are the areas that you mentioned on your feedcak. Thank once again.

You are most welcome, If you wish you to come and stay with as again. Please feel free to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, tastefully decorated and well maintained. The breakfast was good. If you are looking for a hotel from where you can see Kandy town just by walking around, then this is the place to stay.

It's a bit costly compared to other hotels I stayed during the trip (Colombo/Galle), but it was almost worth the money spent. The staff were courteous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuruSudhirKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Very Good Day From Queens.

Thank you very much for your feedback us on Trip Adviser and we are very please to have a commentou from yas above. Hopefully you enjoyed your stay at Queens.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and please feel free to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next reservation.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Kandy is a wonderful place full of heritage and culture nestled in the Hill Country of Sri Lanka. This hotel gives you a good flavour of that history - we stayed there in January 2013. It is wonderfully located by the lake and next to the Sri Dalada Maligawa (Temple of the Tooth). The ambience is certainly of old world charm with rich reminiscences of Kandy's colonial past. Be prepared for an early morning wake up call from the temple drummers if you are on that side of the building - will certainly catch your attention! The room was comfortable and clean with a well appointed bathroom. Unfortunately while satisfying the mark for old world charm our room was in definite need of better 21st Century touches - only one of the plug points worked and that blew after using the kettle once! Limited wifi access - if you want a place with all mod cons this isn't it.

The breakfast was very good and we also booked the restaurant for a lunchtime meal on a subsequent visit to Kandy and found that to be excellent too; good value for money. As with many places in Sri Lanka the local dishes were far superior to the attempts at Western food - why would you want to eat anything else when in Sri Lanka though?

The final sentence on Queens? An adorable place full of affordable old world charm but in much need of some modern touches to meet the expectations of 21st Century customers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveldoctor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for updating your comment feedback us on Trip Adviser. We will getting touch with your new modern ideas what you have indicated on your comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 56 in Kandy
1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#25 of 56 in Kandy
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#37 of 56 in Kandy
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $57 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing