We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs”
Review of Olde Empire Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Empire Hotel
Ranked #125 of 406 Kandy B&B and Inns
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bedbugs”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has bedbugs in at least two rooms that we know of as of February 19, 2014.

The manager says they "spray and burn every week" and some guests we spoke to had no issue but at least 3 of us did.

So, if you're determined to stay here, please check your room with a headlamp or flashlight. Look under the mattress in the cracks between the wooden slats and in the dark corners of the wall. This place has hardwood floors upstairs and carpet downstairs which makes great living quarters for these bloodsuckers and makes them harder to exterminate. Bedbugs look like tiny cockroaches and can be seen easily with the naked eye; they are usually light red or reddish-blond before sucking blood and get darker red after feeding--on you. Even worse, they can lay eggs or climb onto baggage placed on the floor and, in that way, get transported to your next destination.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Zathaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    66
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
16
73
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Okay, admitted: we liked this place but also had some issues with it. First and foremost the location is unbeatable as it is right on the entrance to the temple. The building in beautiful with well worn dark shiny wooden floors. The room was spacious and clean and locatec on the top floor on the verandah overlooking the lake. The staff we met were a group of good natured, sweet elderly men who kept teasing eachother. One of them tickled the other one as he carried our bag upstairs and kept giggling. The downside: we called five times to find out if they had a room and they kept asking us to call back. In the end we just showed up and got the last room. There was no attached bathroom and it was quite a hike down to hall to the communal sinks, toilets and cold showers that the staff also used. But they were just so sweet that it was actually a nice experience to brush your teeth rigth next to them in the morning. Having a room on the varendah seemed a good things untill a couple of very loudspeaking British girls came back and were yapping on and on. The beautiful floors are also quite old so you hear every squeek from the next room. But all in all, we loved it and for 2000 rupees it was a bargain. Ps: we also paid for a room for our driver, a single room downstairs with attached bathroom for 1000 rupees - and we won his eternal gratitude. In 14 years of service its best he's experienced.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We changed to this place after staying at a different place far of the down town. This place has awesome location and good pricing (2000 rp). The room had some kind of chemical smell to it and they were dirty. If you can live with that then I definitely can recommend it!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffna, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is well renovated recently, it's looking very good to stay in the heritage place. There is wide range of rooms for budget range of SLR 1000 to 3500 .The building is classified as a heritage building.

Room Tip: Currently all room are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DARSHAN_PENDSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Super staff, who were very helpful during our stay. Great balcony upstairs in which to enjoy the evenings, rooms reasonably priced, large and clean, although a bit old. The house itself has tons of charm, with wooden floors and creaky stairs. Could hear the neighbouring guests as walls were thin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie45784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multiple
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located. Rooms were dated but nice and clean. However: there is just a door between rooms so you hear EVERY possible sound next door (including noseblowing amd bedroom activities). Also, rooms one and two connect to the veranda where people smoke at all hours... So: good value in the best location in town but with some downsides...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooya Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a beautiful, very old hotel, with lovely waxed timber floors. We booked private bathroom, but did not have a balcony. Unfortunately we only had 1 night as we had to move on, but we were really happy with the room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janiceCooyaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 53 in Kandy
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#30 of 53 in Kandy
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 53 in Kandy
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charlton Kandy Rest
Charlton Kandy Rest
#112 of 406 in Kandy
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#26 of 406 in Kandy
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Empire Hotel

Property: Olde Empire Hotel
Address: 21 Temple Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing