We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, nice lobby, no hot water?”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Central location extremely good. Large pool, helpful staff and antique lobby good. Hardwood floor rooms are quite noisy, hot water only works some hours of the day, leaky taps and no bathroom ventilation, loud music from function rooms, no safe, no bar drinks... Lucky that location is so handy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrodimusprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Queen's Hotel is an extraordinary hotel located in the best possible location in Kandy. Right on the lake, perfect for walking the city, walking around the lake, some great local restaurants, a few typical tourist pubs, a grocery store and a pile of other things. Located directly across the street from the Temple of the Tooth Relic - one of the main reasons to be in Kandy. Behind that is the museum and behind that the historic cemetery.

It has a cool pool in the centre, a funny old lobby with a piano player playing odd show tunes and a pretty ordinary breakfast. The rooms are spread over a block it seems and are perfectly clean and quiet. The floors throughout are waxed and wonderful. The beds are pretty hard and uncomfortable and you can just tell that the hotel is in desperate need of some fresh capital. Everything is old - really old. But perfectly clean and engaging.

We had a room that seemed like a mile from the front desk, we opened the curtains and bingo... "we got monkeys". Yup, do NOT open the windows when you have monkeys looking back at you. Also, when we were walking to our room we seemed to collect porters who just followed us to the room. I guess it was a tip thing! We thought it was pretty funny - but it was a little wrong. I mean, we carried our own luggage!

Our room was $100 a night - and that seemed pretty reasonable as we checked out a couple of other hotels first and some were considerably more. And frankly, it was great to be located in the heart of the action.

The wifi is in the lobby only - and only modestly good. But it works. If you walk out the front door and turn left, you will find a cool local place right across from - well, the Pizza Hut. At this local spot, meals are local, awesome and truly inexpensive - just a few dollars.

This hotel is a bit tired but amazing. A wonderful historic elevator in the centre of the lobby and just plain entertaining. As I said, the beds are uncomfortable and we did have to ask for a blanket and two extra pillows - you get just the bare minimum. But we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Large hotel in the middle of kandy and opposite a lake with temple of the tooth around the corner!
Room was clean and spacious with a kettle which was a bonus.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast- varied and good service.
Tour operator was situated in the foyer and was helpful for advice when booking hotels and tours.
Only disadvantage was the chanting and traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenaAndjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

For the price, there's not much you can get mad at with the Queen's Hotel. The ambience and the old-world charm more than cover the 20years thats gone by without a decent reno or change. The entire top floor is closed off, but all amenities are there. Best of all, the staff are great and do their jobs very well. They seem to be managed well, so credit there. Location can't be faulted either.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel teems in it's atmosphere of colonial heritage. In the centre of town next to the lake and the Sacred Tooth temple (whose chanting in the morning dispenses for the need for an alarm clock - as does the traffic). Expansive communal areas, wood and more wood, a great bar and a very good swimming pool. The rooms are large - mine with small twin beds - and perfectly adequate shower, AC etc. But luxury it is not. The place has a feel of bygone time, and the charming staff too. Fun for a night or two but probably not a hotel for a prolonged stay. Enjoy it while you can.

Room Tip: Mine (224) overlooked the temple and corner for traffic - best avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice colonial style hotel in the heart of Kandy with short distances to almost eveything.

Good range of breakfast foods with an ok quality too. Atmospheric bar, lobby, elevator, etc.

Only really two draw backs which are small rooms and the time it takes for the hot water to become present.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libenholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed in queens hotel just before Christmas. Charming, slightly run down, classy place with large bedrooms and bathrooms and a very cool old style bar. Its not super luxe but atmospheric and comfy. There is also a fabulous old bar next to the hotel I think one attached to it but now independently run. Worth checking

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chiki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 56 in Kandy
1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#25 of 56 in Kandy
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#37 of 56 in Kandy
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $57 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing