We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Topaz
Nearby Hotels
$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$64
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$96
$40
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
$216
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveler rating
179
383
164
54
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
383
164
54
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightgem shopsister hotelsri lankarecommend this hotelhill topgreat viewhotel is locatedrestaurant staffbuffet stylelovely hotelthird floorkandy citybuffet dinnershort stayour honeymoonstayed here for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 817 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst touring. The public areas are fine and very contemporary. Reception and the restaurants were very modern. The food was good - we had a BBQ on the roof first night and a buffet in the restaurant second night. This was the only hotel where we had real bacon at breakfast! The hotel is situated on the tip of a big hill with terrific views all round but it would be difficult to go out without transport. The main problem we had was with the rooms. We were on the first floor and the rooms were very scruffy and in need of complete refurbishment. They were not dirty but because they were so old they looked it. Later in our tour we spoke to some people who had stayed at the Topaz and said their rooms on another floor were lovely. Maybe they will get around to the first floor soon. If they do I would give this hotel four marks.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms above floor 1 with a mountain view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessies_Grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We didnot stay here on this visit but did visit for lunch. What a welcome! its if they remembered us from before. Its well worth a drive up the hill not by tut tut ! to enjoy the views and have one of the best meals we had on our trip . It was so well cooked a change from buffet, and when we checked the bill we were so surprised. When we return again we will be staying here . The hotel is having a make over so it will be perfect - great views, good food and a really warm welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Average hotel with very poor service. Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. Would not choose this hotel if traveling independently as it is too far out of the city to see the sights and explore on your own. Rooms were very average and in need of updating. Bathroom was small and poky. Spa services were very poor - paid for a 60 minute massage and got 40 minutes. Complained to the guest Relations Manager who did nothing until it was time to check out and our tour guide intervened and got me a discount. The bar service was terrible. I sat in the bar area to use my computer and despite beckoning the waiter 3 times could not get a drink. VERY disappointed and would not recommend to fellow travelers

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on a roundtrip Sri Lanka. The room´s are small, not good cleaned and the furniture and beds are really old. From the colour of the pillow and bed sheeds you can see it have been used many years. There may be a good view from the hotel if it is clear weather, we had a room with road view, so no good views to us.
We will take another hotel in Kandy if we are coming back.
The food was ok but nothing speciel.
They may think Hotel Topaz are 3 star.
I think Hotel Topaz are 2 star, 1 in the morning and 1 in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Topaz for one night when we visited Kandy on January 30th.
We were given a wonderful welcome by the staff and although the room and bathroom needed a bit of updating, we were happy to stay for just one night.
We had travelled from Kalutara with some friends and were very impressed by the wonderful views from the restaurant and bar areas.
We had dinner and breakfast included in our package and both were good, but I do make one suggestion is that instead of serving tea from a jug, why not have small teapots as the tea was rather stewed.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Topaz and only wish that we had more time to use the swimming pool and other facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews