We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Old Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Charming Old Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here and enjoyed the charm of this very olf hotel. The sleeping rooms are small but the historic nature (150+ years old) of the hotel made it worthwhile. Has a large resturant and bar. There are many shops just outside the hotel and the lark is across the street for a scenic walk. We found the staff helpful and accomodating.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool rather than the street for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacrosse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    367
    310
    112
    91
See reviews for
242
366
97
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the queens hotel for 2 nights and had made a booking in advance from our previous guesthouse on the telephone. When we arrived, they had not made the booking which although a minor inconvenience was no big deal. We were the asked to pay upfront which was a little strange and slightly insulting, given we had provided our passport details and had supposedly made a reservation.

The hotel itself is a lovely old colonial building and had a great charm. The lobby was clean and welcoming and had a lovely old staircase. The rooms were very clean with a tv and bathroom with great shower and hot water. The only downside was the noise from the main road. All the rooms at the front faced the road and noise is a big issue. It was very heavy traffic from dawn till dusk, constant beeping of horns, lorries overtaking etc. it became an issue when trying to sleep and also made the balcony virtually unusable during the day. We were also woken by the Buddhist prayer chanting call at dawn but can't really blame the hotel for that.

The rest of the hotel is very clean and what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Nice bar area outside pool, which we didn't use, with lovely seating area surrounding.

Breakfast was outstanding with a selection of continental and Sri Lankan dishes and a full cooked breakfast plus fish curry etc, all served with tea coffee and orange juice and a beautiful fruit display and omelet station. Wonderful.

Staff were very friendly as you would expect.

All in all, a great stay, just a shame about the booking issue and the noise at the front. If at all possible, ask for the rooms at the rear.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms at the front which overlook the road. Constant traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbrudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel.
This is a very nice colonial building, very good located, just in front of the tooth temple.
Nice swimming pool. Sympathetic stuff.

Only problem was the room. Windows can't be completely closed and as it is really in the center, in the morning after 8am it was really noisy.
Also the bathroom need some reparation.

There is wi-fi only in the lobby. I know that is not to complicated or expensive to put a router in the restaurant or the pool area or at the floor with rooms.

I don't regret staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the Queens Hotel in the recent T20 World Cup. If you are aware of the type of hotel, you will have a great time. The hotel is an old colonial hotel, going back to Victorian times. It is steeped in history and is brimful of character and times gone by. However, it is obviously not a brand new hotel.

The rooms are somewhat spartan although all your basic needs are there. Note that Wi-fi can only be obtained in the hotel lobby.

Personally, I found that any loss of modern amenity was more than compensated by the character of the hotel. The hotel bar is old and traditional, but seems to attract and eclectic mix of people which meant I’d a couple of excellent nights in here. If you enjoy the creak of the wooden floorboards, inspecting old time photographs and generally embracing the old-world charm, you’ll enjoy here.

I found the breakfast ( included in the rate ) as very good with a wide selection of Western and local dishes. The staff were always friendly and pleasant. For location, next to Kandy Lake, it is hard to surpass.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helensburgh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

A classic hotel in the city centre of Kandy. Because the fact Queens is in the city I choose it and also that I like classic hotels.The room I got was better than expected. The price is moderate. However the staff needs a service course and that's including the rather rude security personnel at the entrance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Queens hotel is centrally located and ideal to visit The Temple of the Sacred Tooth.
The lobby area is very impressive with a beautiful sweeping staircase, grand furniture and attractive flower decorations. The bedrooms are large with high ceilings, good bedlinen and towels and lots of hot water. Buffet breakfast had an extensive choice. Only negative was the noise of the traffic made worse by the ill fitting windows. We would return and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check if you are going to be able to hear the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel's location is great, being just at the door of the tooth temple, and many good restaurants nearby. Views from hotel are good, and the pool is very nice.

Rooms are extremely old and bathroom is small. My room's A/C was on but was acting like a fan (I did set the modes correctly if you are wondering). The bed is comfortable, but this is far from being a luxurious hotel.

We booked online on the same day, and the hotel when we arrived told us they were fully booked, and we had to wait for some of their rooms to be cleaned. So you better make a call and check if they got your booking when you are in Sri Lanka as they hotel is not linked online with the companies that handle their bookings it seems.

Room Tip: As soon as you get the keys to your room, check the A/C, it may not be functional. if It is not func...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YZNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#20 of 53 in Kandy
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 53 in Kandy
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#43 of 53 in Kandy
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Dalada Street | Central, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing