We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Hotel :)”
Review of Kandy Reach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kandy Reach Inn
Ranked #34 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
1 review
“Very Friendly Hotel :)”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at kandy reach inn was great. The room was lovely and clean and the views from the balcony spectacular. Ayomi and her sister were great hosts and their cooking is delicious. We would highly recommend staying here.
Thanks ~ Hugh and Vikky

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vikky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The location of the guesthouse was up the hill, so there was no noise from the main road and you have this amazing view. We had a warm welcome. by Ayoma and her sister Disney. They can make the most wonderful Sri Lankan breakfast! Just try it! The rooms were clean and modern. The bathroom was a little small.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SindyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at Kandy Reach Inn for 2 nights and felt really at home. The room was clean and tidy with its own balcony and beautiful view. We had breakfast and dinner here both days and our belly's have never been so full. Ayome and Dishne are excellent hosts and are very friendly. The guest house is in a quite location just outside the town centre allowing us to have a peaceful nights sleep. If we decide to go back to Kandy we'd definitely stay here again.
.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at this comfortable guesthouse for 4 nights. There are three rooms with AC, satellite TV, WiFi, well pressured hot shower and a super comfy mattress. There is a large communal area with an open living and dining room and a much appreciated shared refridgerator. Each room also has a balcony with a beautiful view of the surrounding hills. The location is great as it is in a quiet neighborhood, only a 5 minute walk to a supermarket, and about 20 minutes walk to the city center (or a short tuk tuk ride).

Besides the amenities, the best assets to the guesthouse are Ayoma and Dshne, the lovely hosts. They are both very kind, hard working, and attentive ladies who quickly responded to any requests and were always checking to ensure that we were comfortable.

We recommend this guesthouse for those who want the comfort of modern amenities, excellent hospitality, and a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbaum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Amayana was very friendly and it was clean enough, but room 1 had a very bad / overwhelming smell coming from the bathroom, she let us change room but it was only after we said we de leave otherwise. I would recommend this hotel just make sure the bathroom problem in room 1 is fixed, before t
You stay there. The other thing is that musquito nets would be nice. We had a very tasty diner she prepared for us, for 800 rupies each, a little on the expensive side I thought. And the laundrie was also very expensive and not done that well.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemantha T, Owner at Kandy Reach Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Our bathrooms are all modern and just one year from fully renovating and putting in new fittings. The reason for the smell was the bathroom door was closed for a long period of time and it is quite normal in the hot weather. However we are in the process of fitting a new and powerful exhaust fan in the bathroom if there is any smell. We got air fresheners available too.

If you leave the front door of the room opened from 6-7.30pm the mosquitoes will fly in to your room. There are mosquito coils and pads available for free in our guest house. Because we have fully air-conditioned and luxury bed rooms mosquito nets are going to be very inappropriate I think.
We charge Rs 800 (Only US $6/=) for a delicious full course meal (4-5 dishes) including all the taxes and service charges with complimentary dessert. I think it is quite reasonable as the commodity prices and gas & electricity are on the rise all the time.

The laundry charges are also reasonable considering the number of garments you gave us to wash and dry for US$6/=.

You wanted to stay for 3 nights but had only only booked for 2 nights. The third day our guest house was fully booked and that was the reason we could not offer you a room and our apologies for that.

Anyway thank you for pointing out any negative factors and we always make sure to provide everything we can to all our guests to make themselves comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this great place. We really felt at home from the first moment we arrived. There is a big living where you can stay. The rooms are new, with a nice balcony and great view! Ac is available in the room. Hema provided us al the service. We had diner at the place 1 night and it was great! Also try the Sti Lanka. Breakfast it's perect! Thanks a lot Hema and the team for this great stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cpbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The rooms are clean and as discriped. I loved the interior. The living room does have large windows and great view down to the valley.
Service was lovely and I still Ayoma*s cuisine. She is a nice person, helpful, spending a lot of pleasure. I already miss staying with her. Thank you Ayoma!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinSterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 406 in Kandy
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.0 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#39 of 53 in Kandy
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Reach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Reach Inn

Property: Kandy Reach Inn
Address: 76A George E De Silva Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2.3km from Kandy. BB,Wi-Fi available,Lobby with meals area and 3 luxury bedrooms (2*double and 1*triple)with King size beds,balcony and attached BR with solar powered hot water. A/C, satellite TV, Lunch & dinner can be ordered for a reasonable price.Menu and the price list is in every room. Room service included in the price. Kitchenette. Transport can be arranged.Drivers accommodation available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kandy Reach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing