We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hospitality!!”
Review of Olde Empire Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Empire Hotel
Ranked #185 of 470 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is well renovated recently, it's looking very good to stay in the heritage place. There is wide range of rooms for budget range of SLR 1000 to 3500 .The building is classified as a heritage building.

Room Tip: Currently all room are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DARSHAN_PENDSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Super staff, who were very helpful during our stay. Great balcony upstairs in which to enjoy the evenings, rooms reasonably priced, large and clean, although a bit old. The house itself has tons of charm, with wooden floors and creaky stairs. Could hear the neighbouring guests as walls were thin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie45784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located. Rooms were dated but nice and clean. However: there is just a door between rooms so you hear EVERY possible sound next door (including noseblowing amd bedroom activities). Also, rooms one and two connect to the veranda where people smoke at all hours... So: good value in the best location in town but with some downsides...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a beautiful, very old hotel, with lovely waxed timber floors. We booked private bathroom, but did not have a balcony. Unfortunately we only had 1 night as we had to move on, but we were really happy with the room.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank janiceCooyaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have no idea how the family who runs this place manages to break even, much less make a profit, with the prices they charge. They could easily charge twice as much and still have happy guests. The place is very basic but all rooms/linens have been clean during my 7 visits. The manager and workers are very protective over tourists, especially solo ladies. This is not just for personal safety but also for honest advice regarding fair taxi prices and which shops to avoid. They really treat guests like family. They often call the train station to get current timetables. They will run out late at night to get cough syrup for a sick guest.

This city is early to bed and early to rise and most things close by 7 or 8. Guests here tend to go with that flow and the place is silent at night. Being this close to the temple, you can't get away from the sound of the morning chanting and drums. Go to bed early and start the next day with a magical sunrise visit to the temple or a stroll around the lake (bring bread for the ducks and mangoes for the monkeys). St. Paul's is superb for photos inside. If you want to get a bit drunk and party the night away (and sleep in afterwards) you can more easily do that in Unawatuna, but you should not miss at least two days in Kandy and The Old Empire.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the back of the hotel to hear the least noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazandrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here in late September 2013. Cool old hotel with a lot of charm. The common balcony overlooks the entrance to the Temple of the Tooth and all the flower vendors below. Rooms were clean with high ceilings and dark wood floors. There's a vibe of British India in the hallways and the staff was helpful in finding drivers. Excellent rice and curry place right around the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After finding this place in the Lonely Planet guide we were astonished at the price of a twin room - 1500rupees! You do get what you pay for&there some discrepancies in the the two rooms we booked. One room had no mosquito nets nor balcony. The rooms have a shared bathroom with only cold water, which was welcome in the Kandyian heat.

This place is in a great location, overlooking the lake& less than 5 mins walk to the Sacred Temple of the Tooth&the Main Street with the supermarket&restaurants. The towels provides are a little on the small size so bring your own.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel overlooks the Temple of the Tooth and Kandy lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNott20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#37 of 58 in Kandy
1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 58 in Kandy
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 58 in Kandy
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#20 of 58 in Kandy
575 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Empire Hotel

Address: 21 Temple Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing