We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but expensive!”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed January 19, 2014

As the name suggests, hotel view provides serene view and soothing breeze.. we had a good time in the hotel, staff was accommodating in giving us early check-in.... however food as well the cost of rooms I felt was on the higher side...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagjeet_Harode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend a another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 686 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and found it to be ok. Nothing outstanding.
It was at the top of a very steep hill which didn't bother us as we had a driver but if you wanted to walk down to the town and then back up I could imagine it being tough.
We enjoyed our stay and made use of the pool table and ping pong.
Food was nice too.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tez197831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying for 02 nights. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about food & facilities. We look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

im due to stay in February and was wondering if any body had any contact email address for this hotel? manager/front staff etc.... Be ever so grateful if any body could help me. many thanks in advance.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank denise002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed there for 1 night. Hotel has no lifts. Our room was in minus 2 floor. We found some aged people finding difficult to move down.

We liked the quality of service (house keeping, TV repair) and breakfast (veg spread avaialble).
We did not like house keeping, room ambiance

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about our hotel on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. However, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us . We look forward to having you with us again and we assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We checked-in here on the day of 24-Dec and stayed for 2 days with the family. The service was great and we were very happy. The food was good, lot of options from the buffet and fresh. Rooms are clean and neat. We stayed on the pool facing room with a balcony and could enjoy the christmas band and celebration from the room.
My 5 yr old enjoyed swimming in the pool which was clean and lit with fire on the sides. The hotel itself is on top of a hill and you can get a good view of Kandy, which also happened to be the cultural capital of Srilanka. The place is as if you are in the midst of nature and ambience is rustic giving you the relaxing feeling. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpradyumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying 02 nights with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend a another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We arrived mid afternoon and it took sometime to check in although the hotel didn't appear busy. Very steep entry road for the car. The english of the staff was not so good so be careful to ask very direct and closed questions. It was a long way from the reception to the room. With no lifts and rooms going down the hill, you certainly need the help of a bag boy. There was no wifi at all for the 2 nights we were here which was very annoying. All they could tell us was 'big problem' and 'no internet'. I did note that other guests were offered use of the hotel computer for a surcharge! This seemed contradictory to the problem! The buffet was adequate. It was very intrusive to have a 4 piece 'band' coming around and playing at your table each night then trying to sell you their CD. I certainly didn't appreciate this especially when you have to wrestle with touting throughout any tours/site visits taken all over Sri Lanka - even at the airport! The room was adequate with enough space for share twin and a good shower. Prayer times at 5:30, 12pm and 6pm were quite loud but you have to respect that in this country! On checkout, I had to query the different prices charged for the same drinks and this took some time to rectify with the manager not really wanting to deal with it and giving a totally inadequate and inaccurate response. It wasn't a lot of money but the principle behind it was not good for business - it seemed that waiters were making up prices and not labelling receipts descriptively.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweeds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about our hotel on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. We believe that this gives us the opportunity to correct and improve ourselves. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. We look forward to having you with us again and we assure you our best services at all times.
Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Located on a hill top as the name suggest, the hotel has a good view of the city.

The reception staff at the hotel was not too friendly and i had to ask how to goto my room etc. also restaurant times and other details which are normally given at the guest briefing was not done. So it was not the normal Sri Lankan warm welcome.

The floors are below the reception floor up to 3 levels down with NO LIFT ! also the stairs are narrow so i worry when it comes to an emergency. The stairs are hardly enough for 2 people to pass each other. i know that this is a old hotel that has gone through some renovation but isn't it a must to have an elevator added these days ?? so if ur a person (or if ur traveling with a person) with disabilities then maybe this is not the hotel.

Rooms are newly refurbished, but i felt some finishing touches were missing. for eg. no bottle opener in the room as advertised in the room service directory and the waste bin was broken etc. with a bit of more attention to detail this could be a good hotel in the average hotels category.

On a positive side the food was great and the restaurant staff especially went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Even going to the extent of making some special food for an infant we had by even sending it to the room next day etc.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the reception level so u can avoid the stairs as they have no elevator and the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roshan_Withanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about staff and the food. We have taken necessary steps to sort out the shortcoming that you have mentioned and we look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.5 mi away
View 360
View 360
#39 of 58 in Kandy
56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
747 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melheim Kandy Hotel
Melheim Kandy Hotel
#47 of 58 in Kandy
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $49 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing