We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRAUD”

Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village
Ranked #5 of 8 Spas & Wellness in Kandy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“FRAUD”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

On our recent rip our tour guide stopped at this so called spive garden.There was nothing other than a green pepper, & Cardomum.The sales perso who was showing us around took us to their shop which sells so called pure Ayurvedic products.
He put a lot of stuff in the basket and at check out we discovered it had cost us almost $600 US.
We came home and opened one of the products ,labelled Sandalwood Oil only to discover that it was a gel with faint smell of sandalwood.
I do no think they have license to produce and sell Ayurvedic products. None of their packing has any date or manufacturers name .I have written to the Sri Lankan Tourist Authority & have not received a reply.
AVOID SPICE GARDEN TOURS & DO NOT BUY SPURIOUS PRODUCTS like we did.
T G Rajagopalan

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Raj1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameera W, Guest Relations Manager at Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.
First of all we need to tell that there is no obligation for every tourists visiting our garden to buy spices.Our only aim is to educate about sri lankan spice those who visit here from another countries.
Entrance to our place is free.we provide many more services without any cost.If you need to take natural medicine from us we have an Ayurveda doctor with us.And we provide another activities like Toddy tapping, Cinnamon peeling, Oil extracting,Cookery demonstration,Rope & Coir manufacture etc.All the above services are totally free.I think now it is clear why we have got to increase the prices of the goods to cover up all those expenses.
another thing is our products are 100% naturally, pure, our own productions.So we totally responsible those what we sell.
Once again we need to tell that there is no obligation to buy anything from us.
We would be more than pleased to show around the garden to one who entrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    18
    27
    88
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Be very, very careful - deceiving presentations”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I can but repeat the comments of the reviewers below - I wish I'd known we were to visit this place and could have read the reviews before our driver took us there.

Our guide presented himself as an ayurvedic doctor (possibly correct) and the establishment as being non-commercial and government-run (incorrect). For the 'free' student massage, he asked for 1,000/- rupees (about a fiver) as the appropriate tip for the student (rubbish - 200/- maximum).

After the tour he then filled a shopping basket with items that, if I'd bought them all at the marked prices, would have cost over STG 600.

If you do want to buy their products, as noted below, ask for a discount (or, better still, as we found out later, you can go to much cheaper places for the same products).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BillF2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Recently visited this place (Jan 2014) and it's is a rip-off. There are no labels on the products, the prices are very expensive and no advice on using them. Be very careful about what you buy in the shop (no one of the results promised were reached for the products we bought and luckily we had no skin problem as did one of our friends).

Very disappointed our driver took us there as otherwise we were very pleased with his services.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank armelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Isiwaya Ayurvedic Village, Matale”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Recently visited this place (December 2013). It is a vast rip-off. Look VERY carefully at the prices of anything you wish to buy. There are no labels on the products and no advice on using them. A pleasant visit, the tea and massage is enjoyable, but just leave 200 LKR tip and be very careful about what you buy in the shop. We were disappointed our driver took us there as otherwise we were very pleased with his services.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennywrenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive , expensive and deceiving”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

As other comments. I also believe the travel agent and the drivers have links for commission on the products u buy,
I booked my trip through hansana tours and travels and disappointed that with all these negative comments this place was included in the trip when there are some many other places available,

Not only we we're shortchanged on the product by the over price but also wrong products given. Was assured almost 10 times that e could contact them via email if need assistance but until the end no address given.

It's a total rip off . Please avoid going to this place.

Sanduni

If you are organizing another trip please take into consideration the comments.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Shylajadevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village also viewed

 
Matale, Central Province
 

Been to Oak-Ray Isiwara Ayurvedic Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing