We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #11 of 388 Kandy B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I went to Sri Lanka on honeymoon and took a small tour of the island, this took us away from our main hotel for an evening. The hotel which we stopped at was booked by the tour company, Hotel Topaz.
Hotel Topaz is set up high in the hills with excellent views over Kandy but this is one of the only highlights of the hotel along with pleasant staff.
It appeared the the hotel was under going a refit whilst we stayed there so out room was a mismatch of old and new and not to my personal taste.
Dinner in the restaurant was in a buffet style again not to my taste and the food was a mixture from different continents, which didn't appear to go together. Also while we were eating there were lizards running across the ceiling I guess due to a window being open and it being cooler in the hotel.
I feel my views on this hotel were skewed due to the rest of my stay being at the fantastic Fortress on Koggala Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz and for your kind review.
We are pleased you had a good stay and appreciate your feedback on our unique location with the outstanding view from your room we've provided,also noted your comments regard to food etc and we shall look into them and hope you will stay with us again when you visit Sri Lanka next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    320
    145
    51
    35
See reviews for
152
327
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here as part of the Ceylon Tour. Reception staff were very pleasant, but in our experience the restaurant staff were not as friendly as staff in other hotels on our tour. Hotel was being upgraded in areas of the hotel although this didn't directly affect us. The room was clean and quite smart looking. The bathroom was rather small but sufficient. The hairdryer provided was a little dodgy, with the bare wires hanging out. Luckily I had my own with me.
The restaurant was ok, the food was luke warm and we were sat at a table which had a lovely view but the sun was strong in the morning and very hot streaming in the windows. There were some curtains to close as it was a little uncomfortable but unfortunately there was enough curtains for the amount of windows. This made it quite uncomfortable to sit and enjoy breakfast. Staff werent as friendly as they could have been.
Not sure I would return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz37y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz and for your feedback.
We regret to note you did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel and apologize sincerely for the inconveniences caused to you. In the meantime, we assure you that are looking into the mentioned issues and will take corrective action.
We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from staying with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Topaz is located at a very scenic point of the beautiful country of Sri lanka. The people and the beauty are so pleasantly surprising. Had a wonderful time at the hotel. The staff is courteous and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean. Highly recommended for ppl traveling to Kandy. Just one suggestion, kindly expand your menu to include more Indian and other asian food. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Abha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on this forum.It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to deliver an impeccable holiday experience to your family as this is what we are here for and this is what we love doing.
Thank you for your positive comments in regards to the hotel service and facilities. Our target is to satisfy our all guests’ needs and to exceed guests’ expectations whenever possible and give away everlasting memories.We all look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Topaz as a repeat family.thank you once again for the high recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

After having had a very tiring day we were enjoying the hotel bar and terrace with a very nice view, breakfast was also full of choice. Hotel staff was so friendly and helpfull, when we arrived to hotel they made us get rest for a while then proceeded our registration. We were able to chose among available rooms to have the one that had the best city view. We recommend this hotel to the ones who are to drop in Kandy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serkan-Shalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for a most wonderful and encouraging review about your stay at Hotel Topaz. It is fantastic knowing that your experience with us has been a memorable one.
Our greatest endeavor is to make your stay with us relaxing, luxurious and memorable, and we take great care to understand each and every need, so that your stay with us is hassle free and you can simply relax within the atmosphere where we are located with convieniently provided facilities & amenities.
Thank you for your recommendation of us to other travelers, and we look forward to the day when we will be able to meet you again at Hotel Topaz for yet another great experience of true hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

stayed at this hotel end of february it is perched on a hill and has stunning views over kandy there was building work going on upgrading the hotel it didnt affect our stay however not as pleasing to the eye as it may have been we stayed in one of there upgraded rooms which was perfectly accepatablel there is a good range of food so there will be something for everyone the staff are attentive and friendly

Room Tip: ideally you want a room as high as you can get as i said the views are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 130campbell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear 130campbell11,
Thank you for a lovely review of your recent experience at Hotel Topaz.
It is wonderful to note that you have had a great time with us,Thank you for some lovely comments with regard to the couteous & attentive service our associates were able to provide you whilst enjoying the atmosphere with a unique view and the meals on offer.
We would love nothing better than to see you again at Hotel Topaz, so please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Lovely welcome at this hotel. Room was fine with an amazing view, it was clean and spacious with modern decor(unfinished NO!!!!! Modern). Our safe wouldn't open, it was sorted within 2 mins. The bar staff and restaurant staff were quick, kind and courteous .
14th Feb, food was fabulous, however the barbecue on the roof the next night didn't quite work, the chefs struggled to keep the fires alight, this made it a little noisy and fumey.
Overall a good stay without the barbecue.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JOJO_1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate very much the sentiments expressed regarding our staff and how pleasant your stays have been at Hotel Topaz. We are happy that you indulged in our facilities, enjoying great hospitality and had a great time. We do hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the country. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
742 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

It seems that many hotels in Sri Lanka haven't been updated since the 70s or 80s presumably because of the impact of the civil way. This was one of the better ones that I stayed out with pleasant rooms and a delightful outlook over the hills and the town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your encouraging review of Hotel Topaz. We are delighted that you had an awesome experience relaxing in our superb atmosphere and consider our hotel as simply excellent. We appreciate your kind sentiments and look forward to welcoming you again soon. We value your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,032 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#18 of 54 in Kandy
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Property: Hotel Topaz
Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 388 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing