We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hilltop
Nearby Hotels
$91
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$134
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
$210
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$59
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
91
251
241
83
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
251
241
83
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolhill toptable tennisnice hotelnice poola la carte menupublic areastuk tuksri lankan cuisinekandy citynice viewpleasant staybreakfast and dinnerlarge roomstayed two nightsprayercooperative
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 696 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As the name suggests, the Hotel is perched atop a Hill in central Kandy. The gradient to reach this hotel is very steep but as long as you are not climbing, vehicles can manages this. The Hotel overlooks the main Kandy town (railway station, Bus stand, Hospital and other govt buildings), and some hills in near distance, if the weather is good you may find clouds gathering over those hills. The common areas (restaurant, Bar, swimming pool are very good, spacious and airy, rooms though look a bit dated. Monkey menace seems to be a big issue as we were informed to keep the balcony doors closed always, despite awesome weather outside we couldn't enjoy it much from our rooms. if views from rooms is a major requirement than I'm sure there will be other properties offering better views of mountains and town.

The food is good, loved the Sri Lankan cuisine that they served. The front desk & restaurant staff was always courteous and smiling. The swimming pool was good and inviting, other facilities include Table tennis, carom & snooker (paid). There were some shops in the Hotel but we couldn’t find time to check those out.

One major grouse was the quality of bed and sound insulation, the bed was not comfortable, the mattress unevenly bent with feeling of coir/spring touching your back and any walls were thin as we could hear all the noises from our neighboring rooms.

Room Tip: we were on 5th floor, the rooms overlooking the pool also had better views of mountains, other rooms on left overlook the terrace of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddharthchats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sincerely appreciate your kind comments.
I have taken necessary steps to improve the quality of mattress.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank You.

Yours Faithfully,
Azmath Hamid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently went to have a dinner with my friends to the Hilltop hotel, the Dinner was very good! good hotel! clean restaurant,good food, friendly staff. hotel was very nice and attractive, the decorations of the hotel was very attractive

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilakshika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and glad you enjoyed Dinner. Your kind comments are very much valued. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

this hotel is stituated in a very steep road yet central location to many attractions in kandy. In an accessible distance you can find many small hotels and departmental stores. I had a chance to witness srilankan wedding too ;) during my stay. the rooms are decent enough and service is promt,

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AishwaryaOnAStroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sincerely appreciate your kind comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank You.

Yours Faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We combined a 4 day tour with a 10 day stay in the maldives. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights was a nice hotel but was very dated, we got the impression that it was once a 1st class hotel but has not progressed with the times. Food was great uf you liked curry, if you dont its a little bit harder to find something. The food also seemed to be cold as well no matter what time you went. We found the waiters really rude, we were still eating when they came and asked us to pay for our drinks. The views are amazing and that slightly makes up for lacking of the hotel overall. The 1st hotel was much better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We are very thankful to you for bringing to our notice the minor short-comings that you had to undergo at our hotel. I very humbly extend my sincere apologies to you for any inconvenience you had to undergo due to our negligence.

I have taken the necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.


Yours Faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First Impression wasn't that good because bill and i had to argue with the front desk, it was fully booked.they gave us two rooms appreciated for that it was Christmas eve.we enjoyed dinner..
I think Christmas Carroll and band played in the dining area the food was great and the service too. a heavy crowed was there food and beverage management had to arrange extra seating for guests, that was quite a good idea,than keeping guests in the waiting area specially in Christmas eve.
Room was OK fully equipped bathroom .passage cleanliness also good. so i think this hotel is high potential..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the stay. Your kind comments are very much valued while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews