We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, tidy, historic feeling. Recommended”
Review of Olde Empire Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Empire Hotel
Ranked #115 of 428 Kandy B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap, tidy, historic feeling. Recommended”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very nice, stayed for 2 nights when in Kandy. Cheap and tidy, always someone cleaning. We were there May, and payed 900 rupees (9 dollars) for a doubleroom with queensize bed with fan and mosquitonet and big window.

It had kind of a monestary-feeling to it, very cool. Joined bathroom's, stinked, but nice shower.

Beautiful common-area : balcony with a view over the lake and temple of tooth. Its very central and close to stores and internet-cafe´s (no wifi at the hotel). Didnt try the restaurant, so have no experience of that.

Recommend it to backpackers and single's! Everything nice - except the joined stinky bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle_Zami_Carousel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    69
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
17
74
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Stay at this hotel in early April for just one night. The price lists at their website is 20 USD with private toilet. We did not make the reservation and walked in, they gave us the room rate for 2190 rupees. Seems the same price.

The location is perfect just opposite to the famous Temple of Tooth. room is large, with fan but without AC. But I don't think AC is necessary since Kandy is much cooler than other cities in Sri Lanka.

We arrived at around 6PM and had no more rupees, asked the staff to show us where we can make the money exchange. Because it's Saturday night, all the banks are closed. The staff accompanied us to one store several streets away, tried to asked his friend to do us a favor. But his friend had no enough cash, the staff even led us to another store. What a nice guy and good service.

Our room is lakeside upstairs with twin beds. A well decorated balcony next to room. The most annoying is the loud chirps of birds. They begun to make noise early at 4AM around before dawn. It lasted almost one hour and we could not sleep until the became quiet.
But about one hour late, we awakened again because of the temple ceremony and street vendors begun their business. Bad sleeping quality.

If you need a good location and reasonable price hotel, this is what you need. If your sleep quality is the priority one concern. Select the back section room far away from the street should be better.

Room Tip: avoid the lakeside room if need good quality sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuanpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Olde Empire Hotel is opposite the entrance to the Temple of the Tooth, and offers fantastic value for money. The rooms are clean, and to the front of the hotel there is a large veranda with seating which allows you to watch the actiivities in the street and temple complex in front of the hotel. When we stayed the hotel was being refurbished after a fire, but this didn't impede our stay.
The owners and staff are very hospitable and helpful, helping organising onward travel arrangements. We stayed in a room which used the shared toliet/shower facilities -- these were very clean. We enjoyed our stay here and will definetely return when we come back to Kandy in the future, and look forward to using their restaurant which will be re-opened following completion of the refurbishments.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We received great and prompt responses via email beforehand, and the caretaker opened the gate for us at 1am when we arrived via a 6,000 R taxi ride. We stay at hostels often, but this one was a bit seedy-looking. Dark, half under construction, only a couple people there and someone hunched over half naked in the bathroom with the door open. The first 750 R bed was rock hard-- spend the extra hundy for a padded one. Rooms were clean and the wood was nice, but pillows a sack of potatoes. Good if you're looking for a quick place to grab some sleep, but for just a teensy bit more there's a whole world of better guesthouse options in Kandy (i.e. only 1,000 for a cheap room at the Expeditor up on a hill past the lake.)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This hostel is right on Lake Kandy, nice view, fairly quiet, and only 700 rupees for the both of us in a nice double bed. The reception person, Munahira, even picked us up at the train station. Great customer service. A large section was under construction when we were there but they were not working early in the morning or late at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamcorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were given a decent bed with a ceiling fan. Bathrooms are communal and curfew is still observed. The Olde Empire Inn is situated near the Tooth Relic Temple and Famous fast food chains like Pizza Hut and KFC are just within reach. The Care takers are nice and polite. If you are okay with sharing a bathroom with strangers then I guess you'll be fine :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I'm writing for those bunch of guys looking for a cheap accommodation in town... This hotel gave me the most surprising price I can expect in the town and I happened to walk in to the hotel to check it. Me and my firend spent the night over there with loads of foriegners with out any problem.
Only hitch is dat the place is in a high security zone and you cnt move around late. Other than that for the price you pay it got all. True that you need to compromise on your high quality living. But when we were there the forieners looked so comfortable and we all had a peaceful night.
I would recommend this to any one who's going to Kandy, looking for a cheap option like less than $10.00 per night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#43 of 55 in Kandy
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#31 of 55 in Kandy
1,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 55 in Kandy
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charlton Kandy Rest
Charlton Kandy Rest
#122 of 428 in Kandy
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Empire Hotel

Property: Olde Empire Hotel
Address: 21 Temple Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 428 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing