We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This hotel is fine if your just looking for a basic good value hotel. The hotel is very close to the centre of Kandy and has good views over the city. The room is basic but includes air conditioning and was clean if a little small. Staff were helpful but sometimes difficult to find. The breakfast offered a large selection although the quality was lacking in some areas. We visited the elephant sanctuary, temple of the sacred tooth and the large temple you can see at the top of the hill next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ned46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    214
    215
    76
    28
See reviews for
151
247
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stopped at Hilltop for my Sri Lanka trip. The best thing I want to mention is this hotel has a good view, surrounding by forest so the air is very fresh. I'd love it very much. Anyway, the room and the service are just fine. At the moment I was staying here, not many members of staff served us, it made us wait a little long. And the room is not clean enough. However, this is one of the best places to stay when you're travelling Sri Lanka. If you don't care too much about the luxury quality and you'd like to enjoy the very fresh condition, I think Hilltop will meet your requirement.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newstyle_greco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nugegoda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Food not Worthy and rooms and bathrooms not look clean and untidy. Staff don't have good idea of hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolithaWijeratne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Novorossiysk, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

If you are planning to visit Sri Lanka, Kandy is the place you MUST see. It is a city where the Palace of the Tooth Relic of Buddha is situated. The Palace is located near the picturesque artificial Kandy Lake. The best time to visit Kandy is July-August when the grand festival Esala Perahera is taking place. You can see kandian dances and beautifully decorated elephants. Anyway even if you visit Kandy other time of the year, you can see kandian dances performed daily at a special hall near the Palace of the Tooth.
You'd better plan to stay in Kandy 2 days to enjoy the city. A good place to stay is Hilltop Hotel which is a part of Aitken Spence Hotels chain. It is a budget hotel, however meets all traveller's expectations. Located in the hills of Kandy it is a perfect base to explore the city. Quite small and calm, comfortable rooms with balconies, nice restaurant overlooking the city where you can listen to live music having your dinner, good swimming pool and friendly staff ready to serve you any time. Even if you stay only 1 night at the hotel, this warm and peaceful atmospere will stay in your memory forever.
I would recommend this hotel to all tourists exploring Kandy.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina_VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We spent three nights at the Hill Top and enjoyed it very much. It was one of the better values we found in Sri Lanka. The hotel was clean, the staff was helpful, and the breakfast was better than expected. The beds are a bit stiff, and the walls are a bit thin, but other than that, no complaints, you can do A LOT worse in Sri Lanka and spend a lot more doing so.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinDuuude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is pretty central but commands a great view over kandy.
The sheets on our bed (2 singles pushed together) were so stained and filthy it would have almost been funny. To their credit they did change our room immediately. However the place was just so filthy we slept in our clothes! The towels stank, were stained and looked ancient. There's no nets over the beds so we were badly bitten.

At breakfast I went to reach into
the bread basket a host of flies flew at me. I was truly astonished to see
other guests eating!!

We left immediately.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

One of the best places to stay at Kandy..its located on the top of the hill...as the name suggests...:)

Very good food...lot of options...n also the service was very good..staff very friendly...always there when you needed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spspsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing