We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm - not on my favourite list.”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location is good and its a budget friendly hotel with a little old world charm left over but thats kind of it. You do get what you pay for.

NO internet except in the lobby.

Don't get the rooms in the front of the hotel - it's very noisy - and our room was quite small and not that clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for updating your comment us on Trip Adviser and your comment is highly appreciated by our management. We will be definitely attained into your comments, what you have written about Internet Access and Room Cleanness. Thank you very much for your feedback on us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a lovely time at this beautiful hotel. Our room was on the noisy side but the views made up for this. Staff were wonderfully friendly and the tradition of the hotel lives on through their attention to customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Adviser and your comment is highly appreciated by the management. We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.queens.@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I love this old lady. Stayed there last year . She is a bit tired but oozes class. Great central location and value for money. My room was comfy, huge, clean and from an era that I recall with fondness. The restaurant/food etc is average but the staff are friendly so that makes the difference. I was checking out and leaving to catch the 0615 train to CMB and they do a great boxed breakfast for those early starts. Its a grand old 3 star property and lest hope it stays that way for a few more years.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Adviser and your comment is highly appreciated by the management. We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.queens.@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Great value when you get a reasonable rate. Street-facing room was a bit noisy and bathroom is outdated, but otherwise great for the price. Can't beat the location - walked across the street to the lake and shrine.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank lespricetips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for updating your comment us on Trip Adviser and your comment is highly appreciated by our management. Honestly we would like to apologize for the noisy and bathroom is outdated.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The history and furnishings of the colonial style building was a real highlight. the hotel is in a great location, we got up early and walked around the lake with the locals and were close to several sights. In general rooms were average but clean and good air conditioning.
The tour desk was helpful and the pool was lovely, some more gardening would have made the pool area more attractive.
We were fortunate to see a Sri Lankian wedding in the spectacular lobby and the staff we helpful with explaining the tradition.
We enjoyed Asian side of the buffet breakfast.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TnTinTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Adviser and your comment is highly appreciated by the management. We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.queens.@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Queens is a heritage hotel with great character and charm. It is well priced, has a lovely pool, bar area/ lounge and dining area. Offers buffet breakfast and dinner and we regretted not staying and eating dinner at the hotel. Excellent location for visiting the Temple of the Tooth, cultural show, lake and local market. Rooms on higher floors overlooking pool are best. These rooms will have higher numbers. For example 104-106 better than 101-102. But 204-206 better than 104-106. Lift/ elevator is from another era and charming.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors overlooking pool are best. These rooms will have higher numbers. For example...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for comment us on Trip Adviser website and also we highly appreciated your feedback by the management. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Please feel free contact us on reservations.queens.@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You,

Warm Regards,

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights and after so many issues we decided to go somewhere else. I felt the hotel is overpriced for what you get. It's a very old hotel, doesn't smell very good, and the ameneties are very basic.

Hot water was not available at first. Had to call front desk to send someone to look at it and wait around 30 minutes before it was fixed. Can be kinda furstrating after travelling one full day and you just want to relax.

Next we went out for sightseeing and handed over the keys to housekeeping and we informed them we would be back in the evenning and would like our room to be cleaned. When we returned they handed us the key and once we got up to our room we discovered they had not done anything. They had not even entered our rooms. Very unprofessional. We called front desk again and they sent housekeeping at 8:00 in the evenning. After a long day out the last thing we wanted was to sit and watch our room be cleaned.

Also our AC just stopped working but it was fixed promptly. Security guard tried to correct my husband in the way he was sitting.I found that very rude as his job is not to teach people manners.

Anyway for the price you pay it's not worth it. Breakfast is very basic and not impressive. They don't have room service after 23:00 hrs.

The only good thing about this hotel was the waiter during dinner. I forgot my Iphone and he actually came to my room to return it. He was always smiling and very kind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tati_Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#36 of 57 in Kandy
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#23 of 57 in Kandy
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $74 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing