We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hilltop
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
91
251
241
83
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
251
241
83
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolhill toptable tennisnice hotelnice poola la carte menupublic areastuk tuksri lankan cuisinekandy citynice viewpleasant staybreakfast and dinnerlarge roomstayed two nightsprayercooperative
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 696 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's hard to rate this hotel as it was part of a taylor made holiday/tour so I don't know what was paid. However on the tour it was the weakest of the hotels. The room itself was OK with good air con a bed that was ok and a decent TV. The shower was lovely it flowed with a good pressure. But where it fell short was the lack of (drinking) water provided even for the kettle , there was a jug but in 3 nights it was never refilled. The noise from outside is loud and the windows offer no sound proofing , with train horns in the early hours. That said the rooms offered a great view of Kandy .The hotel hosted a wedding so there were children running around making a noise too. The food wasn't too great either , only enjoyed my dinner 1 out of 3 nights but did enjoy breakfast . I found the staff hard work too walking off with my credit card when I paid for a round of drinks !!! And in the case of reception looking at pictures of girls in their underwear whilst I'm standing around for 5 minutes, not a problem them passing the time that way, but please keep one eye out for guests ! In short , I would not stay here again and am disappointed with the tour operators choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyG32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about staff, food and the location. We have taken necessary steps to sort out the shortcoming that you have mentioned and we look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the start of a 4 day tour. It may have been that we'd had an 11 hour flight then 4 hour drive and it was raining heavily, but we found the hotel a bit dated. That said, the location overlooking Kandy was great as were the staff, but glad we only had the one night here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hampshiredweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying for 01 night. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about staff and the location. We have taken necessary steps to sort out the shortcoming that you have mentioned and we look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our wedding was at hilltop and it was awonderful venue. The reception area was quiet spaces for function of 200. Fiid was wonderful !!! We stayed at the hotel on very same day and rooms are ok. Above all I love their food and night buffet was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nirmal788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop to have your wedding ceremony and posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. My team & I are delighted to see your great remarks on staff and products. We are grateful to you for sharing all information concerning your wedding ceremony and your stay at Hotel Hilltop, which would no doubt be very useful for future wedding couples.

I also want to take this opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Hilltop and assure you our best services at all times.

Once again we wish both of you a happy wedded life.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Well, whenever we decide to go to Kandy we always try to visit Maligawa for the morning puja, this is one of the best 2 places which are near by which would serve that purpose right. Well, do expect much as for a 2 star budget Hotel, Good Food, Average Rooms, Small Hotel for a FAIR deal which is ideal for a single day stay to cover up Maligawa, Kandy around for sure. If you want more i am sure there are plenty of hotels to reach to.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Pool side was great!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumudu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see the great remarks and would like to thank you for your kind comments.We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Hilltop in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is in one of kandy's scenic location.
The hotel has a great view of the city.
The entrance to the hotel was excellent as an individual came up-to us and greeted us with a huge smile. After we were done with filling the details they ushered us to the room and on the way they gave us all information of the hotel which was a great thing. They showed us the restaurant and also the pool.

As we entered the allocated room, the usherer explained in detail what is there in the room. Excellent service until the time we entered the room.
The baggage's was also quick to reach the room.
The rooms were excellent and in good quality.
Clean and neat and also prompt services.

The restaurant was excellent friendly staff and had great food.
Rice and curry was great three cheers to the chef.

Overall great place to stay in...
Love the stay..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. My team & I are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are grateful to you for sharing all information concerning your stay at Hotel Hilltop, which would no doubt be very useful for future travelers.

We are deeply appreciative about your positive comments regarding our service and facilities.

I also want to take this opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Hilltop and assure you our best services at all times.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews