We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Kandy”
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #6 of 442 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2012

During an overnight stay in this beautiful hotel (I reckon it would be listed a 5 star establishment in the UK), I enjoyed great views over the valley and other delights, including even a man doing his washing in the river. Food was great and staff were more than just friendly and co-operative. This was all arranged by travel firm Aitken Spence Travels of Colombo.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevandHighErcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Topaz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 724 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Topaz is on a hill top & has amazing view of Kandy . Staff are attentive & willing to help . Breakfast was OK.
The rooms & bathrooms are clean , but there's so much room for improvement .
Wanted to visit the spa but the staff informed that it is closed .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TsheringBhutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is located on top of a hill overlooking Kandy giving beautiful views both day and night. It was a hotel used by our Tour organisers Diethelm Travel, who put together a fantastic 4 day tour of Sri Lanka for us incorporating all the necessary wonderful sights of Sri Lanka, staying 2 nights at Chaaya Village Habaraner and one night at this hotel. I can’t sing their praises high enough as they gave us our wonderful driver Anura who was so knowledgeable about everything, so passionate about his country, spoke beautiful English and was a really lovely gentle gracious man, who went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our time in Sri Lanka. Their contact details are www.diethelmtravel.com and if you are interested, email Pradeepa to put together a 4 day trip for you.

Hotel Topaz had obviously seen better days and was a little tired around the edges, however, we thoroughly enjoyed our one night at this lovely hotel in a lovely large room very nicely appointed on the sunny side of the hotel with a balcony overlooking Kandy. They have a very nice Jewellery shop on site in the reception area, which is very popular. I had some white Sapphire earrings made up which are really lovely.

The food and the restaurant area was totally acceptable and seemed to cover for most tastes.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Topaz.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triptrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Staying at the Hotel Topaz was one of the most memorable experiences of our tour to Sri Lanka. The location of the hotel on top a mountain is astounding - the views are breathtaking! Our balcony was overlooking lush green mountains with clouds floating along at our level.
The service at the reception was very warm and welcoming. We weren't in our room for 5 minutes before someone came along with a basket of fresh fruit. The housekeeping staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was clean but the bed wasn't very comfortable.
We got to the dinner buffet half an hour early but the staff at the restaurant quickly accommodated us and opened the buffet 15 minutes early. As it had rained earlier, they didn't set up the dinner tables on the balcony but when we expressed our desire to eat outdoors, they quickly set up our table. The food was DELICIOUS and the staff were extremely friendly and hospitable! When we left dinner, we forgot our bottle of water and 2 minutes later, the manager on duty brought it down to us.
Breakfast the next day was equally pleasurable. I wish we had stayed longer than 1 night. I can't commend enough the service we received at the hotel. The staff at Hotel Topaz really outdid the meaning of service and if we're ever in Kandy again, there's only one place where we will stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I used to stay here regularly in 2007-08 and so I chose this in my recent trip to Kandy. Location is just perfect though driving up that hill is nothing less than finding way thru the maze. The hotel should spend a bit more on giving road signs.
Rooms have become shabby and hotel badly needs renovation. Food quality and spread is still very good though. Reception and dining area are still in good condition and view from the dining room is splendid.
Service is very good and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front door are much better than those towards the back side (room number should be...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Situated atop a hill it gives you breathtaking views and a serene atmosphere. The Resturant and the attached rooftop Resturant provide excellent food along with a pleasant ambience. Have some space in your tummy for desserts , yummy! The staff were very friendly too. Rooms werent that sophicatsed but we're clean and comfy. Geographically though it's location was fine , with a cab we were able to reach major locations in a less than 15 mins.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manickkam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Topaz as part of a package tour. This was a sustitute hotel, due to the Chaaya Citadel being closed for refurbishment. As soon as you walk into Topaz reception you realize that the place feels very '60's. It has the atmosphere of an Eastern European hotel which has undergone 'limited' post-communist refurbishment. The bar area is as smart as it gets, but the staff are surly. The bedrooms are very dated in appearance, with ensuite bathrooms which are tiny - recently fitted replacement taps and shower fittings are the only evidence of refurbishment. Noisy ceiling fan and 'hole in the wall' air-conditioner don't make for a good night's sleep. Residents are warned to keep balcony doors and windows shut to keep monkeys out, but I was well-bitten by the numerous mosquitoes which get in through the cracks around the window frames! On the food and drink front, buffet dinner was plentiful, but uninspiring - we went a la carte on the second night. Breakfast was better. Australian wines are offered at bargain price, though. Didn't use the pool which is down a lot of steps. Only virtue of this hotel is the great view from public rooms and bedrooms (but my room had no furniture on the balcony). Wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view - but they need full refurbishment.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#22 of 56 in Kandy
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $72 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing