We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel at best location”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Panchkula, India
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel at best location”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed for a night at Queens Hotel & found it value for money. Its Excellent location, courteous staff and good food win my heart. I am India's best Ramayana tour operator and i will definatly add this hotel in my all future group tours.

Though free WiFi is limited to lobby only but still this is nice & peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satish R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    383
    329
    120
    92
See reviews for
263
384
102
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Queen's Hotel was inaugurated in 1844, many important guests have passed through their rooms. The location is perfect in next to the Temple of the Tooth, in front of the lake.  The Bar, lobby, ball room, restaurant, lift are all as were  80 or 90 years ago!  And the room also!  (The hotel require urgently to be restored).  The furniture, equipment etc are all very very old.  It is an experience to be there... Do not expect a new luxury hotel, but a very different place.   The hotel has a small museum. The monks in the nearby temple start praying very early... Expect to be wake up by the early prayings .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mxmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

With a strategic location in the center of town there is easy access to the sights in town- Tooth Relic temple, lake, food locations etc

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Asked for a quiet room- got one over the busy intersection. Expect loud, loud traffic at night and them starts again at 6:00am. Really disappointed that despite great location and exterior, there was just no care in the room that hasn't been upgraded since 1901- except for a aircon stuck above the bed ( which dripped water coincidently on your head all night- hubby moved the bed at 3:00am). Bathroom- peeling paint, old, shower curtain that was useless.

The thing that really, really bothered me was their attached tour/ taxi guy Royce tours who charged double what everyone else did. At no time did the hotel indicate there were other options eg. Where all the other companies were.

All in all wished we had paid US$30 more to go ? Almaya hill or something.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HateBeingConned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The following points should give readers a fair assessment of this establishment.

Overall:
The Queens is a beautiful Victorian building opposite the Temple of the tooth in central Kandy town. It offers the best seats in the house for The Kandy Perahera (August) pageant and prices increase significantly during the period.

Accommodation:
It is shabby, rundown and dirty. I spent a couple of minutes walking barefoot in the tiled bedroom (201) and when I stepped onto the wet shower floor I left black footprints.
The furniture in the room is dilapidated and grubby. The bed was on wheels and scooted all over the floor. I had to contact reception twice before it was sorted out.
The shower itself is pokey and the door couldn't close. The unit is a hand shower with a thin plastic pipe which got so hot my wife burnt herself on it.
The drains inside the bathroom gave off a particularly unpleasant odor.

Meals:
So-so. The dining room was a magnificent room in its day. Now it is just plain seedy.

Service:
Friendly.

Overall:
This is not a cheap hotel and you won't get value for your money. The owners/management clearly do not believe in investing anything into the property and one gets the feeling that they are milking this once beautiful old lady for ever dollar she can deliver. Its quite astonishing that the Galle Face Hotel in Colombo is managed by the same company.

Opinion:
A sense of colonial old world charm and a prime location are all you get here. One also has to wonder why the hotel is so reluctant to defend or excuse the generally poor write-ups on trip advisor. Could it be that it simply doesn't care? We wouldn't consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Street facing is the better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ericefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This was my second visit in three years and what a disappointment, I had asked for a better room than last time and was assured the room was beautiful, it was nothing of the kind. Old tired furniture, cracked walls, generally shabby.
The hotel is approx 140 yrs old so management have tried a little to keep the tradition going, the reception hall is impressive a large room with a central table with flowers and a grand piano.

The food was good, we had an evening meal poolside which was rather nice, the two chef's were very good.

The following morning we ordered a tray of tea via room service as all the tea bags in the room were broken, I telephoned again after 25mins and was assured the tea would be delivered in five minutes, after 45 minutes the knock at the door with the tea, I sent him away I was disgusted to wait 45 mins for a tray of tea.

Booking the Queens was not my first choice the hotel I would have used was fully booked, I will only use the Queens again as my only alternative.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilsmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The fact that it is a historic building made this hotel has it own charm. The room rate is not cheap per Sri Lanka standard and also not compatible with the room condition/services that you would expect with that rate, but still, worth to try this hotel. Though, the hotel staffs speak good english.

Pro: Free wifi but only at lobby area. Room is clean though a bit run down. Location is superb, right in city center and all shopping area and pizza hut/KFC either right opposite or walking distance. The Buddha tooth relic temple & Kandy lake are right opposite too. There is a swimming pool in the hotel, good size to dip in.
Con: As mentioned by other review, most probably you will wake up at 5am, due to the ceremony in the temple, also by the traffic noise. You may avoid if you go for room opposite those facing roadside, but you don't get the view then.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room if you hate the smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 55 in Kandy
1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 55 in Kandy
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#43 of 55 in Kandy
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Property: Queens Hotel Kandy
Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing