We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sri Lanka Tour - Day 1”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #13 of 367 Kandy B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sri Lanka Tour - Day 1”
Reviewed June 30, 2008

As part of a 4 day tour of Sri Lanka the Hotel was where we stayed when visiting Kandy. Kandy the City is much fresher and greener than Colombo and less busy.

After a long drive from Colombo, stopping to ride elephants and see the traditional dance we arrived at the Hotel Topaz in the evening.

The Hotel was clean and fresh, and on arrival we were greeted with a cold drink and fast speedy service.

Unfortunately we only spent one night here, arriving at 2000 and leaving again at 0800. But in that short time we were there I can say the Hotel was lovely.

The rooms are large and fresh, equipped with A/C, TV and Tea/Coffee facilities.

The Food in the evening was a buffet and of good quality and similarly for Breakfast in the morning.

The pool looked amazing but unfortunately we didn’t get a chance to try it out.

The location up in the hills above Kandy gives it the stunning views but if you wanted to stay somewhere close to the city centre then this isn't the place for you.

Overall 7/10. Clean, friendly, great views.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable, great views, swimming pool
  • Disliked — not getting to us the swimming pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish_exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    315
    142
    50
    35
See reviews for
146
317
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Topaz for 2 nights as part of the First Choice Discover Sri Lanka tour.

We were only around the hotel in the early mornings and evenings, as our tour had quite a heavy schedule, so we didn't get to use the pool etc.

We found the rooms to be fairly comfortable, although we didn't favour this hotel nearly as much as Hotel Sigiriya, which we had stayed in for the previous 3 nights.

The buffet was substantial, with Sri Lankan curries as well as more western options - they even had mini-pizzas and potato wedges one night!
As per most of the hotels we stayed in, their buffet dessert table was gorgeous with so many puddings to choose from - so much that we had a bit of everything ;)

The hotel room was OK but not amazing - the shower for example wasn't very powerful which made it hard to get properly clean, and the air-con made a rattling noise

Best bit at this hotel was the food, although the communal areas incl. reception and shops were very clean and ornate.

There was a hilarious entertainment man, on his casio keyboard most nights, which made us giggle

  • Liked — Great buffet food
  • Disliked — The hotel room was fairly basic, shower wasn't too powerful & air-con rattled
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wem shropshire,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour ( thank goodness only one night ) very basic room and was not very clean , nice views from room and bar , food was average , didn`t use swimming pool it looked gastly , it was a hotel used by the masses in large coach trips and not what we had expected on a individual tour ,we were dissapointed with Hayes and Jarvis for reccomending it as it appears there are lots of better places locally .

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrid16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

The views from this hotel are 360 degrees and superb in every way, whilst the place is a bit dated this in no way detracts from the pleasure of staying here although I don't recommend it for a stay of more than a day or two as the swimming pool and outdoor facilities are a bit limited and are remote from the hotel itself.
We met the Chef Trevor Baines, the Head Chef I think and he provides some really nice things including a very nice waiter served lunch. Other than that it's buffets but all home cooked, great curries and some real gems like Queen of Puddings and Bread & Butter Pudding. Well done Trevor!

  • Liked — Fantastic Views
  • Disliked — Pool is too far from Hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steadyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights during our Discover Sri Lanka tour and thought it was a lovely hotel. The rooms were nice and clean and the views were spectacular looking out over the whole of Kandy. The selection of food in the restaurant was brilliant and of very good quality. The staff were friendly and polite. A lovely stay!

  • Liked — Views of Kandy
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kandy
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
686 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Property: Hotel Topaz
Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 367 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing