We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chef but terrible hotel”
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #6 of 462 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Executive Chef of this hotel is wonderful.
However given my experience with the front office I will NEVER stay here again.
Our rooms were booked by a very reputed travel agent the day before we checked in uneventfully. However at check out the next day, the front desk said that they had not received the payment from the travel agent and wanted us to stay there until they "talked" to the travel agent. My position is that they should have told me when I checked in, not when I was checking out. Their contract was with the travel agent and not with me. I had an important religious appointment at the main temple in Kandy, so I gave them my business card and said to call me if there was a problem. When I left they tried to detain my vehicle which is unlawfull confinement and a criminal act. With hindsight I should have called 119 (the Sri Lankan 911.) Subsequently they insulted me in front of other guests by asking me to leave all my bags behind (a family of six!) until they received payment. Finally I called the travel agent myself and left while they were talking. The Manager of the Front Office called me 12 hours later and apologised. However there are so many good hotels in Kandy that I have stayed at such as Hilltop, Mahaweli Reach, Earls Regency, Amaya Hills that I strongly recommend that this hotel - Topaz, be avoided.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumedhaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 758 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel during our way to Nuwara Eliya..we had very difficulties to find this hotel..very bad road and cant move two vehicles at once. hotel room what has given is not very bad..clean and well arranged. once i have gone through the other reviews here i have noticed that most of the locals complaining about this hotel. yes they are not treating well enough for the locals. but i love this hotel and this is such a wonderful hotels in Kandy..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed one night at Hotel Topaz & it was terrible. The room they gave us was full of dust & the bed covers were uncleaned. We couldn't go tot he balcony as they have blocked the door. Immediately we asked for a room change and the second room was ok.

My advice is, please do not stay here. It spoils your day and the money. The hotel charges was expensive but the service is very poor. The road is very complicated and very isolated. It was so difficult to find the roads specially at night.

Location is quite good. Food & the staff in the restaurant is excellent. Reception was also very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Duminda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

very popular with tour groups it seems and higher prices for food and beer than elsewhere in SL reflected this. However the room was ok especially after having stayed at a couple of roughies earlier in tour so probably had a better impact than it deserved. Actually had real bacon at breakfast. Wifi at cost.
always made a rule of nuking my rooms with mortein after my first night in SL and using fans where available and aircon so didnt get bitten here.
Nice view from up high above Kandy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcb5022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Was a horrid stay here ... I live close by and stayed there tow days and one night .. door had no lock when this was flagged they came and checked abut three people then they agreed there is a problem an didn't even move us to another room... not at all flexible

Very bad experience and decided never to recommend this place to any one I know

Not clean no attention to detail, cranky bed

Room Tip: Please don't visit... very bad customer care and was a horrible place.. no door lock in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanishka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

During an overnight stay in this beautiful hotel (I reckon it would be listed a 5 star establishment in the UK), I enjoyed great views over the valley and other delights, including even a man doing his washing in the river. Food was great and staff were more than just friendly and co-operative. This was all arranged by travel firm Aitken Spence Travels of Colombo.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevandHighErcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Topaz is on a hill top & has amazing view of Kandy . Staff are attentive & willing to help . Breakfast was OK.
The rooms & bathrooms are clean , but there's so much room for improvement .
Wanted to visit the spa but the staff informed that it is closed .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TsheringBhutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#22 of 57 in Kandy
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
852 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,395 reviews
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $74 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing