We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor Management”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Buffet was good but not much else. If you want to relax and have a drink by the pool forget it. Very few loungers and chairs and those that were there were so dirty there were ant nests in them. No staff around for towels and after walking to the bar to get our own drinks there was noone there either to serve during the afternoon. The manager was actually in the bar when we were trying to get drinks but he didn't know where the barman was either no did he bother to try and find out - just said take a seat and maybe he will be back soon - we were in our swimming costumes. We stayed at four other hotels in Sri Lanka and all except this one were phenominal. We stayed here thirty years ago and it was amazing - so sad - we wont be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    383
    329
    120
    92
See reviews for
263
384
102
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shinjuku, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I don't know what all the fuss is about. I almost didn't stay here because of reviews on trip advisor.
The staff were friendly smiling and helpful.
It cost $80 walk in rate which for the glamorous old world room I got was a bargain.
Electricity worked, there was wifi in the room and had no problems with hot water service.
Breakfast was a large selection of western and there was also traditional Sri Lankan breakfast options.
To stay in one of these old colonial hotels in another country would cost a fortune. I thought it was an awesome experience and wish I could have stated longer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinginasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a high class hotel, an amazing colonial time-piece. We had a clean, spacious and airy room overlooking the swimming pool at the back, which cut out the street noise and the 5 a.m. wake-up call from the temple. Tea-making facilities, TV and fan and air-con were all very welcome. The restaurant was magnificent, and the food lovely - the chef carved works of art out of watermelons and pumpkins. The staff were all very attentive. At $95 for the night it was the priciest hotel we stayed at, but worth the price for a night of relative luxury to end our Sri Lankan holiday

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs at the back are much less noisy than those at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3days at the end of March. Unfortunately we were put in a room at the front of the hotel which was very noisy - it starts at around 4am with the birds and carries on from chanting at the Mosque next door and then the traffic. The room and bathroom was very dated. However we had a superb buffet evening there and breakfast was good also.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue657w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. Our driver managed to get us booked in here at very short notice after we could not find the B&B we had booked into. The reception staff were not particularly friendly.
The room was quite large, but not completely clean. I managed to have a shower when we arrived, but when my husband got in the water stopped working altogether. When we told reception the dismissed it with 'it is being fixed' without even asking for our room number. The sink was also falling off the wall.
We had not eaten all day so when we went down for dinner anything was welcome, but on reflection the food was not great. There were bones in the chicken and the fish was rather tough. The breakfast was OK, but my husbands plate was whipped out from under him before he had finished-there was literally half a plate of food left-he was pausing for a drink.
The saving grace of this hotel is it's location for the temple of the tooth-just across the road.
We did not think that this was worth $90 per night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is situated next to the lake in Kandy opposite Temple of the Tooth. The hotel its self was beautiful. Unfortunately the rooms were tired, the bathrooms especially. The pool was lovely as was the garden, however in trying to keep it tidy the pool guy kept sweeping the petals all day, even in between our chairs and table when we were sat. In the evening amongst the buffet (which i wouldn't usually go for) was the most amazing Sri Lankan curry! The service here was also great!
The room we were in was on the main road. The windows/doors didn't close properly and there were big gaps around the outside. This lead to a very noisy nights sleep, with the all night hooting of car/bus horns!

Room Tip: Try for one of the few rooms away from the road!!! (if there are any) Or take ear plugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

PROS - Beautiful, old colonial building, attentive & helpful staff, location is directly beside the Temple of the Tooth and across from the lake. Pool was a fantastic bonus at the end of a hot day - opens to a small lounge/bar. Awesome buffet breakfast!

CONS - Needs updating, a bit dingy for $90 +/night, bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper with traffic. Beers/food at the lounge are very overpriced. One night, the room above us must have had a bath and let it overflow - it leaked down into our room. The staff were quick to attend, but not a great find!

All in all, fine. Also, there is a concierge/travel agent at the very front (beside the restaurant) - tours to sigiryia, etc. If you turn down the small hall beside the reception desk, towards the "ballroom" there is another small travel agent/desk here - they were substantially cheaper for the same service!! We used them and had a fabulous experience (and saved $$).

Room Tip: The rooms with a "balcony" are standing room only and lead to the very busy/loud street. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ky_the_canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 55 in Kandy
1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#23 of 55 in Kandy
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#43 of 55 in Kandy
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Property: Queens Hotel Kandy
Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing