We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Me & my husband stayed @ Hotel Hilltop a night and it was great. We were given a nice, descant and very clean room. The food was great (specially breakfast). The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. They treated local guess in a good manner (most of Sri Lankan hotels do not treat well for local customers). Hotel does not have a good landscape or garden but pool. But the surrounding is great. Can recommend to anyone for a nice stay in Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duminda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your great remarks on staff and products.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    223
    218
    76
    28
See reviews for
153
253
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is perched atop a Hill in central Kandy. The gradient to reach this hotel is very steep but as long as you are not climbing, vehicles can manages this. The Hotel overlooks the main Kandy town (railway station, Bus stand, Hospital and other govt buildings), and some hills in near distance. The common areas (restaurant, Bar, swimming pool are very good, spacious and airy. The front desk & restaurant staff was always courteous and smiling. The swimming pool was good and inviting, other facilities include Table tennis, carom & snooker (paid). This has got to be one of the prime views in Kandy and definitely worth the long walk up the hill.
Staff are helpful and the hotel is very spacious.
negatives:
- standard rooms are really really old.
extra bed mattress was very hard
- room was little noisy but for a 2 star hotel, can't complain

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shahdeepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. We are happy to note that you had a great stay at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate the positive comments you have made about the staff and the product.

I have taken the necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay here for 3 nights for the price this hotel must be one of the best 3 stars in Kandy. The breakfast buffet was very good and offered some selection (we did not find this in all hotels on our trip). The staff were so very nice especially Alfred. I would go back her ei f ever in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedomfreeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying 03 nights with us. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your great remarks on staff & products.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is one of the best hotel in Kandy and specially rice and curry buffet was excellent. Hospitality of the staff is beyond our expectation and they were very helpful. I recommend this hotel for anyone who visits Kandy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for taking time to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you had a great stay. Thank you for the very positive comments you have made about the staff and the product.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying here. We spent 2 nights at the hotel, most of the time it poured with rain but my children still enjoyed the pool. They also liked the table tennis room. The staff were really lovely, polite, helpful and so friendly. The food in the restaurant was fabulous and their was a great selection of western and Sri Lankan food. Rooms were good, comfy beds and decent minibar. Prices were average for Sri Lanka. I managed to put my foot through one of the stones covering the drain and hurt my shin and the staff could not have been more concerned. They brought ice and the staff in the restaurant all came to see if I was ok. We didn't do the steep walk up and down the hill but I would imagine this to be the only draw back if you were on foot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DohaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

We are happy to note that you had a great stay of 02 nights at our hotel. Thank you for the very positive comments you have made about the staff and the product. We hope you will come again to spend another holiday with us.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thanking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As the name suggests, the Hotel is perched atop a Hill in central Kandy. The gradient to reach this hotel is very steep but as long as you are not climbing, vehicles can manages this. The Hotel overlooks the main Kandy town (railway station, Bus stand, Hospital and other govt buildings), and some hills in near distance, if the weather is good you may find clouds gathering over those hills. The common areas (restaurant, Bar, swimming pool are very good, spacious and airy, rooms though look a bit dated. Monkey menace seems to be a big issue as we were informed to keep the balcony doors closed always, despite awesome weather outside we couldn't enjoy it much from our rooms. if views from rooms is a major requirement than I'm sure there will be other properties offering better views of mountains and town.

The food is good, loved the Sri Lankan cuisine that they served. The front desk & restaurant staff was always courteous and smiling. The swimming pool was good and inviting, other facilities include Table tennis, carom & snooker (paid). There were some shops in the Hotel but we couldn’t find time to check those out.

One major grouse was the quality of bed and sound insulation, the bed was not comfortable, the mattress unevenly bent with feeling of coir/spring touching your back and any walls were thin as we could hear all the noises from our neighboring rooms.

Room Tip: we were on 5th floor, the rooms overlooking the pool also had better views of mountains, other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharthchats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sincerely appreciate your kind comments.
I have taken necessary steps to improve the quality of mattress.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank You.

Yours Faithfully,
Azmath Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently went to have a dinner with my friends to the Hilltop hotel, the Dinner was very good! good hotel! clean restaurant,good food, friendly staff. hotel was very nice and attractive, the decorations of the hotel was very attractive

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilakshika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and glad you enjoyed Dinner. Your kind comments are very much valued. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 53 in Kandy
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 53 in Kandy
1,257 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#41 of 53 in Kandy
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing