We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hilltop and the view from the top is lovely. The room was spacious and we found it to be comfortable. Breakfast was also good, with plenty of choice. The bathroom possibly needed a little updating, and it had a bit of a musty smell - this could have been because of the recent wet weather though. My husband found the noise from the trains a little distracting at times, yet I found it comforting, knowing I wasn't on one of them!! One thing we would have liked to have seen was free wifi - in this day and age, it seems a bit archaic to be charging, even if it was offered for free in shared areas such as the restaurant or Reception area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jooster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor.

I have taken necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 646 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel one night for the beginning of our tour, but the it was lovely. Made to feel welcome Food was excellent & the staff were warm & helpful. It seemed to be a quiet place, so I don't think it would be suitable to any boisterous kids!
Room was clean, tidy & fresh. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolineg1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your great remarks on staff and products.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

THis hotel has some poor reviews. I do not know if these impacted on our stay. We found;
1. a newly refurbiushed room with wonderful views of Kandy and the railway...we were so high up that is was like looking at a model railway
2. staff very eager to please and make our stay pleasurable
3. good buffet
4. excellent musical entertainnment

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheltenhamsparkle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. We are happy to note that you were really enjoyed your stay with us .Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your great remarks on staff and products.

We look forward to serving you once again at Hilltop.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went there by local rate, so the price is reasonable for us, otherwise I found the room and facilities getting old and this is not so comfortable, anyway it is acceptable but not at the level for relaxation. we got the train station view. Kandy is a rather boring place so staying 1 night is enough. Didn't try the food because on the main street in Kandy there are some good restaurant.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank QuakM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time to comment about us on the Trip Advisor.

I have taken necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hilltop for 3 nights while travelling around Sri Lanka. It is located less than a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride from the train station. We were greeted with a welcome drink before being shown to our room. The member of staff from reception was extremely outgoing and friendly to show us two different rooms in different parts of the hotel. We chose a room overlooking the city, which included a wonderful view including the temple of the tooth and the railway.

As the name suggests, the hotel sits on a hill overlooking Kandy and is a convenient spot for exploring the city. The hotel itself is a good standard, although noticeably dated in places. Some rooms appear to be more modern than others (our room was one of the more recently decorated ones). The pool area is right in the centre of the hotel and is sadly overlooked by hotel rooms and the bar/restaurant area, which made it slightly unappealing (we chose not to use it for this reason).

The food was slightly above average for hotel food we had in the country, and the only one where we saw hoppers being cooked and served at breakfast time. The dinner buffet is reasonable value and offers a pretty standard selection of Sri Lankan buffet food. We tried room service on our last night in the hotel, which appeared to be quite cheap, but sadly the burgers were tiny and for this reason probably best avoided.

This was the only hotel we stayed in during almost 3 weeks in Sri Lanka that charged for wi-fi. This was a little disappointing when it is clearly widely available elsewhere.

As we were leaving very early on our final morning to catch a train to Colombo, the hotel very kindly made us a pair of takeaway breakfast bags, a wonderful and unexpected gesture. Overall this hotel far from the best we experienced in Sri Lanka, but nonetheless is good value for a stay in Kandy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrifleTrifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying 03 nights with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to read your positive comments about the hotel and our staff.

I have taken necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Me & my husband stayed @ Hotel Hilltop a night and it was great. We were given a nice, descant and very clean room. The food was great (specially breakfast). The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. They treated local guess in a good manner (most of Sri Lankan hotels do not treat well for local customers). Hotel does not have a good landscape or garden but pool. But the surrounding is great. Can recommend to anyone for a nice stay in Kandy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duminda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your great remarks on staff and products.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is perched atop a Hill in central Kandy. The gradient to reach this hotel is very steep but as long as you are not climbing, vehicles can manages this. The Hotel overlooks the main Kandy town (railway station, Bus stand, Hospital and other govt buildings), and some hills in near distance. The common areas (restaurant, Bar, swimming pool are very good, spacious and airy. The front desk & restaurant staff was always courteous and smiling. The swimming pool was good and inviting, other facilities include Table tennis, carom & snooker (paid). This has got to be one of the prime views in Kandy and definitely worth the long walk up the hill.
Staff are helpful and the hotel is very spacious.
negatives:
- standard rooms are really really old.
extra bed mattress was very hard
- room was little noisy but for a 2 star hotel, can't complain

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shahdeepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. We are happy to note that you had a great stay at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate the positive comments you have made about the staff and the product.

I have taken the necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
812 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#25 of 56 in Kandy
327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#31 of 56 in Kandy
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $54 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing